We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly enjoyable stay”
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly enjoyable stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second visit to Dunallan. Jayne & Dave have maintained their hospitality with thier friendly personal service, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was superb excellent choices on the menu served on hot plates. We had the waffles with maple syrup followed with the scrambled egg and smoke salmon "delicious". We stayed in room 2 not as spacious as we had before but very comortable bed and very tastfully decorated with a super shower. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    37
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
152
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We spen one night at the Dunallan Guest House and had the most fantastic experience ever. We received a very warm welcome and was shown around the house. Everything was spotless including our room. Everything we needed was there, including toiletries, hairdryer( which I forgot to pack, towels, etc. The breakfast next morning was first class and the farewell when we left was like saying farewell to friends. We will definitely be back and will most certainly recommend the Guest House to friends, colleagues, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed five nights at Dunallan House. Jayne and David are exceptionally good hosts and both the accommodation and the food were to the highest standard. Our warm and cosy stay in this four star guest house was really good. Although the weather was not so hot, the friendliness, warmth and informality of the the hosts and their staff made a big difference to our stay in their home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

If you're visiting Grantown, this is the place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated, with lots of nice little touches. The bathroom was large, had a shower and a bath, and had also been beautifully decorated. David and Jayne are the perfect hosts. They're very friendly, are happy to give you advice on where to go and where to eat (try a pie and pint in the pub accross the road!), and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfast was probably the highlight of our stay at Dunallan. David and Jayne offer a number of options, which was a welcome change after a week of Scottish breakfasts. I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and my girlfriend had some delicious home made waffles with fruit and maple syrup. I would have happily stayed there all week for the waffles alone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChappyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The house is comfortable and the owner very nice. It is in a great location. The breakfast is delicious and the rooms well appointed. I would stay there again. The Speyside Whiskey Trial is nearby too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PensacolaESC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Dunallan House has accomodated us on two occasions now, once in Nov 2010 and again the weekend of the Royal wedding. Both times we have been made to feel very welcome by the hosts and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious, and my eldest daughter would probably have the home-made waffles every day if she could!! The accommodation is beautifully presented, and maintained, comfortable beds and good shower/ bathroom facilities,Over our two stays we have had the family room, and a twin, as well as the double room at the top of the property which has it's own luxurious bathroom with a lovely roll top bath as well as separate shower. Grantown-on spey is a lovely part of Speyside with lots to do, places to eat and the river and pine woods are literally seconds from Dunallan's front door. I can not recommend this place highly enough.You will not be disappointed ! They even take dogs !! We will definitely be returning sometime soon.

Room Tip: The bedroom with adjoining bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairngorm1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stayed at the Dunallan House with my two sons. We had a great time in the area. The Dunallan House was well situated for our trip to see Scotland's Whiskey Trail and play
some golf. The room was small for 3 adults, but not unexpected. We didn't stay much in the room any way. The room was well cleaned each day and the beds made. We did enjoy our own bathroom. The breakfast was great with good choices and plentiful. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with local information. All in all a very nice place to stay. I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Property: Dunallan House
Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing