We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get better than this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dulaig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dulaig
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“It doesn't get better than this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We cannot recommend The Dulaig highly enough. It's not just the beautiful decor, the luxury, state-of-the-art bathrooms, the little touches such as a decanter of sherry in the bedrooms, the exquisite breakfasts - the best we have ever eaten - but also the warmth and helpfulness of Carol and Gordon, the hosts. We felt as if we'd been invited into their home - and at the same time we had the space to relax and be ourselves. Hotel accommodation doesn't get better than this.
Our trip home was delayed by the ash cloud - and if it wasn't for work on Monday we'd have quite happily taken up permanent residence! ;)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamAshworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
turriff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

AMAZING! Carol and Gordon could not do enough to make you feel at home,very very helpfull. Will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurriffMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in B & B's across Europe and the U.S. and no one has the attention to detail and perfect hospitality offered by Gordon and Carol! The accomodations were outstanding, the food incredible and they were perfectly attentive. The location was ideal for hiking in the Cairngorms and near so many attractions. I wish we would have stayed there for most of the vacation and used it as home base. If we ever get back to Scotland, this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildcatmomKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Yes, if we could, we'd give Carol and Gordon's lovely B & B another star. Five isn't enough!

We were there for a few days in October and heartily agree with all the great things said by former guests. Our well-appointed, pretty bedroom had the most comfortable bed of our two-week stay in Scotland. Great bathroom too. Breakfast was the best, also with fresh prepared fruit compote, delicious lime and lemon curd and savory bacon pancakes.

Carol and Gordon are warm, helpful and thoughtful hosts who seem to enjoy doing what they do. They take great care in every detail, from a sweetly scented aroma filling their home, to special treats ( like homemade strawberry meringues ) for an afternoon surprise. And we are grateful for that; made our stay a memorable one. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazzlingSuburbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Our second visit to this jewel in the Highlands.Carol and Gordon looked after us with a natural enthusiasm difficult to find elsewhere on this planet.Two foot of snow made our departure a challenge amidst thoughts that we might be forced to stay longer and enjoy the hotcakes with bacon, poached eggs( we had a cookery lesson to try and recreate) and an array of homemade jams, we will be back John and Elspeth

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

stunning house, set in beautiful grounds, and greats hosts...a luxurious place to pamper yourself. We recommend the blueberry pancakes for breakfast :) we'll hopefully get to return one day when the grandparents accept the challenge of looking after our baby boy:)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesJ_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Carol and Gordon welcomed us into their beautiful Edwardian home which has been thoughtfully converted into a very comfortable bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were as good as I have had anywhere in the world. The room and bathroom blended the best of antique furniture with modern comforts. We enjoyed some wonderful afternoon teas in the drawing room. A thoroughly relaxing time! I highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanticgetaway19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haus Alba
Haus Alba
#3 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dulaig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dulaig

Property: The Dulaig
Address: The Dulaig Seafield Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dulaig 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dulaig Luxury B&B - AA GUEST ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR FOR SCOTLAND 2016-17. AA 5 Gold Stars, AA Breakfast Award, VisitScotland 5 Star Gold. Finalists in the AA 2015 "Friendliest B&B of the Year in Britain & Ireland" An elegant country house in 1.5 Acres of lovely private gardens adjoining open countryside. "Scotland's "Taste our Best" Award. One of The Good Hotel Guide's "Top Ten Places to stay for Whisky Lovers"& Michelin Guide "Top Pick for Scotland 2017". Many guests tell us that our beds are the best they have slept in and our breakfasts are the best they have ever tasted....And we have The Cake Fairy!A luxurious blend of modern furnishings and Arts and Crafts antiques. 3 Beautifully-appointed guest rooms all en suite. Delicious breakfasts with eggs from our own free-range hens.Extensive private parking. Covered parking for motorcycles. Free WiFi. Strictly no smoking.The gardens are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels and pheasants. Grantown-on-Spey centre 600 yards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dulaig Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing