We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scotland's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dulaig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dulaig
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Scotland's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed in Sep, 2013. There is absolutely NOTHING Carol and Gordon would not do for us. At the mere mention, they are offering to help. Gordon's special breakfasts were delicious and creative. Convenient location for the Whisky Trail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandG283, Owner at The Dulaig, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, Linda, and for sharing your photographs here. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us, and we were more than happy to help make your stay in Scotland and at The Dulaig as enjoyable as possible.
Gordon is very glad to hear that you enjoyed his breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just returned from two glorious weeks in Scotland. Of all the "grand" hotels we stayed at, the Dulaig was our favorite. The warmth and hospitality of Carol and Gordon set the stage for their exquisite attention to detail, and generous offerings. This was the smallest room of any we stayed at, but it had wonderful appointments and a superb pastoral view.
We awoke to the sunlight breaking on a wee glen, followed by a glorious double rainbow which we captured perfectly. They prepared a delicious breakfast spread and followed it with very tasty and creative hot entrees. Sherry in the rooms, a visit by the "cake fairy" in the afternoon, and a generous complimentary scotch selection were greatly appreciated after a long active day. Believe it or not, the Dulaig had the finest showers of our trip.
Walking in their beautiful garden with wildlife abundant or on the mystical road leading to the Dulaig reminds one of a quieter more peaceful time. This was truly a highlight.
Be forewarned, there are only three guest rooms, and they already have many repeat customers. So plan ahead to savor this little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr Wendell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandG283, Owner at The Dulaig, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us here at The Dulaig, Wendell. As you know from our earlier message to you we were thrilled and delighted to read your words and to know that we helped make your stay in Scotland even more enjoyable. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we will long remember you and your lovely "rainbow" photograph!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have never stayed in a B&B with so much attention to every single need a traveler might have. Carol thinks of everything. There is a small fridge with milk for coffee or tea provided in the room, sherry for a wee nightcap (whiskey in the dining room, as well), a sweet treat each day, etc. The beds are like sleeping on clouds, and the backyard is a flower/pond/duck paradise that we had little time to enjoy (unfortunately). Gordon's breakfasts were beyond words. I ate the special both mornings, because where else will I ever taste his delightful creations? Carol and Gordon are amazing people with an amazing B&B. As we prepared to depart, this funny bird came up to let them know that he needed a snack. They truly provide a beautiful B&B immersed in the beauties of nature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandG283, Owner at The Dulaig, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you, MJinItaly, for your great review of your stay with us. It was lovely to have you stay with us and to chat about things including your very busy days out and about recipes....I know how you love cooking!!!!
The funny bird which came to wave you off (and to look for some food, of course!) is Hally the Blackbird who lives with his mate, Mrs Hally, in the hedge next to our car park. We hope you can come back some day to see Hally and us again. Best wishes and thanks, Carol and Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

As other reviewers have said, five stars are not nearly enough to describe the incredibly special stay that Carol and Gordon provide, and any praise will fall short.
Where to start? The house is a true gem, and you can feel the love in every detail, from the care Carol and Gordon have taken to restore it and furnish it and to fill every corner with thoughtful details, to the amazing work they have done with the garden, making it into a real oasis.
We are only grateful that we were "trapped" with really bad weather, because we were able to truly enjoy the house and Carol and Gordon's company. We got into town at a time when every place to eat was closed (right between lunch and dinner), Carol offered us tea and biscuits, and Gordon made some calls to find us a place that was open (we were sent to The Craig pub - delicious pies). As the weather was really bad, on our way back we stopped at the Cooperative to buy some prosciutto, cheese, bread, and salad for dinner, and Gordon set the table in the dining room for us with place mats, plates, and cutlery.
The rooms are a work of art, and again every effort has been made to provide utmost comfort, from a head cushion in the bathtub to hand picked soaps made locally with the most enticing scents (and also a scentless soap for those who prefer them), and of course the plushest beds and pillows ever! Cut glass port bottle and glasses in every room, heart-shaped home made shortbread (so delicious, my mouth waters just from remembering), and a selection of excellent whiskies in the dining room add to the luxury and warmth.
Breakfast is delicious, generous, and varied, and a lot of thought has been put into the daily specials.
Carol makes even the birds around feel welcome - blackbirds, robins, and wild ducks come to be fed, and she has set a container with seeds and a note about which seed each birds like so that guests can enjoy feeding the birds as well.
I could go on and on about how special and fantastic our stay was. I only wish we had stayed longer, as The Dulaig is truly a destination in itself.
Thanks, Carol and Gordon.
Lilia & Oscar, Mexico City

Room Tip: Every single room is special and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sibarita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandG283, Owner at The Dulaig, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much, Lilia and Oscar for your wonderful review and for taking time in your very busy schedule to write in such detail about your stay with us! As you probably guess from your visit, it is not often I am at a loss for words but the kindness of your words has left me speechless for once. It was a real pleasure to have you stay and we do hope that someday you will be able to come and visit us again. Best wishes, and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've stayed at The Dulaig three times now and can't find a reason to ever want to stay anywhere else in Scotland! In fact, it is the best B&B we have ever stayed at, anywhere. Where do we start? It is set in such a fabulous location - you feel you are in the middle of the countryside but still it is within walking distance of the town which is in the heart of an area with so many wonderful places to visit. The huge garden at The Dulaig is just gorgeous (winter or summer) and is full of wildlife - we have never seen such tame blackbirds - and it's just lovely to throw back the curtains in the morning and gaze out at the surrounding countryside!
The house is always immaculate and so warm and inviting. The rooms are all gorgeously furnished and sooooooo comfortable, and we would highly recommend any room to stay in. The bathrooms are superb and there are gorgeous soaps and toiletries provided.
We even get excited every day to see what the cake fairy has brought! The home-made cakes and the amazingly delicious breakfasts are just outstanding and the best we have had anywhere.
Carol and Gordon are such brilliant hosts that we always feel we are visiting family, and are sad and reluctant to leave! We are made to feel so welcome and always look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Any - they are all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolyneandMikeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandG283, Owner at The Dulaig, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review of your stays with us at The Dulaig. We love to welcome guests to stay with us, and the fact that you have come back a number of times along your wonderful words here help us to know that we are on the right lines.
We are already looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrelodones, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed with Carol and Gordon just recently for two nights in June and although I don't usually write many reviews I just can't let this one go by the wayside. The Dulaig is simply wonderful in every way with an attention to detail that is second to none. Our room was luxurious,(Shapland) with the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in (in fact we've decided to change our bed since we got back from our stay there!) and a beautifully appointed bathroom to match. The gardens with their host of wildlife are an oasis of tranquility and then there are freshly baked scones on arrival ....a daily visit from the cake fairy....yes fairies do exist at the Dulaig....and as for the breakfasts, well they are just something else. We have stayed at many four and five star hotels and guest accommodations over the years and the breakfast here outshines them all by far. The quality is just superb but Gordon's specials deserve a special mention, they are just that...very very special indeed. Carol and Gordon are one of the most charming couples we have met on our travels, they are great fun to be with and just can't do enough to make you feel at home. Our thanks for looking after us and making us feel so special during our stay. Muchas Gracias!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shapland Room which was lovely and bright with dual aspect windows and a large en-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandG283, Owner at The Dulaig, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Muchas Gracias for taking time to write this wonderful review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Dulaig as much as we enjoyed having you with us.
It is great to read that you found our beds so comfortable. When we set up our B&B we aimed to provide our guests with the best beds we could find.....we had no idea that our guests would want to change their own beds once they had slept in ours!!!
Gordon is blushing at your lovely feedback on his "Daily Specials", and we both would like to thank you for making The Dulaig feel special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. Carol and Gordon really made us feel at home. The room was exceptional but the full Scottish breakfast was even better. I cannot say enough good things about our stay there. I have never seen my wife hug a hotel/motel owner before, but she did at the Dulaig! We felt like family there. I don't know if I'll get a chance to go back to Scotland and in particular, Grantown on Spey, but if I do, I'd be sure to stay with Carol and Gordon again.

Room Tip: Not sure, I don't think any room is good or bad. They are all exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CedarFallsIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandG283, Owner at The Dulaig, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely words about your stay with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first experience of B&B and especially glad to know that you felt so at home here - we really enjoyed having you stay. We know that you missed your own family whilst you were away on your travels but are sure you had a really warm welcome back home. We hope that sometime in the future we may be able to welcome you and your family to stay with us at The Dulaig....there will be hugs all round!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haus Alba
Haus Alba
#3 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dulaig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dulaig

Property: The Dulaig
Address: The Dulaig Seafield Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dulaig 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dulaig Luxury B&B - AA GUEST ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR FOR SCOTLAND 2016-17. AA 5 Gold Stars, AA Breakfast Award, VisitScotland 5 Star Gold. Finalists in the AA 2015 "Friendliest B&B of the Year in Britain & Ireland" An elegant country house in 1.5 Acres of lovely private gardens adjoining open countryside. "Scotland's "Taste our Best" Award. One of The Good Hotel Guide's "Top Ten Places to stay for Whisky Lovers"& Michelin Guide "Top Pick for Scotland 2017". Many guests tell us that our beds are the best they have slept in and our breakfasts are the best they have ever tasted....And we have The Cake Fairy!A luxurious blend of modern furnishings and Arts and Crafts antiques. 3 Beautifully-appointed guest rooms all en suite. Delicious breakfasts with eggs from our own free-range hens.Extensive private parking. Covered parking for motorcycles. Free WiFi. Strictly no smoking.The gardens are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels and pheasants. Grantown-on-Spey centre 600 yards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dulaig Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing