We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star hotels cannot match The Dulaig”
Review of The Dulaig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dulaig
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star hotels cannot match The Dulaig”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

If you are planning a visit to Inverness or the Cairngorms National Park stay here. The faultless standard of the rooms and the gargantuous home made fresh breakfasts (with delcious cinnamon toast ) aren't just what make that makes this place special. The hosts, Carol and Gordon are the warmest and most helpful people you will ever meet. They know everything about the area and were invaluable in ensuring that our stay in the Cairngorms included activities (such as feeding reindeer high up in the mountains) that we didn't even know exisited and which made our holiday extra special. Carol, Gordan,The Dulaig and their warm Scottish hospitality will be an experience to be remembered for many years. We are going back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roofdownandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Excellent B&B, a beautiful place and room and great hosts. Thanks to Carol and Gordon for making our stay so great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorkeFykse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We spent 3 nights in this fantastic B&B in early May. Our hosts, Gordon and Carol, were friendly, attentive and full of excellent advice on hiking trails, weather reports and other local attractions. Our room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, high quality linens and an outstanding ensuite bathroom. The grounds of this B&B were beautiful. The Dulaig is expensive for a B&B but you truly get what you pay for here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Beautifully Edwardian house, which has been tastefully and luxuriously restored, and is now an exclusive B&B. The breakfast was fabulous, the hosts (Carol and Gordon) warm and engaging, and the position, nestling in the midst of the Scottish Highlands, was perfect (so much nicer than the somewhat more commercial Aviemore!). A new favourite for us - we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was my second time here and it was still as amazing as the first time. Perfect place, perfect hosts, perfect everything, I cant really find something that's not been good. Carol and Gordon run this place from the heart and you can see and feel it. The rooms (and the house) are decorated with great care, detail and style. Bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is just over the top. It's made fresh, it's delicious and there is just too much to choose from. Whatever you need from the hosts, they'll be there right away and will spend the time with you even though they have a million things to take care of in the house. This place is high class with a great warm feeling to it. Try it...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmlafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

our visit to The Dulaig was out of this world! Yes it may be a bit more expensive than others but it is worth every penny, we have never stayed anywhere quite like it and are going back for a special occasion in July. Thank you, Carol and Gordon for a fantastic welcome and yummy breakfast!

Room Tip: any of the three immaculate rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the The Dulaig for only one night, but what an impression Carol & Gordon made on us. They really are the perfect hosts, you don't feel like you are staying in a B&B, but with friends or family.

When we arrived were greeted with tea and home made meringues, which were just the ticket after after our drive. Carol suggested some places we could try for dinner and booked the table for us in a pub a few minutes walk from the Dulaig, even arranging a discount for us!

Our room was lovely, beautifully furnished with an exceptionally comfortable bed and huge pillows you sink into, we slept very well that night!

When I made the booking I had mentioned that I have an intollerance to gluten, instead of biscuits in our room Carol had made macaroons for me, which were delicious!

Breakfast was amazing, there was a selection of cereal, fruit and cheese, including a special gluten free museli and home made gluten free chocolate and banana muffins. As if that was enough Carol had baked a loaf of gluten free bread especially for me. The real treat however, was the smoked trout & scrambled eggs. Without a doubt this was the best I have ever tasted. What a wonderful start to the day!

Everything about The Dulaig is great, it truly is a luxury B&B. Carol & Gordon have put so much thought and attention to detail in everything they do. The experience here was much better than many of the 5 star large chain hotels we have stayed in, as everything was so personal.

We will definitely be going back to stay when we are next in Grantown-on-Spey.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haus Alba
Haus Alba
#3 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dulaig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dulaig

Property: The Dulaig
Address: The Dulaig Seafield Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dulaig 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dulaig Luxury B&B - AA GUEST ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR FOR SCOTLAND 2016-17. AA 5 Gold Stars, AA Breakfast Award, VisitScotland 5 Star Gold. Finalists in the AA 2015 "Friendliest B&B of the Year in Britain & Ireland" An elegant country house in 1.5 Acres of lovely private gardens adjoining open countryside. "Scotland's "Taste our Best" Award. One of The Good Hotel Guide's "Top Ten Places to stay for Whisky Lovers"& Michelin Guide "Top Pick for Scotland 2017". Many guests tell us that our beds are the best they have slept in and our breakfasts are the best they have ever tasted....And we have The Cake Fairy!A luxurious blend of modern furnishings and Arts and Crafts antiques. 3 Beautifully-appointed guest rooms all en suite. Delicious breakfasts with eggs from our own free-range hens.Extensive private parking. Covered parking for motorcycles. Free WiFi. Strictly no smoking.The gardens are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels and pheasants. Grantown-on-Spey centre 600 yards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dulaig Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing