We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Craggan Outdoors

Craggan Outdoors
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Craggan Outdoors, 'Best Visitor Attraction' in the Highlands & Islands Tourism Awards 2012, & also a finalist in 2009, '10 & '14. Based at Grantown-on-Spey (15 minutes from Aviemore) on beautiful Speyside in the Cairngorms National Park, Craggan Outdoors offers one of the widest ranges of outdoor activities available in Scotland.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

although advertised as being open through October when we went this week the place was totally closed for the winter. disappointing as its the middle of the school holidays.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CragganOutdoors, Owner at Craggan Outdoors, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Sheena....sorry that you found us closed when you visited. We are very much still open for the school holidays - & indeed remain open year-round for pre-bookings - but compassionate leave for a funeral had left us short-staffed one day this week, & as we had no pre-bookings we took the decision to close for the day & to concentrate staff resources on other days when we were already scheduled to be busy.

There were full contact details left on the door, including my personal mobile number, so it is a shame that you didn't feel that you could take a few moments to make a call, & we could have then looked at how we may have been able to help you, either on that day or another during this week. In general it is always advisable to book ahead to avoid disappointment, as even if we are open there is never a guarantee that we can help everybody on the day if all instructors are already booked out on activity sessions.

As a gesture of goodwill, if you'd like to look again at trying our services at some stage in the future, then I'd be pleased to offer you a 25% discount on any pre-booking. Will look forward to hopefully hearing from you at some stage in the future so as you can book to enjoy the same 5-star experiences as the vast majority of our TripAdvisors reviewers. Best regards, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    20
    4
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cricket tour to Scotland”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Craggan Outdoors and Ardenbeg, our first having been three years ago. We had such a brilliant time the first time I recommended it to our cricket club as somewhere different to go this year for our (not quite) annual tour and we found three clubs in northern Scotland who were pleased to host us (and received us royally, by the way). We wanted bunk-house type accommodation and stayed at Ardenbeg, close to the centre of Grantown-on-Spey, and now part of Craggan Outdoors. The accommodation is fairly basic (bunk beds, drying room, shower etc., as you would expect), and there is a good garden equipped with barbecue and a covered patio which we used to good effect. The kitchen/dining area is very convivial and well equipped. We were made extremely welcome, and this, coupled with the great activities that our lads and lass took part in, made it a tour to remember. Archery, clay-pigeon shooting, gorge walking and golf were enthusiastically participated in, and the level of instruction could not be faulted.
We are thinking about going back again, so what more can I say?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank preston15270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Craggan golf course”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although this is a short course with only 14 holes it is a challenging course and not for the real beginner. With 14 holes it is quite unusual and we were uncertain how it would work. As several of the holes are quite short it was not a challenge of the men in our group however you do need to be accurate with your shots to avoid getting into trouble. Quite expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eevebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant team building event - mini highland games”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was asked to organise a team building event for a works away day, I didn’t want to go down the normal route of being put into groups and being gathered round a table to build things out of paper etc. In my search I came across the mini highland games which I thought would be fun, especially as our away day was in the highlands and only a handful of our staff are actually Scottish. Craggan didn’t disappoint - everyone really enjoyed it, we found Keith & his assistant really friendly and enthusiastic. It was very well organised and a great way of getting staff members to network. We had such a laugh at each of the games - shot put, tossing the caber, wanging the welly & tug of war. I’d definitely recommend this event, not only for team building but for any other gatherings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlisonHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“archery”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a family weekend in Newtonmore and came through to Craggen Outdoors for the archery.The instructor was very good and everyone had a great afternoon ,most of us doing it for the first time.We all would like to come back again.

Russ Skelton.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank russ s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craggan Outdoors also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Craggan Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing