We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charged for debit-card”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willowbank Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charged for debit-card”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pretty B&B in old stone-house. Good breakfast. Internet did not work in our room. Charged two and half percent for payment by (foreign) debit-card which was not experienced anywhere else among the five hotels we visited during our two week summer holiday in Scotland.leasant staff and host.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to main entrance as door fits badly and every sound from outside (and inside) passes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteJen, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for taking time to make the review. We do not charge for debit card payments where the card is drawn on a UK bank. Due to the charges imposed by banks for ALL cards except UK bank cards, we do make a 2% charge, which is less than the 3% we have to pay to accept your card.

That 2% is shown on your booking confirmation, on the arrivals desk, in the room information folders, at the point of payment, and you were verbally informed that you could pay by cash before you decided to use your card.

I am sorry that you did not understand, but we do try to keep our rates as competitive as possible, and as such we always calculate our daily rate on cash or debt card payments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have just returned from my latest stay at the Willowbank and as stated by others Chris and Anne are so accommodating and friendly. This year I traveled with my elderly mother who was overwhelmed by their hospitality. Grantown on Spey is ideally situated to explore the highlands and Cairngorns and itself is a beautiful location with amazing woodlands and riverside walks on the doorstep of the guest house. Chris and Anne's local knowledge is really resourceful and they are only too pleased to help advise you. The guesthouse is also in walking distances of local pubs and restaurants, the Garth in particular I can highly recommend. Breakfast is excellent so much so that my diet has started already! I will return again next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We found Willowbank to be the perfect "hub" for day trips out into the Highlands. We visited several distilleries and nature centers during our 5 night stay. Anne was very helpful with evening dinner reservations and any other questions we had about the area. We enjoyed having the lounge for our evening visits and planning our next day's excursion. Don't miss out on the Early Bird special at the Hotel Garth, one of Anne's suggestions. You are even greeted by a Piper!

Room Tip: We requested a downstairs room and had #6, which was away from reception and very quiet. It had a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We were last at Willowbank in Grantown in September and this is the first time I have thought to leave my thoughts.

The guest house is run by Ann and Chris who have really become our friends over the years. We usually go to area in spring and autumn to see specific wildlife with a small group. We can always rely on the local knowledge of Ann who seems to know where to go to see the species we are looking for. That makes our trips really worthwhile. Having visited a few times now the service never slips and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is always spotlessly clean, and the breakfast is a great start to the day. We usually go out very early and come back near 8am for a good feed.

If you are looking to see wildlife in the area, then this is an ideal place with great local knowledge to draw on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale_C186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This was our second time of staying at the Willowbank guest house for the Thunder in the Glen Rally. Anne and Chris are the perfect hosts, lovely clean accomodation and beautiful breakfasts and if you've got a bike there's shelter for that as well! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Arrived very tired after a long walk from Ballindalloch and were warmly welcomed. It was very comfortable and the breakfast was good. Perhaps it should be pointed out that the door to the en-suite in our room was glazed with no privacy curtain...might not suit some!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteJen, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for the response. I assume you were the 2 walkers who phoned at about 7pm in the evening to say that you were still 3 miles away, and whom I drove to collect.

The room that you stayed in does have a glazed panel in the en-suite, but you may remember that the glass is opaque with a frosted finish. However, we have now also added a further layer of obscure film to the panel following your feedback.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your journey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Arrived fairly late in the day and left straight after breakfast the following morning, so only had a limited experience of Willowbank. However, I found the owners friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. At £30pppn including free wi-fi, I feel the Willowbank provides excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Guesthouse

Property: Willowbank Guesthouse
Address: Willowbank High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbank Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbank Guest House offers all you are looking for at an affordable price. Clean rooms, a great Scottish Breakfast with local ingredients and home made bread as well as personal service are waiting for you. Free WiFi is available in all areas of the Guesthouse and we have a private car park. Willowbank is located within the Cairngorms National Park, an ideal location for walking, fishing, wildlife watching or to visit Aviemore & Cairngorm Mountain. You can also visit one of the Castles or Whisky Distilleries nearby. We have 9 guest bedrooms, 6 en-suite and 3 rooms with separate private bathroom. We look forward to provide you a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Willowbank Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Guesthouse Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing