We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation ,great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willowbank Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Willowbank Guest House
Anne & Chris were obliging and friendly hosts.The rooms were very clean and well maintained. We appreciated the little things like extra blankets if required and that little triangle shelf in the bathroom, ideal for bits and pieces.I would suggest only one slight improvement , add an extra pillow. The accommodation was also very reasonable considering the tourist location.I would have no hesitation in recommending Willowbank Guest House to any visitor.Well done Anne & Chris.Thank you.
D. Bell

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbank_Grantown, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Thanks for the review, and we are pleased you were pleased!

We keep the extra pillows in the zipped, clear, hygenic protectors in the wardrobe! I know they may look like white quilts - but they are pillows.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

It was my wifes birthday and we packed our bags and the dog in the car and headed for the willow bank,staying for 3 nights,very clean and tidy,our room8 overlooked the main road,it can be a bit noisy at times.I have leg and back problems so the winding stair case can be a bit diffucult.and if you have this problem chose room 6 is on the ground floor.and so is the eating area out look is the main road through grantown.we were great full for there assisstance by supplying a birthday cake for my wife.we would go back but opt for the groundfloor room.

Room Tip: room 6 is the ground floor is best suited for those if walking problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firemanjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbank_Grantown, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thanks for the kind words - birthday cake at breakfast was a great treat for us too!

You are right we do have 2 ground floor rooms available for guests with mobility issues. We were not aware of your mobility when you made the reservation, only when you informed us on your final day. We do always try to allocate the ground floor rooms to guests who let us know their requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Although we only stayed for one night,a Saturday,we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.The hosts were first class and really could not have been more accommodating even allowing us the use of a discount voucher for a local bistro.We felt the tariff was very reasonable for the facilities offered.Breakfast was pleasant and the bedroom and ensuite of a decent size and very clean.We shall certainly return in future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewencrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had a nice, clean and comfortable room, with a good bed. Good breakfest and very nice hosts, who were very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful three days stay.
Grantown on spey is an ideal base from which you can plan lovely walks in the cairngorms and visit many fantastic whisky distilleries. Also the Indian restaurant, which our hostess Anne recommended, is really good!
We recommend the Willowbank guesthouse and Grantown on Spey highly to everyone who plans to visit Scotland.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wout1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Rooms are clean and tidy, so no problems with that, Staying on the third level you get wakened up at 6pm every morning with the water tank filling up, so dont expect a long lie! Stayed there for 4 days and the towels were never changed which i thought was unhygienic. On the breakfast, you dont really get a lot if you do not like what is on the menu, i ticked for sausage and bacon, and was presented with 1 sausage and 1 slice of bacon in the morning, so not the way to start the day!
If you stay on the third level forget about internet access as you are to far away from the wireless router.
Great central location, and lovely town, but have found other Guest Houses with better facilities for a cheaper price.

Room Tip: go for the ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDog1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbank_Grantown, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thanks for the review. We try to be as environmentally friendly as we can at Willowbank. That is why we put information in the rooms about towel exchange. Our policy on this is that if you want your towels changed every day - that is fine. However, most guests are aware of the impact many thousands of towels being washed every day cause. Most guests are more than happy to re-use the towels, just as you would do at home. Towels are changed on request without question.

Our breakfast menu consists of 5 diffenent choices of main item - a full cooked breakfast, salmon and scrambled eggs, a fresh fruit sundae with yoghurt and museli, a continental selection of meats, cheese, youhurt and croissant, and porridge. All those items come with cereal, fruit, toast, fruit juice, tea and coffee. We do ask guests to choose from a menu to ensure that they get what they want and like.

With regards to internet access. We do not promote access in all rooms as we are aware of the thickness of the walls in such a classic building, and the fact that the signal is reduced as such. We also have 2 separate access points in the building, of which guests make great use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hosts are very friendly and helping. Guest house is a perfect B&B in a very quiet and peaceful location. Though it's near high street, you hardly hear any noise as it's a small town almost feels like a village. You see many hotels and guest houses around as the location is perfect for travelers driving in and around highlands.
Our room was very clean with good linen. Bathroom was a bit small but clean. Room and Lounge decor was appropriate. Good quality amenities & furniture in the room and wifi is a plus.
Cannot comment much on the variety of breakfast as we are vegetarian and had to stick to the bare minimums like cereals, toasts, fruits, and eggs, but you can let the hosts know in advance on your food preference and they would arrange.

I can think of two downsides - one is that the guest house is centrally heated so we could not control the heating in our room when it was switched off. I found it weird as it was a bit too cold first night and I had to request them to switch on the heating.
Another is the room rate which I find a bit expensive. Still we were not disappointed as we booked on last minute and it was the only choice available.
One last point - we did not receive good phone signals in the room although it might be our network problem - who wants to be bothered when on vacation anyway !! ;)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swap9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Chris and Anne provide an amazing B&B experience at Willowbank. They provide such a friendly service, which they always tailor to your personal needs, nothing is too much trouble. They advised us on places to visits and to eat and even made our reservations for us! I feel so relaxed when I stay with them that I sleep just as if I was at home! The rooms are very clean and spacious and have everything you need in them. In addition to this they have good car parking facilities. The conservatory where you eat breakfast provides a lovely bright environment with plenty to look at and the breakfast is always fantastic!
Grantown on Spey is a lovely place with amazing woodland and riverside walks. With it being only a little bit off the A9 it provides good access to travel Scotland. The Cairngorms national park where Grantown on Spey is situated is the most beautiful part of Scotland and provides amazing scenery. The area has a nice selection of shops, pubs and places to eat. I will definitely be returning as soon as I can to Willowbank Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#3 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#2 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosehall Guest House
Rosehall Guest House
#5 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Guesthouse

Address: Willowbank High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $95 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbank Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbank Guest House offers all you are looking for at an affordable price. Clean rooms, a great Scottish Breakfast with local ingredients and home made bread as well as personal service are waiting for you. Free WiFi is available in all areas of the Guesthouse and we have a private car park. Willowbank is located within the Cairngorms National Park, an ideal location for walking, fishing, wildlife watching or to visit Aviemore & Cairngorm Mountain. You can also visit one of the Castles or Whisky Distilleries nearby. We have 9 guest bedrooms, 6 en-suite and 3 rooms with separate private bathroom. We look forward to provide you a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Willowbank Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Guesthouse Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing