We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in The Highlands”
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Gem in The Highlands”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Spent a long weekend with friends at the Grant Arms. The rooms benefitted from a recent refubishment and were nicely decorated and very comfortable. We took advantage of their latest "Special Offer" which represented excellent value for money.
Food was very good and nicely presented and was surpassed only by the friendly service of all staff who refreshingly adopted a "can do" attitude.

All six of our party will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    163
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
75
388
78
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Just spent the weekend at this hotel. I have heard it said there are few good hotels in the Highlands; this one must prove the exception. A relatively small old fashioned hotel even down to the old wooden revolving door. The hotel was inviting, the staff very friendly, “ you could have a conversation with them”. They were also helpful. The room was very good much better than some 4 stars we have stayed in. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard, a small concise menu changing every day with excellent local produce and the provenance of the produce made clear. The wine list was compact but well chosen, a surprise for hotels nowadays with their hyped up wine lists the most expensive wine was £19.95 and it was a very good Châteauneuf Du Pape, the cheapest at £11 an Australian Cabernet Sauvignon allso very good. There was a lot of information on a daily basis on local wildlife, particularly birds, and wildlife based activities. A very good and overall inexpensive wedding anniversary weekend away for under £200. Our only small gripe was the T.V in the room was small and old but we can live with that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Considering the price was no more than an average B & B + a pub dinner, this hotel was brilliant. Although it had 50 odd rooms, it felt really cosy and friendly. We went to the Cairngorms with the hope of seeing some exiting and unusual wildlife after talking to local guides and all part of the price. Although we didn't see everything on our list, the 2 girls who performed this role were excellent. They were both knowlegable and obliging. You even get to go out for a walk through the woods behind the hotel, while they point out all the interesting stuff.

We think the best part of all was the food, and the service that went with it. The menu was varied, and although basically traditional, was both imaginative and well cooked. The boys and girls who delivered the food were excelent and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToneandPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2010

The town has most things from gifts, clothes and a lovely bakery. The Hotel offers many suggestions of things to do and places to visit from a wildlife perspective or just interesting venues. The staff are very approachable and knowledgable. Maps and general information readibly available.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaye_hartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

If you are interested in wildlife then this is a good place,i had a caterpillar in my salad for a start.Apart from that the food was good,menu changed daily.The wildlife info was excellent.
BUT-The room service was pathetic,room not vacuum cleaned for the whole week, toiletries not replaced.Do not stay on first floor, the above floor seems to be used as a dance floor..
It could be so much better...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeresande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Did not stay at this hotel but did have the 3 course Sunday lunch when meeting up with friends. The food and service were faultless and the price for 4 of us was incredible value with all the vegetables being fresh and real roast beef as apposed to the plastic stuff you get so often these days. To be honest I colud noy fault it and will return even if it is over an hours drive from where we live.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballater007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed for one night on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food is absolutely amazing. In the evening we had a sumptuous 3 course meal, with plenty of choice for each course and for breakfast, there was again lots of choice for hot food, as well as the usual cold buffet spread. The service in the restaurant is also absolutely spot on.
The room was comfortable, with a lovely bed and good, powerful hot shower in the en suite. There's a decent selection of whiskies in the bar and lots of board games and packs of cards, which is a nice touch. It's mostly an older clientele here, because of its "wildlife hotel" status - we were by far the youngest people staying there, but so long as you're not looking for party central, then it's a great place to stay! I'll also just add one more time, that the food really was fantastic.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ejmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
293 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing