We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room in a fantastic building. Underwhelming dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great room in a fantastic building. Underwhelming dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our stay at the Grant Arms was very good and the spacious rooms in a fantastic setting were memorable. The rooms have been decorated and upgraded to a very high standard; we were pleasantly surprised and very comfortable over the Valentines weekend. Breakfast was comprehensive, well cooked and just what you need to start a day of skiing! We were unfortunately underwhelmed by the dinner we had. It was more expensive than expected for the quality. Apart from this it was a fantastic way to spend Valentines day and we were made to feel very welcome. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    157
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
73
385
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Have had a number of short holidays here over the last few years and always been impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff,the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms,the quality and presentation of the food, the excellent facilities for those interested in the natural history side of things and the reasonable prices available in off season months.Standards have always been very high and continue to be so.Well done Grant Arms.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stein500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, including The Burns Supper and Ceilidh, which was great fun.
The room was comfortable and warm. Ensuite had great bath and loads of hot water. Dinner menu was varied and food well cooked, and the breakfasts were huge and more than plenty to last the day. Staff are friendly and welcoming and it is an ideal base to tour the surrounding area.
Certainly value for money and we would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of February, All the staff were polite and helpful .We stayed in room 3 which is on the main road however this did not disturb us. room was quite large with a fantastic shower ( although a little noisy) We stayed on a DBB basis which we could not fault. all meals are cooked to a high standard . They have a fine "snug" with a log fire which was quite welcome after a day's walking and skiing. If we travel to that part of Scotland again we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights the end of January and the beginning of February. We received a warm welcome from the smiling receptionist, who was very helpful. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are also a very good size with a large deep bath and a shower with plenty of hot water. The room has a kettle and tea, coffee etc. The bed was very comfortable and warm. The rooms are well heated. Food is excellent with a good choice, which changes frequently considering it was low season. Many thanks to the chef for preparing altered meals due to my food intolerances. Wi-fi is particularly good and free. ALL staff were well mannered, polite, cheerful and very helpful and are a credit to the hotel. This hotel caters for guest who are interested in birds and wildlife and produces a daily bulletin to tell you what is happening in the area. There is also a useful noticeboard. There is a large room for talks and lectures and many books on nature, with a selection of DVDs. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and booked it due its location in the Highlands and not for the birding facilities. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a four night stay here. The place was lacking guests and therefore atmosphere but that's not their fault. The food was superb. The VFM superb. Would recommend the place for the food if nothing else. Bedrooms are typically British hotel type and size. (Small and a bit stuffy) you need the window open to get a good nights sleep. Will sum up as follows: LOVE: 1. Food. 2. Staff hospitality. 3. Superb wifi throughout whole hotel. 4. Great easy parking. 5. Value For Money. HATE: 1. Desperately needs a real log fire, the false one in reception a bit naff. 2. Please please please think about changing the piped music in the dining room. Same keyboard piano repetitive music on a reel every 20/30 minutes. After 2 nights driving us crazy. After 4 we were losing the will to live.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheredonethatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in Jan and included the Burns Night celebration dinner. It could not have been better for the price, excellent food, very polite friendly and helpful staff and a very relaxed atmosphere. Our room was at the back of the hotel, it was a good size and very warm and it was always clean and tidy on our return. On a couple of days we left very early in the morning and the hotel gave us a packed lunch without charge as we missed breakfast. We are returning in November for another visit as we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awk152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.9 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing