We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SRGC Discussion Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Augustus
1 review
“SRGC Discussion Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A big event with the potential to be a disaster - it ran as smoothly as could have been hoped for! Staff at all levels right up to David Duncan, the Manager, helpful and courteous throughout. As a vegetarian, food is often 'very average' - but NOT HERE! Every meal was thoroughly enjoyable.
I would be completely happy to recommend the venue to anyone. I look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    154
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
71
377
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although not staying in the Hotel - I was too late and stayed in the Garth - the SRGC Discussion Weekend took place in the Grant Arms and my comments are based on this.

The food was delicious. The staff were very friendly and anxious to meet any request.

I really appreciated the guided walk through the airy open woods and 90 minutes passed in a flash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a superb weekend. The staff were all so good and couldn't do enough to please and so friendly from the manager down. the hotel was full but they made everything go so smoothly without a hiccup. Nothing was too much bother. Food was excellent and well presented. The only slight negative was that the room was not as roomy as one would like and the shower was small but that was not detrimental to the stay. The bird watching side was a bonus of extra interest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJones09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Over the past few years we have stayed at the Grant Arms for two weeks as our main holiday. This year we had already had a special holiday to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary so we only booked for one week. This was a mistake because there are never enough hours in the day to do everything we wanted. The BWWC have had a change of personnel and we found it strange not to see Kirsty and Katie but the new staff certainly knew their stuff. The quality of the food was as high as ever and all of the hotel staff treated us as "family". We will be back again, the sooner the better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My cousins stayed here for six nights and we met up with them for drinks. It was their 7th visit and they continue to go there as the service and the food are of a consistantly high standard.
My husband had the local ale Tradelwinds which he said was really superb. David the owner/manager?? is a charming man and cannot do enough to make you welcome. We looked around the wildlife area and there is a dedicated room with a film show/talks on wildlife every night. The photos of local wilflife are lovely. The staff were very polite and the whole areas of the hotel we3 saw during our visit were clean tidy and very warm. We will go and stay there next time.

This Highland hotel has been welcoming guests for many a year. In fact, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert stayed here in 1860.

The Grant Arms has 50 ensuite bedrooms with meeting and conference facilities. But it gives the impression of a very well run intimate place. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
809 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for a few days. The bird and wildlife facilities were unbelievable and justifies our 4 star rating. Local expert birders were available breakfast time and evening to advise and discuss, and on some days led free walks or met guests at rendezvous. Brilliant birding (and general) library, plus wildlife posters of every sort.. Area map with sites marked and described provided in the bedroom,
The room was nice but service was mixed. We were not convinced that our beds had been made properly, the bar times were restricted and on one occasion not opened on time. We had minor problems with the restaurant service on each of the days we stayed.
If you are in Grantown for the wildlife this is the place to stay - otherwise there must be better alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a fantastic 2 week stay at the Grant Arms Hotel in September. The bedroom was huge and well decorated though the bed was a little had for my liking. The staff were very friendly and helpful and very accommodating. The BWWC (Bird Watching and Wildlife Club) facilities are outstanding with lots of leaflets, brochures, books, DVD, latest sighting boards etc. The morning and evening briefings are excellent as it gives us chance to swap sightings and ideas on places to go the next day. Every week there's different events such as guided walks in the woods (including bat walks), a *guide in the hide* day out and a quiz on a Thursday evening which was rather hard but great fun!
The food is delicious and they always cater for special diets, fussy folk, small portions or anyone else.
Thank you for a fantastic stay and I look forward to coming back again at some point :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing