We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel we've stayed in for some years. Gluten-Free”
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dulnain Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel we've stayed in for some years. Gluten-Free”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Best Hotel we've stayed in for some years. Gluten-Free
We stayed at the Grant Arms at the end of Jan 2013. Just about everything was excellent. The food was good, all of the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Gluten-free options at dinner are available, if you need them, with a choice every night - Gluten-free bread and Muesli available for breakfast, how good is that? (Mention that you need gluten-free when you book)

The wildlife facilities were very good. Lots of relevant up-to-date information, daily newsletter, library, advice about good wildlife locations, guided tour of the local woods all expertly managed by Kirsty who looked after us very well - again, nothing was too much trouble.

If you have a wheelchair, that won't be a problem.

Free WiFi.

We'll be back again soon. Thanks everyone for a nice week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    163
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
75
387
76
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Grant Arms Hotel in February. We cannot fault the hotel, the staff, the activities or particularly the meals. Dinner was excellent each night -fantastic choice, good quality and really great service. The cooked breakfast was equally good- tasty, well cooked and with high quality ingredients.
Whether you are interested in the birdwatching and wildlife club-where the facilities, guides and information are brilliant - or not, we recommend you stay at the Grant Arms Hotel. Many of the guests we met had been back several times and we now know why. We will be back to stay at the Grant Arms Hotel again-soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers, France
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Recently we held our mother's 100th birthday celebrations in The Grant Arms Hotel. The manager and his staff went overboard in ensuring that this was a highly successful and memorable occasion going far beyond any contractual obligations. Hotel staff were attentive to the needs of my mother, the family and our many guests and we felt we were being looked after by friends who just happened to run a comfortable and efficient Highland hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have an excellent view of Grantown's attractive town square and rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACPLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Grant Arms Hotel for 3 nights from the 20th to 23rd January as we were in Grantown to celebrate a 100th birthday. The Hotel was excellent in every way and good value. The Manager David and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good. Our room was at the front with a nice view over the squire and the festive lights and the snow were an added bonus. We could certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view over the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alansimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel was good got cheap rate but service well they are there to work first and guest is second I have been in many hotels but never been rushed to finish meal . We were still eating and they were changing tables next to us and using cleaninig materials in the for of spray as we were eating the last day the girl was rude to my wife as we were leaving as she wanted into the room to clean . Nice to come to the north of scotland and she some many non scots working in rhis hotel services was poor they just work there as we were told will not return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mearly1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Booked the Hogmanay Full Board Package deal and we were disappointed with what we got for the money we paid.
(1) It was expensive and not worth the money paid. (2) The Staff were friendly enough. (3) We rather liked the old fashioned lift although there were times we had to take the stairs as it had a habit of not appearing probably due to the fact that the doors had to be closed manually and this was something that had not been done. (4) The room was spacious but the T.V. was a CRT one, small screen and basic programmes. (5)A complaint which we discussed with the Manager was on arriving at 12 noon the only way to get lunch which consisted on just a bowl of soup and sandwich was to pay extra for this i.e.£17.00 for two and 1 cup of tea. The Hogmanay dinner was poor and in fact we couldn't eat the roast beef because it was so tough. The space left for dancing was inadequate for the number of guests. Our main complaint however, again discussed with the Manager, was New Year's Day. Brunch was supplied from 9am till 1 pm and no further meals until 6.30pm. If we wanted anything to eat we had to pay £17.00 once again for a bowl of soup and sandwich. We had breakfast at 9am and therefore felt we should have had lunch at mid-day. We actually went back before 1pm to get something off the breakfast table but found everything was cleared up long before this. Some of the guests were driving around at lunchtime trying to find somewhere that was open on the 1st January for some food. We took this up with the Manager who informed us and this is his exact words "No one eats lunch now - it's antiquated - and I only have a cup of tea at lunchtime!" However after showing our disbelieve at this remark and a difference of opinion he reluctantly supplied us with the soup and sandwich and waived the cost although he wanted us to pay for this initially. Actually the bread was stale. Would we go again? the answer is "No".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 362RuthH362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good, clean and refurbished hotel. Everything spotless. Staff were very good.
Breakfast was a brilliant buffet. I'm almost a vegetarian, so didn't have a great choice on the dinner menu, which was my fault.

Weather was good and the Street Party in the square was well attended.

Grantown was quite central for getting about, and Aviemore was about 15 miles away.

There were shops open there in 1st January,2013.

Room Tip: Try for a front room to see all the action going on in the village. My room was in the annex. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskyman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.9 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing