We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hogmanay Package” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hogmanay Package”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very welcoming atmosphere from the Manager David Duncan and all his staff.

Slightly disapointed that our upgraded room was very small and a tiny bathroom with energy saving bulbs that took ages to warm up to see to get a shave! Think it was 'an upgrade' because it was at the front overlooking The Square where all the festivities are held at midnight, though we were in the street partying.

The food was excellent the only niggle being the vegetarian option at the Hogmanay dinner, basically just the vegetables for everyone else with a bit of puff pastry on top, other days the vegetarian options were good.

For a Bar that is slap bang in the middle of The Spey Whisky area I really do think that some decent whisky tumblers could be provided instead of the very cheap utilitarian thick glass ones that were used. I did manage to see an Glenfiddich branded glass on a bottom shelf and persuaded the barman to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bath as well as a shower that way it's got to be a bit bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackDusty096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    155
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
72
379
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Welcoming and accommodating staff, excellent food (including good choice of vegetarian). We stayed at one of the busiest times of year over 3 nights, Hogmanay/new year. Rooms, including bathroom, large and clean, small tv but obviously didn't go there to sit and watch it, too many other things to do. Great location for touring the highlands. This is a 3* which exceeded our expectations, we have stayed in 4* hotels (which include the usual "gym in a cupboard" facility to make it such) throughout the UK that do not meet this standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was the package offered and the wildlife aspect of the hotel that attracted us all the way from Oxfordshire - by trains. We were not disappointed in any way at all. David Duncan and his team offer everything hoped for from their welcome (after our 14 hour journey!) through every day and every meal and every event. Excellent value for money and gave us the not-too-christmassy break we sought.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had dinner at the hotel and were very disappointed with the standard of food and the bazaar menu - including creamed potatoes and ham terrine which turned out to be almost raw potato salad and very salty ham terrine. I then followed this with salmon fillet with tomato and herb sauce - the salmon was dried out however the tomato based sauce was fine. Overall the food was of a poor standard and very over priced, however on a brighter note the service was good and the staff were welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandg_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It was a pleasure coming here our Christmas lunch with other members if my family.

It was busy but we still received a friendly and good service.... a big thanks to all the staff, it must be a pain to work Christmas!

Really good quality food, especially the turkey and roast potatoes, I could have carried on eating them!

I notice that the hotel does loads for the local comunity too, really good to see.

Thanks for a memorable Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoringMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Grant Arms over Christmas and really enjoyed it. The food was fabulous, the service excellent, and we were made to feel extremely welcome. I travel widely for work and have become used to being disappointed with hotels, usually because of poor food or ill- thought through services that serve the hotel more than the guests. I cannot praise the hotel staff enough at this hotel. They made everything easy and the attention to detail was remarkable. As a bird watcher, I also got to see some fabulous birds, helped by the abundance of good advice and guidance provided by the BWWC. Well done and thank you for making our Christmas so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Wonderful short break again for dog, hubby and me. Always attentive and efficient friendly staff. Becoming a yearly habit for us. Even if bird watching is not your thing we think the hotel is a 5 star experience and is located in a most beautiful area. What a gem of a hotel. Just love it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing