We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming in from the cold....”
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hi there. I recently had the pleasure of coming across your fine
> hotel whilst cyling my way to Inverness. I had broken down and was cold
> and hungry. You kindly provided me shelter took my
> bike inside and let me sit in the lounge in front of the fire with a good cup of tea and
> biscuits. I thought it was wonderful. When I went to pay I was told don't worry it was our pleasure.. I shall never forget that and thank you so much....
>

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 784 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay, staff were very friendly and helpful throughout and the food was of the highest quality and worthy of a 5 star eaterie. Our room was lovely with a view across the town square. The walks from the hotel were brilliant with wild red deer on show and countless other wildlife species and a trip up cairngorm mountain is a must. We followed the hotels advice and drove to Chanonry point on the Black Isle where we were rewarded with a close up view of a dozen or so bottle nosed dolphins feeding and playing just offshore. A special mention to Heather who made the booking process so easy and the welcome so special, we are looking forward to returning in the very near future.

Room Tip: Ask if the four poster is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful with a special mention for the folks from the BWWC. Food was very enjoyable and plentiful with no need for lunch but toast could have been cooked fresher. Room was good with a comfy bed. Superb centre for walking and wildlife watching.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Sarrie554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our coach stopped right outide this hotel, and as it was a windy and rainy day, six of us decided to go in and have a coffee. We were made most welcome, coffee and tea appeared almost immediately, as did a tin of shortbread biscuits! The coffee and tea were in pots, so we could help outselves when we wanted. All for £2, great value. Lovely comfy lounge too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handmade2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our room was lovely - big and bright with three windows including one in the turret overlooking the Square. The staff were more than helpful - the food was just excellent though I think they weren't very good with the toast at breakfast. Evening meals had a good choice of three courses: tea and coffee in the afternoon and evenings were free. I think they could have promoted a value house wine and the bar prices were steep. We had a superior room and paid extra but only a bedside table on one side of the bed with a lamp - nothing on the other side of the bed which I think is a pre-requisite of a superior room. The bathroom was clean and plenty of hot water and with an opening window - not so usual this day and age. Situated right in town but very quiet with all the shops and banks close by: good public transport to Inverness and Aviemore. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room with a decent kettle and plenty of extra tea bags etc on request: a little bag of chocolates each night!

Room Tip: Room 104 at the front with a turret window overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

fantastic hotel with excellent food and wonderful hospitality
the surrounding area has so much of interest especially for wildlife and scenery
the food is sourced locally and is pleasantly varied each day

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldeagle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here as we canoed the Spey and had an excellent time. Rooms were comfortable, evening meal and breakfast were good value and sufficient. A great atmosphere, and it seems to specialize for bird-watchers. We had some wet kit and they let us use the warm equipment room to dry our gear.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
588 reviews
13 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $135 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing