We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Carvery

Castle Carvery
Ranked #22 of 319 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've been to have a carvery here before but not for a while, so me and my partner thought we would check it out! When we got there it was absolutely packed, which was understandable due to it being bank holiday weekend but still was an annoyance. We walked in and had absolutely NO idea what we were suppose to do! Do we sit down and wait to be served? Do we go straight to the bar and order? What? There were no signs. Eventually we managed to catch the attention of a waitress who sent us to someone to seat us. She found us a two seater table squished between two massive families, as soon as she pointed to the table, we turned back around to ask her about what to do about ordering food as she was GONE! And we were left pondering. We managed to get a little more sense off the bar lady who still managed to confuse us with far too much information but we eventually ordered a carvery. After standing in a longer line then a waiting line for a roller coaster we were served where the Chef was incredibly rude to my partner! He purely was enquiring something about the food and he snapped back at him and to be honest we were a bit taken aback.
The overall carvery food wasn't really anything special. We weren't too impressed with the meat taste, with chewy beef and tasteless gammon, but the upside was the wide variety of stuff you could pick from. We didn't have a dessert but the looked wonderful when having a look at all the pies, cakes, sponges etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolacheese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    144
    58
    32
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

3 Adults, 2 Children and a baby in my party, visited on a Tuesday afternoon in mid August.
2 Course carvery with a free child meal was the real draw to visit, I have to say that the restaurant is well laid out, a little on the warm side due to a glass dome in the roof coupled with no air conditioning, the children's play area is handy if you want to have a leisurely meal and have children that do not want to sit about in a restaurant.
Between those in the party we had Beef, Gammon and Turkey, all were served in delicious thick moist slices (There is an option for a extra slice of meat and extra trimmings for £1.50 but this would have made the meal so huge I would not have finished it)
The veg was well cooked but lacked seasoning in my opinion.
The dessert included in the 2 course carvery was a decent size and rounded of a pleasant dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited in August, around 5pm so just before the tea time rush. I had a carvery which was very nice, there was a huge selection of vegetables and I really liked the mashed swede and pepper! The Yorkshire Puddings were home made and very big - took up a lot of space on the plate! And i was allowed to help myself to chipolatas. I did not like the roast potatoes though.

My boyfriend had burger and chips which although ordered at the same time as my carvery took about 20 minutes to be served. I'm not grumbling, it was very nice according to my partner and at least we know it was freshly made.

I found the staff to be friendly and efficient, there was a lovely looking dessert counter but unfortunately we were too full to take advantage of it! We both said we would like to go back there again and thought the food prices were very reasonable.

There is also lots of parking and the inside of the restaurant was clean and in good order (i.e, not shabby and in need of decoration).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbeylls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant family Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited for sunday lunch while staying nearby. Car park was packed but luckily they still had tables. We bought 2 adult carveries and two kids meals. Food was tasty, fresh and hot. Carvery meat really tender. Service was good and fast despite having to fight for a position at the bar! Kids enjoyed time afterwards in the free out door play area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caton43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great all round experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Food was very nice from Calvery, loads of veg selections. Friendly and helpful staff. May go back later in week!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RHipkiss74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Carvery also viewed

 

Been to Castle Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing