We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Garden - CLOSED

Olive Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Greek, Grill, Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The OG is a family run Cypriot/Mediterranean restaurant. We offer authentic Cypriot food, Steaks, Grills and fish served with genuine Greek hospitality.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Was there with my wife in May, had fantastic meals on 2 separate evenings. Superb cuisine, friendly staff, would recommend to anyone. We prefer Greek food and certainly were not disappointed with their wide range of menu. We are planning to be there again in a week's time and will definitely be eating there on at least two or three occasions if not more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    137
    25
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this nugget of a restaurant in an area where we would expect less, due to its "kiss me quick" image!"
The Seafood Rissotto was absolutely fantastic, every mouthful was stuffed with fish!! I would return there just for that!!
The decor is pleasing to the eye and the staff very attentive.
My only complaint was due to a very rare hot evening in the UK the restaurant was uncomfortable, the aircon unit at the back just didn't reach all the tables! Luckily this would be a rare problem with our climate!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RussB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Brilliant restaurant to visit. very warm welcome feeling.Brilliant staff. The food is outstanding!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cassiewood1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“3 and half stars...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Better than average but does not quite reach very good. I ordered the slow cooked steak with shallots, cherry tomatoes, and cinnamon flavoured sauce. It was exactly as described and tasty. The salad it came with was tired and had too much cucumber for my liking. The chips were very average. My wife had the chicken breast with spinach and mozzarella (Chicken Athena) and it was better than average but the potatoes it came with and the salad did not make the grade. £25 for just the meals with no drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris c, Owner at Olive Garden, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were only able to rate us at 3 and a half. We do strive for excellence with every meal and every component of the meal.
As you can see from the majority of our reviews we usually achieve this. Please be assured though, that we are not complacent and take every critique very seriously.

I do appreciate your constructive criticism and will endeavour to improve the items that you have highlighted as being below par.

Kind regards

Chris Chryssafi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly and yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Wanted somewhere for our evening meal that wasn't 'tacky' and we found it. Lovely atmosphere, yummy food and good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindajselvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing