We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Columbia Taverna

Columbia Taverna
Ranked #43 of 334 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Great Yarmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I love the Columbia. My favourite place to eat on special occasions.
Lovely place. Lovely wine lovely food.
Staff so helpful without being a pain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tre w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    51
    21
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had 2 meals here during our week stay in yarmouth .We found the staff very helpfull,the food great and felt we were back in Cyprus.Would recommend the meze,which we could not evan finish

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyH231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ordinary food & Ordinary Service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Perhaps not being a fan of Greek food colours my opinions on this one, but I think I'm being fair when I say that overall, this was an ordinary meal with ordinary service quality.
On arrival, we were greeted after standing around over 5mins - not a great start. The menu itself was pretty limited I would say and when the food arrived; presentation was a bit on the rough and ready side...
Trying to pay at the end of the night was a challenge - the card machine would not work and it took 15minutes to sort out.
Nothing about this experience was 'awful', but nothing was particularly good either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonios P, Owner at Columbia Taverna, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to review us on Trip Advisor.

Firstly please accept our most sincere apologies for the wait you experienced to be greeted upon your arrival at Columbia Taverna & also the technical issue with our Credit Card machine - both unacceptable.

Secondly, having studied our menu options, we have 32 starter choices, 30 main course options - not including our Greek Meze, which gives you a mixture of 20 dishes, plus the option of 15 different side order options - all of the above locally sourced where possible.

Could I ask, in your opinion, what we could further add to the menu to make it less limited?

We're very keen to use your feedback to resolve any issues we have at Columbia Taverna, so any replies to the above question would be greatly appreciated.

We really hope your able to give us a second opportunity to visit us sometime in the future. Please do let me know if you do as we're really keen for you to experience the "REAL" Columbia experience.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Antonios @ Columbia Taverna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great food again”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I took my son and future daughter in law to the Columbia as they had recently returned from a holiday on a greek island and enjoyed the food. We have been numerous times before and have always had a delicious meal and this time was no different. We all enjoyed our different meals and the staff were very efficient and helpful as usual. Would highly recommend again to anyone looking for superb greek food in a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tina289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

First time and will certainly be back, great food, service, staff and ambience. Feels like you are in Greece, now my number 1 restaurant. Food hot and full of flavour, great value for money

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueGary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Taverna also viewed

 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Columbia Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing