We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem of a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yankee Traveller

Yankee Traveller
Ranked #57 of 324 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Little gem of a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

First visit and I wasn't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Seated and served very quickly and the food arrived soon after, even though the place was packed ! Couldn't fault the place, food, service, staff. Will be returning soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamsarnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    90
    33
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner and Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lovely cocktails (very strong) and excellent food. Everything came out quickly and the staff were lovely.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kalee_Jeckyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great yarmouth
1 review
“cold burgers for supper”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

our family (5 of us) thought we would try yankee traveller on a sunday instead of our usual sunday roast. on arrival it appeared quite busy with lots of familys with nice amosphere, not having booked in advance they said they could accomodate us but we only had table for 1 hour which suited us. we ordered drinks & food all of us had a burger meal with fries except 1 of us who had" BITES" food arrived with short delay on 1 which had the bites. none of our burgers were any where near hot including the late arrival with bites which was actually cold & the bites looked & tasted like charcoal this was sent back to reheat? also ordered another coke which when it arrived was obviously completely flat! service was extremely poor & non commited. when upon paying i mentioned the poor quality of food & drink to be answered with OK & that was it! it will certainly be along long time before we think about going back if ever.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heather l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, although let down by customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Depending on which waitress's are on sometimes the service is a little rushed and make you feel like your 'in the way', most of the time the atmosphere is lovely, the food is absolutely fantastic, definately my favourite place to eat in Yarmouth

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherylteaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Large group pre christmas lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

When we arrived the place was really busy but I thought it added to the atmosphere, we were shown to the bar for a drink before we ate and the bar area is seperated from the eating area which I like that.
Our group was a group of 12 and we all had a starter and main meal some even managed a desert but dont ask me how as the portions are very big.
The food all came out more or less at the same time with a few corn on the cobs being forgotten but other than that the service was good.
It has a great atmosphere and i thik you could go in a group or just as a couple or family.
Worth a visit and will go back but not for a while as i need to lose the extra pounds that I added over christmas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yankee Traveller also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Yankee Traveller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing