We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY SUPERB!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafood Restaurant

Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 324 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As a family business, we take pride in the food and experience we offer. We've been running The Seafood Restaurant for over 37 years. During that time we've learnt what our customers like and work hard to deliver just that. All the fish served at the Seafood Restaurant is fresh. Where possible, we will always use local fish - and we've used the same local fishmonger for over 30 years, so we know what we're getting! As a result our menu is always changing and the fish dishes move with the seasons. Steaks are available for non fish eaters, plus vegetarians. We understand and cater for people with dietary requirements.
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“SIMPLY SUPERB!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently reviewed the Seafood Restaurant and gave it a glowing report because our meal was excellent - we revisited last week because we were attending the nearby racecourse and decided to take some friends who love seafood. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their lunch, rating it 10/10. Between us we had two lobster thermidore, one garlic grilled lobster, one turbot and a scampi provencal. We received the warmest of welcomes from Chris & Miriam who are quite clearly passionate about the food they present and the service they offer. This restaurant is really terrific and if you get the chance to go there don't hesitate. We all loved it!! Thanks so much - we will be back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princesslexi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    29
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a night il never forget for the wrong reasons”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

went to the seafood restaraunt with my girlfriend for her birthday although it was expensive it was a treat as we were staying in yarmouth for 2 nights.
ordered qeenscallops and bacon, and king prawns in chili and coconut with a mango sauce .
the king prawns were very nice but my partner said the scallops were very greasy so i ate them then we had lobster in garlic butter and lobster thermadore with a side salad this to was very nice the total bill with drinks was £113.00 which was i thaught very expensive we left a very small tip as we found out the staff dont get to keep them.
3 hours later i woke with amazing stomach pains and was continuously sick and had the runs until 4.30am i never thought i would get food poisening in such an expensive restaraunt and it totally ruined our 2 day stay

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again a perfect evening in paradise”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our third visit to this little slice of heaven. After our first visit we simply cannot visit Great Yarmouth without paying Chris and Miriam a visit. We are always greeted with a warm welcome and are remembered from our previous visits which means a lot to us.

The food is simply the best we have ever eaten and the freshest too!. Every course was perfect and cooked with finesse and skill which is lacking in most restaurants these days.

A perfect visit from start to finish and another visit we will never forget.

Thanks again Chris and Miriam, we will hopefully be back next year and cannot wait!


(P.S. You must try Chris's tartar sauce and home made chocolates, absolutely superb!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank darke2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Shines like a diamond in the town...”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

One of the biggest problems with Great Yarmouth (and many other British seaside towns) is that in the 1970's when everybody was escaping to the Costa del Sol for cheap package holidays, it did not reinvest in itself and consequently started to decline.

Ironically, that is when the owners arrived in the UK from Cyprus after the Turkish invasion and over the years they have built a seafood restaurant that rivals anything that can be found in Padstow!

My wife, rather unambitiously chose the melon for starters, but my son plumped for Prawn Cocktail, which he declared to be full of succulent and very tasty prawns, whilst I went for the Taramasalata...and it was just like I remembered it from all those early years visiting the Greek islands and Cyprus... utterly delicious - I could have done with another pitta bread, but it just meant I had to spread it more thickly!

Main course saw my wife share her Scallops in Lobster sauce with our son and both declared them to be utterly scrumptious and I went for the king of fish... Turbot in a herb butter sauce, which was exquisite and the assorted vegetables that were served (as an extra) were cooked to perfection.

Dessert found me tempted by the recommendation of Chris' home-baked American style cheesecake, which can be rather heavy if not cooked well, but this was as light as the proverbial feather and deliciously unctuous as well!

The wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced, the service prompt, efficient and always with a friendly smile... and the whole experience was wonderful.

It will make a return trip to the town a certainty, for if we had not found this gem of a restaurant, I fear it would have been a long time before we returned to Great Yarmouth!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Medvedjornak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Welcome, Hot Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel very welcome. It was like walking into a dear friend's house for a meal. After perusing the menus over a pleasant drink in the bar, we were shown to our table by the exceedingly warm and friendly owner where we had the most exquisite meal you could imagine. A delicate balance of flavours, none dominating the rest, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully in very pleasant and intimate surroundings. I cannot think of a single negative thing to write. Not one. Perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_and_Paul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing