We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great great great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andover House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Andover House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great great great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great hotel in a beautiful building. Very welcoming. Great rooms, great bar, didn't eat there but menu looked good too. 1 minutes walk to the seafront. Would recommend and def stay again if in Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damopants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your perfectly put review about us! Come back soon and try out the food. Have a fantastic Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    69
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
248
7
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Myself and 2 colleagues stayed at the Andover for one night. On arrival we were very tired and all our luggage was carried to our rooms. The staff were amazing and we had a quiet drink in a very relaxed bar. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and very very clean. The hotel is 100 yards from sea front so great location.
We eat in the restaurant that night and all our meals were of the highest standard, Simon the chef is a rare talent and very passionate about his food. Breakfast the next day was of the same standard.
I would have to rate the Andover as five star an experience i look forward to repeating on my next trip from Wales.

Room Tip: Front facing lovely view over street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbevan4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Simply love your review about us! Thank you so much. Chef Simon was delighted to get a little mention :-) Really hope you do come back for more, best wishes and Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at Andover House for 2 nights with my boyfriend, the staff were exceptional - friendly, extremely accommodating and they genuinely want to ensure you enjoy your stay.

The food was seriously delicious, the choices of wines by the bottle and glass were good at very reasonable prices.

The shower was hot, the bed comfortable and the street quiet. Parking was easy, as there are bays outside.

The building itself was rather lovely, with stylish decor. They played great background music in the bar and dining areas too.

Overall my entire experience was fantastic and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We really appreciate your comments about the staff, wine selection and background music. All the little things count as much as the vital things that a hotel can not do without! Finally, yes... our staff love nothing more than ensuring everyone has a great stay in Great Yarmouth. Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went away for a couple of days to celebrate partners birthday .Found this hotel on bookings.com and could find nothing to fault it rooms were spotless ,staff helpful ,lovely and quiet short distance to beach .Had a fantastic couple of days and looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: we chose a suite a little bit extra in price but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
When you visit next time, BOOK DIRECTLY through us for better prices. Booking.com is more expensive! Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found this cracking hotel last year, and have stayed twice since, this weekend we visited again and the service and food were fantastic, if you want to be spoilt and eat fine food in Great Yarmouth this is the place, no children screaming and running, just lovely and quiet,

We would recommend to all, but then we might not be able to get a room for our next visit!!

Room Tip: The suites are good value, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBSCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Your comments did put a smile on my face :-) It was superb catching up with so many regular guests this Summer. We hope to see you all again soon! Very best wishes to you and thank you for returning to Andover House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms were nice, the breakfast was good, but the service was fantastic. Everyone working there was good at what they were doing, they were fast at doing it, everything was well presented, they didn't mind, in fact were eager to, go out of their way to help (they went out specially to buy a cucumber for my gin&tonic because they were out!) and were generally just very nice to talk to!

Apart from the staff, the breakfast was excellent, and the whole place LOOKED nice too. Fresh and well decorated. My room was quite small (room 14), but adequate for what I was needing. A comfortable bed, wifi and a good shower.

I just hope there are rooms next time I'm back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am so pleased you mention room 14. As a 'small' double, it does do what it is supposed to do. Even though all of our rooms are fairly new, very clean and fresh, I have some plans for a few rooms to upgrade the decor once again and number 14 is one of my most exciting projects!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, a stone's throw from the seafront yet a lovely tranquil setting. A very warm welcome from the staff and the service throughout our stay was excellent. The building has been very tastefully restored in a modern style yet retaining its character. The rooms comfortable with top quality bedding. A very nice ambience in the bar, serving top quality drinks at reasonable prices. Continental breakfast very good. Could not fault it. Will definitely return. Had a wonderful stay. Thank you to all the team at Andover House, job well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Suze Q! I personally think you should have a job in writing reviews as it was beautifully written. Many thanks for taking time out to write about us, it really does mean a lot to little family run businesses like ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
21.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andover House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andover House Hotel

Property: Andover House Hotel
Address: 28-30 Camperdown, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andover House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andover House is an intimate, endearing small hotel and restaurant, located on a beautiful tree lined avenue close to the seafront and business hub of Great Yarmouth. Inspired for those over 13, the restaurant serves stunning food, at fair prices, with service befitting the setting. An intimate, contemporary atmosphere with a welcoming, homely charm. The en-suite hotel rooms have everything needed when away from home; amazingly comfortable beds, big HD televisions showing Sky Sports and homemade biscuits to nibble on with a cup of tea. The shower rooms are small but we hope we make up for it in other ways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Andover House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andover House Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing