We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,355)
Filter reviews
1,355 results
Traveler rating
516
359
206
114
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
516
359
206
114
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reedcutters restaurant food outlets falcon caravan on site swimming pool partridge shellfish holiday park games room entertainment team next year kebab puppet show crazy golf great holiday touring caravan fish and chips
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,355 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We booked an Easter break here for the family thinking the location would be good and that we would have a great time. How wrong we were. Parking was very random and all over the place but thankfully we managed to squeeze next to our caravan. It was quite difficult to get in though as there were cars parked everywhere. The site seemed very overbooked - there were people everywhere and it felt very crowded at times and not the safest of places either. The first afternoon we looked around and stopped at the bar area outside the restaurant. The tables were full of empty plates and glasses and there were lots of groups of drunk adults around. So far the only positive was that the caravan was clean. That evening we ate in the restaurant but they were very understaffed, tables were filthy, the wait was long and the food dreadful. That evening in the entertainment area it was crammed full of people, the queue for the bar was about 20 minutes and there were loads of drunk people everywhere- bearing in mind this is a family area. The language was awful coming from children as well as adults and my children heard several things I’m not happy with.
The following day we spent off the park and upon returning took the children to the evening entertainment. Much of the same with people dancing on the tables, glasses everywhere and not a suitable place to take the kids. I was planning on complaining but had heard from others that nothing was done about their complaints. Lots of fighting, eggs being thrown at caravans and general disorder and when security were called apparently they were of no help! We actually saw police and heard they had been called out because of fights. The noise throughout the night was also disturbing, lots of people shouting and partying whilst we were trying to sleep. On the Sunday morning we went to breakfast in the restaurant but they had run out of eggs even though the shop next door was full of them. When we told them this they said they had to go elsewhere because of cost. We did explain that surely they would keep customers happier by just getting some from the shop but they didn’t seem bothered. The list goes on and we had just had enough so left a day early. Upon returning home I emailed parkdean but their response was the usual bog standard I’m sorry. There were a few bigger issues which I mentioned and they didn’t seem concerned even though the site is aimed at families. Some things we saw deeply concerned us but Park Dean didn’t appear bothered. They said they would ask Vauxhall to contact me directly, but of course this hasn’t happened. Will not return to a Park Dean site let alone Vauxhall again. Totally appalled.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank melge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRService, Guest Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review.

We're sorry your recent stay with us didn't meet expectations, we do encourage holiday guests to raise any concerns with a member of the team during their stay so we can try and rectify these issues.

Please be assured your feedback has been shared with Management for review. We can confirm the police did make an appearance, but this was only as a precaution due to it being a busy bank holiday.

We're saddened you would not return for a future holiday with us.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

Perfect location for a family get away, my two children found plenty to keep them occupied on site (teenage boy especially hard to please) and there was enough for us to do all together as a family too. Plenty of choice for food and superb entertainment every evening, my 6 yr old was on the dance floor the whole night! Caravan was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed, even the beds were comfortable! Great staff, especially the man on the gate and at the bike hire. The whole park is buzzing with activity and very clean and modern whilst maintaining the feel of a relaxed family holiday camp. Added bonus of location with supermarkets and restaurants within walking distance and Great Yarmouth right on the doorstep this really is an ideal place for a family break, will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRService, Guest Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Hi Kate,

Thanks for your 5* review.

We're so pleased to read you had such a fantastic holiday, creating amazing memories with your family!

We hope to see you again soon :-)

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Our first visit to this site and we stayed in a chalet. Very clean, comfy, warm and everything we needed. First night we made the mistake of eating in the restaurant. Arrived at 6.15, dinner served at 7.15, no warning on this. When we ordered pudding (1 chocolate brownie) we were told it would be served straight away. 20 mins later we had to chase the order. It wasn't even busy!!
Security on the gate was good and other staff probably need a lesson from these guys on how to be friendly and welcoming. The swimming pool wasn't that busy, we used it on Monday at check out time which worked well.
The arcades are full of choice and kept clean. Never used the bar or V venue.
All in all a good base for a family seaside break and I would return.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 980fayef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRService, Guest Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for your review.

We're sorry to hear about the long wait for your dessert, we hope this didn't take much longer, and we will be sure to share your feedback with our Restaurant Manager.

We're pleased overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in future.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Me and my family have been there twice this year, once for a weekend, and just came back from a mid week break just before Easter. The facilities on the park are varied and good. Great pool, nice evening entertainment and a choice of 3 bars, lots of take away food places, especially like the seafood shop. My only criticisms are that the food outlets including the on site restaurant take a while to deliver your food. We waited nearly an hour for breakfast one morning, but when it arrived it was nice and the staff were apologised, so really not a problem. I could not fault the staff, everyone was very nice and helpful. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, you will be disappointed, as it is not (nore does it claim to be) that. If you want a good fun break with your family, I would recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRService, Guest Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Hi Tom,

Thanks for your lovely review.

We will be sure to share your comments in relation to the long wait for breakfast with our Restaurant Manager.

We hope you and your family had a lovely holiday, and we hope to see you again in future.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

We spent a lovely weekend at Vauxhall last year so thought we would return with our daughter,son in law and grandchildren this year for the Easter break.
On a positive weather was lovely but thats about the last one I can give. We had a Mandarin van which is a larger one with 4 bedrooms. When we got to the van there was absolutely no parking available, it had one space at the end which had been used by the next van and no grass around it for a car. My husband managed to get hold of a staff member who went around rearranging cars to give us one space and we had to park the other car half in the road. All the other vans seemed to have 2 spaces except van 220 so avoid this van if you can.
Next thing was the site was heaving with people from the Traveller community. My daughter got a mouthful of abuse from a younger traveller when she took our young grandaughter to soft play. Not nice and security seem very reluctant to intervene, other people were complaining about loud late night music and swearing which again went unchecked by Vauxhall security.
Now onto Reedcutters restaurant, we ate in their on 3 occassions. The 1st went well and the food arrived in a decent time and was nice however by Easter Sunday everything had deteriorated. We went in to have breakfast and were informed they had no eggs even though the shop next door had a shelf full. Another holiday maker was complaining and was told they had to go into Great Yarmouth to get the eggs from a wholesaler as the ones on site were too dear. That may be so but what about your customers Vauxhall? We then were a party of 10 in the evening trying to get a dinner, the list was endless, carvery meat run out so a few pies had been put out. Only 1 curry available from menu, no fish pie,no lasagne, no mac and cheese, no vanilla ice cream the list went on and on. Tables were filthy, littered with dirty plates and glasses all the time we were in there.
The club house was noisy and packed but we did get a seat. Entertainment was OK, wait at the bar about 10 minutes.
Would we return? An emphatic NO!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank babsflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRService, Guest Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review.

We're sorry to hear that your recent stay with us didn't live up to previous expectations, with regards to parking, not all holiday homes come with their own private parking space, however, holiday homes that do, we would advise there is enough space for one car.

We're disappointed to hear about your experience in our restaurant, we have shared your feedback with the Restaurant Manager for review, as we can understand how frustrating it can be when so many items are out of stock.

We're saddened you will not be returning for a future stay with us.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews