We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just got back from a 7 day holiday with Alfa, staying at the New Beach Hotel Great Yarmouth. The hotel looks appeared a little tired and quite honestly grotty on the outside. This is due to the night club being closed. Apparently Alfa have purchased the property and intend to incorporate it into the hotel as the main dining room. Our room was on the top floor under the tower turret clean and comfortable with excellent views over the sea front and pier area. The food was good (except the pork sausage at breakfast) and our waitress Angelika who has a memory to equal The Memory man was brilliant. Ben the manager was effervescent and very good at his job. Jo on reception was always on the ball and a mine of local information. Evening entertainment was very good and not over the top. There was an evening trip to Gorleston Pavilion Theatre on the Tuesday evening to see a variety show, this must be the best show that Pat and I have seen for many a year. But the star award must go to Kate who ran the bar and organised the biddys bingo, she was great and we nicknamed her KKK Katie KKK Katie to the tune of the well known song. I hope the review will help other holiday makers to choose this hotel. Unlike Shearings there are radiators in the bathrooms for the cold weather.

Room Tip: Everybody says its noisy at the front, but its a good spot so you have to put up with a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    50
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
65
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I recently spent five days on a Coach holiday staying at the New Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth which turned out to be good value for money spent. The staff were very friendly the food was a lot better than I expected with various choices at each meal. The entertainment in the evenings was quite good if u did not fancy going out to one of the shows on offer. The only downside that I found was on a Friday and Saturday evening or I should say the early hours of the morning because of the noise that Teenagers made when coming out of the theatre at the end of the pier. But all in all I found the Hotel very pleasant and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Sea views r worth the extra cash for the view but u may get a little noise in the early hours of Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheshireBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I got a nice single room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. It had a nice shower with plenty of hot water, the service was great and the meals were very nice and staff very friendly. The only thing I didn't like in the hotel was the doors slamming when the kitchen staff were doing their jobs in the morniing.

Room Tip: Try & get a quiet one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

we have just had week stay here with alfa travel.It was the best holiday we have had with alfa.Hotel ,trips,location could not find one fault to pick on.Staff were great and did all they could to make stay a good one.we will be going back here.well done all at new beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lin14-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Most uncomfortable bed ever, hot stuffy room,heard ever single sound from outside and room next door as walls are paper thin. Cant comment on breakfast as havent eaten it.The room decor is stuck in the seventys, no duvet, you get a blanket! The location is central and thats the only decent thing i can say about the hotel. No i would not recommend this place or stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kad990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited Great Yarmouth for a music event over the May bank holiday and for what we needed this hotel was ideal. The rooms were very small but they were clean and comfortable. Its is very noisy so if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs the doors slam and in the mornings this can be constant and irritating after a late night! Only an hour slot for breakfast 8-9am. The hotel is right on the sea front, perfect location and the staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_soulheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from yet another enjoyable Alfa coach holiday, this time to the New Beach Hotel Great Yarmouth.
The staff were amazing, very friendly and hard working. Special thanks to our lovely waitress Kristina who grew in confidence as the week went on mastering the language and the art of carrying various meals. My friend and I were on table 14.

The food was extremely good and my gluten free friend had a full weeks menu personally discussed and adapted by the lovely chef.
On arrival my room was extremely hot but within a short time of mentioning this to the lady on reception the radiator was adjusted.
Very comfortable tv/lounge area....enjoyed playing Scrabble.
The only slight annoyance was the noise from the lift machinery and fire door banging directly outside room 41 however due to all the fresh air, food, walking and lovely comfy bed I wasnt kept awake too long.
Thanks also to our driver Chris.
Brilliant few days

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishBoltonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Beach Hotel

Property: The New Beach Hotel
Address: 67 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Great Yarmouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Beach Hotel - Great Yarmouth (3 Alpha grading - AA 3 Star)Superbly situated in Great Yarmouth's most central and lively location, directly opposite Britannia Pier and a short walk from the shops. Currently undergoing a major refurbishment which increased the bedrooms to 95 by early summer 2016, all with central heating and private bath or shower and WC, tea/coffee making facilities, internal telephone, hair dryer and Freeview TV. From 2016 all public areas are located on the ground floor including a quiet lounge and a new bar lounge, both overlooking the sea front and a new restaurant and entertainment room where entertainment is provided most evenings. Free WiFi in public areas. Two lifts serve most rooms. On street car parking can be arranged at no extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The New Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Beach Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing