We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Christmas in seventy five years”
Review of The Sea Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sea Princess
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
slough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Christmas in seventy five years”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Ours was a 5 day stay for the Christmas break 2013. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in all the 75 years of my life. The food was obviously from the basics range of a nearby supermarket and served up without any imagination whatsoever. The table for Christmas dinner lacked any sort of festive dressing and could have been a table at any roadside cafe at any time of year. The dinner itself consisted of two potatoes that were boiled or roasted, I couldn't tell, two slices of turkey and something that may have been stuffing,a hand full of of brussel sprouts,some diced boiled parsnips,half a small sausage with bacon round it and a small yorkshire that was so hard it was it wasn't worth the effort, most if not all came from a budget range of frozen food and was poorly prepared. Before the meal ended we walked out and went to a nearby pub for a proper meal and dined there for the rest of our stay. Unfortunately we were there with a coach party and couldn't go home.I had paid £80 pounds extra to upgrade our room and were given room 24, a cramped tired room with the wash basin in the bedroom the shower in what at first I took to be a broom cupboard and the toilet in a room facing the beach with no curtains. How they got a fire certificate I just don't know,I couldn't see any fire precaution notices and the corridors are like a rabbit warren.In conclusion, a few words of advice, Abandon hope all ye who have booked at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anberSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    87
    71
    64
    150
See reviews for
89
240
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went to Hadleigh Gables on coach trip from Monday 30th Dec untill 2nd Jan. Our room was small bottom of bed 2ft away from radiator and wall, plus the sink in corner of room. Toilet and shower were adequate. It was a very clean room . decent carpet, duvet and top pillow cases matched the curtains which matched a large cushion of same material placed in the centre of the pillows.
The staff were very helpful. Especially Caroline who worked at the bar. If you wanted anything they would get it for for you. including fresh milk ,t-bags etc. You only had to ask. Yes the manager was also the chef and I think he was very adept at doing both jobs. There was a menu for dinner with 3 choices. Breakfast was orange juice, cereal , full English . toast marmalade tea coffee. If you wanted a little less or more food, again you only had to ask. Yes they ran out of beer and we had cans, bottles or spirits instead. The entertainment for the three nights was very good. On the third night just after the entertainment started there was a power cut that affected the whole street. The manager /chef came round with large candles for everyone. Because of the power cut there was no music etc The girl who was doing the entertainment began to downloaded tunes from her ipad , put it at full volume and she and the guest were singing along to the tunes. On New Years day , on the notice board it said there would be high tea in the afternoon. Sandwiches, sausage rolls, chicken pieces, biscuits chocolates and large cream. chocolate and plain cakes. Dinner new years day was served with a large glass of wine with the complements of the hotel. Regarding the 2 bad reviews were these people at the same hotel as us ? Or was a 5star hotel expected for the cost of a 2/3 star hotel. You get what you pay for. I can honestly say I have been on a few coach/ hotel trips and this hotel is one of the better ones.

Room Tip: Our room was 25. A good clean modern room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is terrible,on arriving mid-day New Years Eve for a 2 night stay, (a party of 10) we were told they had run out of beer !!!!! so only had a small amount left after which sold us warm bottles then out came the cans.No ice was available for the spirits.Rooms were very basic,the shower in our room was disgusting with black mould all round bottom of tray.Curtains hanging off,towels rock hard,milk in room out of date.Management non existence - was not interested.Would never go back ever.Roger St.Ives

Room Tip: do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roger r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A party of 10 of us arrived New Year's Eve. Hotel rooms very poor dating back to1950's. Tiny, dated shower full of mould and toilet squeezed into side of room with old sliding door. Sink stood in bedroom.Furniture just about standing! Carpets old and disgusting. Milk for tea provided but out of date. Everything about this hotel is done on the cheap. Breakfast not worth a visit. On New Year's Eve and the following day there was no beer in the 6 pumps at the bar, only warm tins available. No ice for drinks and cheapest of lemonade (flat) given. Manager (Chef) - he can't seem to decide which, was not bothered about how disorganised everything was or about our complaints. No remedy to the situation was offered. AVOID THIS HOTEL - IF YOU WANT TO ENJOY YOURSELF. We will not be staying here again - EVER!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It is very basic anc the decor in the hotel is incredibly tired!! Car parking is another confusing ordeal, which makes you wish you didn't bring the car! Breakfast was boring and bland and really not worth it!! In fact, the whole stay is not worth bearing! The road which this particular hotel is situated on, is covered in hotels. For an extra £10, you can stay at a genuinely lovely hotel, without any hassel!! I recommend you to pursue this idea

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

just got back spent Christmas in this place cold room bad food ignorant manager save your money stay at home.If their were new management and new staf a few bob spent it could be a nice hotel but the manager is a skint flint cheap cheap cheap

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ileeylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we had a weekend away for my birthday there were 9 of us all ladies it was a harry shaw trip We stayed 1 night I had a family room as I was sharing with two other ladies It was a good size room very warm but we ended up putting my daughter-in-law and her mum in the same room as us, as there room was cold & damp , it was ok for one night

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Princess

Property: The Sea Princess
Address: 6-7 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1ED, England (Formerly Hadleigh Gables Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sea Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a warm welcome at this sea front hotel. Family run, we have 40 bedrooms all en-suite 4 of them have disabled friendly wet room showers and balconies overlooking wellesley park. We can cater for coach parties or individuals. Special diets etc. with at least 4 nights live entertainment you dont have to go far to enjoy yourselves. We have a new lift to all floors please give us a try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Sea Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadleigh Gables Great Yarmouth
The Sea Princess Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing