We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kev and bo found it comfortable and friendly”
Review of Blenheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blenheim Hotel
Ranked #47 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
great yarmouth
1 review
“kev and bo found it comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

on arrival we met martin, he was friendly and accomodating, we turned up on the spur of the moment and luckily they had a cancellation,denese took payment and details,she was very nice and helpful.
Our room was comfortable and clean and smelt fresh, we also had a spacious ensuite which was also very clean.
we had a tv and also tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Cereal and juice at breakfast, lots of tea/coffee followed by an english breakfast which was good and not greasy, martin served this each morning with his usual humour.
Its only a couple of minutes walk to the pier and to the giftshops and very close to the nightclub/pubs, outside is highly decorated by beautiful hanging baskets and window boxes which definately brighten up outside.
we also met their sons who were also as lovely.
martin and denese have a great place and are brilliant to run it, keep it going and let us know if you move!!
we will definately come back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stallion9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENSIMP, owner at Blenheim Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
sorry the blenheim was not to your expectations !!! i have told the cleaners to pull out all bedside cabinets etc when they clean the rooms, you did mention about the plug socket , and if you remember "it was fixed straight away" when this was mentioned to the cleaners they did say that morning they forgot to tell us [,they had knocked it with the hoover] I think our other reviews which are from some of our other guests ,[tell what the Blenheim is really like !!!! i am quite shocked really as you seemed to have really enjoyed yourselves,and were great fun in the dining room and bar , And we were still laughing with the other guests the rest of the week about the talc joke ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    56
    15
    9
    14
See reviews for
117
130
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at the Blenheim and had a pleasent stay, the owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome instantly. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The hotel is very attractive from the outside and is ideally located approx 1min from the beach and other attractions. However at night time we found sleeping difficult in the rooms located at the front of the hotel due to noise of surrounding pubs and clubs The rooms were basic and tired looking but very clean with fresh towels and coffee/tea making facilities topped up daily. The communal toilet was cleaned daily but towards the end of the day could be quite foisty. This hotel is exactly what we expected from Great Yarmouth very friendly but basic you could do alot worse.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talliehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Blenheim hotel for 5 nights, the hotel is situated one minute walk to the pier & 1 minute to the high street, they have a wonderful display of flower on the front of the hotel making it stand out from the rest in the street ,we found no fault in the rooms at all, very clean & comfortable bed, also the service at breakfast was first class ,Martin has a great sense of humour & had me in tears laughing from the first day, Denese spends most of her time in the kitchen & office, we arrived strangers & left friends , I can honestly say I would reccomend this hotel, the owners really go out of their way to make your stay special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANIE1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I booked a double en-suite room for myself and my neice for 2 nights. We were "greeted" on our arrival by a bare chested man who smelt strongly of alcohol. He gave us our room key and explained how to get to our room (no. 6). I was amazed to find that inside was the worlds smallest double bed (it looked like a showroom bed used to display duvets etc!) Even though this was pushed up against a wall and the "wardrobe" you could not walk comfortably around in the room due to lack of space. The area by the window was taken up by a shower cubicle and sink which was not screened from the bed area at all and there was no toilet in the room despite the booking being for en-suite.

The AA rating they have recieved is a mystery given that there criteria for a 3 star hotel requires en-suite facilities to be seperate from the bed area! Although the room was basically clean, this was mainly, I think due to heavy use of bleech! Certainly the inside of the coffee cups in the room smelt very strongly of chemicals. The ceiling over the shower cubicle looked damp through lack of proper ventilation.
Given that the cost of the room was £60 a night, we did not feel that this was at all adequate, so we left. Our exit was past a small group of men who were drinking and swearing outside the front door, one of whom appeared to be the owner that we met on arrival.

I am amazed to read so many positive reviews of this hotel, and note that when anyone has made a negative comment, the owners response is to in some way blame the guest! I unfortunately had prebooked through another third party and the money was non-refundable. In no way would this hotel have offered value for money and I feel ripped off to have spent money such a lot on so little!
The hotel information tells of recent "refurbishment" but we saw absolutely no evidence of any areas where this would have been. They also pride themselves on the guests " leaving as friends". I would have settled for a room as advertised and a little more professionalism.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodlenet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENSIMP, owner at Blenheim Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
I would like to apologise for my husband not having a shirt on when you arrived.The reason for this was he had just watered the flowers at the front of the hotel [and some of them are quite high up]and his shirt got soaking wet
And when you arrived he was at the front ,and did not have enough time to put another one on[not wanting to be rude ]spoke to you politely and gave you your keys and directed you to your room to settle in "then come down to sign in"
You seemed happy and were laughing!!
As for him smelling of alcohol, he had previously been over the front to play a game of golf with a guest , and on the way back "they had a pint"
Obviously you was not happy with your room ,When you made the reservation it clearly states exactly what is in the room when you booked online, and if you check your confirmation letter [That wiil confirm what you had in the room ,and that is what you booked]
With the AA it does not mean you only get a grading if you have only full double en-suite rooms ,And when you booked online it did not say the room was en-suite [it states a shower only on the room That shower in that room does have obscured screens and their are curtains in the room
The smell you said of chemicals in the cups[i cannot understand] because all our cups etc goes into the dishwasher
The smell of bleach!! well we do bleach all our showers,sinks,baths,toilets[for hygiene reasons] so that was bleach you could smell
Obviously you was not happy with your room ,but this was the room you chose .You could of upgraded online [when you booked ]or if you had spoke to us we would of upgraded you to a full double en-suite room with separate bathroom and toilet in the room
As for the workers we had doing some work for us "and you hearing them swearing" [I can only apologise] I have complained to the company and wont be using them again
I only wish you had spoke to me before you left .As you can see from our other reviews ,we try to make our guests stay with us as comfortable as we can
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendaruel
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was so lucky, not knowing the area, to choose to stay two nights at the Blenheim at very short notice.
Martin and Denice were excellent hosts who went out of their way to make my stay very memorable and most comfortable. I can't thank them enough.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GlendaruelMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

This hotel is described on it's website as a family run establishment. We were greeted by a man with no top on, and who smelt strongly of alcohol. He gave us our room key and told us to get comfy in our room, then to come back down and sign in. The building smelt of cigarettes despite the rooms having no smoking signs.We found our room and it was awful. The "double" bed (which was no where near a double!) was too soft and very uncomfortable. The website says all standard double rooms are ensuit. There was a shower in the room... next to the window (!!) with no curtain/screen to pull round for dignity purposes. The room also had a sink but no toilet. The pictures on the hotels website give a completely false impression of what to expect. The room we stayed in was more like a box room with a shower and a bed shoved in. The man who greeted us was sat outside the front of the hotel smoking and drinking with two other men. A man the hotel had hired to do some work on the building was swearing loudly on his phone. This was not an acceptable room or acceptable service for the price we payed, we left the same day and found other accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkntwosugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I decided to book the Blenheim having read reviews on trip advisor. I wasn't disappointed. One of the reasons for booking was we had heard so much about Martins stories that i had to travel 120 miles to hear them for myself !!
You cannot miss the hotel because it is decorated in the most gorgeous flowers outside, upon entering is the check in desk, two rooms, one with a bar and lounge with large screen TV, the other a breakfast room. In fact both rooms cater for breakfast. Both rooms decorated to a good standard. Denise and Martins kitchen is at the back of the hallway, the stairs are on a couple of levels, my advice is, if you have family members with walking difficulties then this isn't the place for you as the stairs can be quite steep.

To put my view forward having read other reviews, i wanted to say that when you book please state to Denise that you would like a full en - suite (with a loo), not all rooms have a toilet. If booking through a travel agent/ or off the internet you may find that you do not get the full en - suite, so please check or telephone the hotel to check.
My family were in room one. This was situated at the top of the first section of stairs. When opening the door the bed which i think possibly is a 3/4 bed (not sure of this?) a sink, wardrobe etc and quite a big bathroom, toilet/bath and a shower over the bath and bidet. Nice bathroom with shower gels and shampoo etc. Nice fresh towels and bed linen. A TV was in the room and coffee/tea making facilities. A communal toilet was outside the room but with no wash basin to wash your hands. So i recommend you buy some hand gel for this purpose.

My room was room 7, i had the choice of room one and room 7. Although my family had the better decorated room, i chose my room because the bedroom was located further back. When opening the door, you were met with the bathroom and next door a separate toilet. We didn't have a separate shower, but to be honest i prefer baths anyway. It did however have a shower spray to wash your hair. Plenty of shower gel, soap and shampoo. Fresh towels and bed linen, and coffee/tea facilities which were replaced daily. We had enough room to do what we wanted to do. A portable TV was placed on the dressing table. If you would like to hire or use a hair dryer then Denise would be quite willing to let you have one on request.
We had a bigger bed than room one, well it seemed bigger anyway, our room was up a few steps higher than my family. We also had bed side tables and lights, plenty of light in fact. This room i felt is a bit older than the other room, but saying this, it certainly was not a problem to us, and we would certainly stay in this room again. Very clean and tidy.

I wanted to clear something up on a previous comment, the Blenheim is a hotel and not B and B. it is a small family run business so it may seem as if it is but isn't. Otherwise it would state B & B etc.
The breakfasts are very nice, normally delivered by Martin and who says that men cannot multi task ? He was like a juggler in the morning and still throwing in a joke or two.
Cereals, orange juice, tea/coffee. fried bread/bacon/egg/tomatoes and beans with plenty of toast on offer. If you want more or less, Martin will gander down to his wee wife and get some more. Blink and you may miss her, you need stilts darling x Our Denise is so little but a heart of gold.
A nice little bar which opens from early evening for a few hours, this is where the jokes come out in their entirety. If you have a drink he has not got, don't worry Martin will try and get it for you.
We sat outside a few nights with the owners and the boys (twins), Denise and Martins daughter in law and grand-daughter. We all had a good laugh and a drink.

The location is second to none, straight through the tiny road and it leads out to the theatre on the pier, the other way is 10 seconds to the shops on Regent.
It maybe our first and last time to the Blenheim because Denise and Martin are hopeful in a move to another hotel in a quieter area with all en-suite rooms, so watch this space. If anyone reads this review and you are a regular to this hotel, please do not worry, emails or letters will be sent out to all guests to inform them of the new address. Hopefully they will stay NO1 in the ratings, i do not doubt for a minute they wont be.

So to some up, a lovely quaint hotel with equally lovely people running it and in a great location.

Behind the hotel is a free communal car park so my advice is get there as soon as you can, otherwise you will need a parking permit from the owners which costs £5 for 3 days to park in any Zone A or outside the hotel.

When we come to GY again, we shall be back as we were entertained none stop and Martin is such a character he could easily have a spot over the road at the theatre as a stand up comedian, when you meet him, ask him to tell you about the 99 brick joke, its hilarious !!!
Denise works really hard as well and for that we bought them both a bouquet of flowers in recognition of our appreciation.

See you again soon me old geezers.
Michelle and Sam xx

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derwentrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cleasewood
The Cleasewood
#8 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#54 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms
Twin Palms
#25 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Hotel

Property: Blenheim Hotel
Address: 58 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blenheim Hotel,is a victorian terraced establishment,and is located in a prime location for those[ visiting great yarmouth],and wish to be in the heart of it all.We are located 50yds from the sea front,restaurants,arcades,shops,and our golden mile beach is just across the road.We are a family run establishment and have successfully been running the Blenheim for the past 14 years, and was one of the first Hotels to be on tripadvisor ,before they became so well known like they are today.Now there has been so many more b&bs and Hotels for Great Yarmouth added to the sight .But we was one of the first and our genuine reviews go back a long time ,and the Blenheim has only got better over the years.As you can see by our apdated photos.Our aim is to make our guests stay with us an enjoyable experience and our motto is arrive a guest depart a friend And there is many friends we have who keep returning year after year We have also achieved our certificates of excellence on trip advisor , and look forward to achieving the same in the future ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Blenheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing