We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not believe the poor reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #39 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do not believe the poor reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose this hotel as they are dog friendly but we are so happy we stayed here. From the moment we arrived, the staff could not do enough to ensure that our stay was excellent. Our room was comfortable, with en suite shower, the sink was in the main bedroom but this was not an issue. The breakfast was excellent & the variety good. We ate in the hotel on one occasion & the food was good. Staff & other guests welcomed our dog Persie & so he could be with us, they served our meals in their bar- we were very pleased with this arrangement.
The hotel is directly in front of the Waterways Venetian park and is a 10 minute stroll into Great Yarmouth. The staff & owners run a friendly hotel where I believe they put the guest at the centre of what they do, will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank persie127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay. We try extremely hard to provide good quality service and traditional sincere hospitality. Having just celebrated 10 years we care about existing and future guests. It's great to hear all of the lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon - and your dog of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    90
    78
    41
    16
See reviews for
83
164
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on 26th june 2013, the staff were great, helpful and polite. Breakfast was nice. Cleanliness was good.

i have 1 issue with the shower/bath , water wasnt coming out right, which was a disappointment as i nor the family could shower properly, however they did come anf fix the issue as soon as i told.

these things should be part of a regular maintainance and checkup.

i did find the price a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As you stated the problem was reported at 9.30 and fixed by 10.00am We do have a permanent member of staff on maintenance and respond extremely quickly to any issues a guest might have. As for the value if you check out all internet booking sites you will see we are always extremely competitive within our category of guest accommodation and pride ourselves on great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is very difficult to determine if this is supposed to be a Hotel or Guest House -- on the property the sign states Kensington Hotel, some websites also refer to it as a Hotel, the credit card payment receipt states The Kensington Hotel, the dinner menu is for the Kensington Hotel but when guests give it a poor review the owner replies by stating " they are graded 4 star guest accommodation which is not the same as a 4 star Hotel " Maybe the grading structure for the UK needs to be reviewed as this accommodation in my opinion is definitely - not 4 star. On arrival after cc payment I was asked if a VAT receipt was required - why ?? Reception area and stairs to first floor really dark with creaking floor boards. Room door and frame on the outside was all brown paint or varnish -chipped and scratched. Inside bedroom was nice and bright -- maybe recently decorated as they even painted the edge of the carpet the same colour as the skirting board. The shower was useless - no water pressure. Evening dinner was poor quality and bland in appearance but I must agree with other reviews that the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately the grading system is sometimes confusing. We clearly state that we are a guest accommodation and this point has been addressed in previous reviews As far as the sign is concerned, as a concession to premises owners the signs were allowed to stay for the life of the sign if they had just been purchased. The premises themselves undergo constant refreshment and refurbishment but obviously it is more difficult to do corridor areas whilst they are in constant use. All of the ground floor areas have been undated and guests have been extremely complementary about this aspect of the business. Any issues related to shower pressure, food are anything else are dealt with immediately if reported at the time. It is very difficult to rectify issues if they are not known about. We care deeply about our business and making guests feel extremely welcome and in providing a product which is of a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stokestaffs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Kensington 17/6/13, 2 single rooms. Very comfortable rooms, staff helpful and polite both in the evening and at breakfast. breakfast OK with plenty choice of cereals, Fruit and juices. Full English served to your table nice but not to plentiful. would not hesitate to stop again in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank stokeStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you felt comfortable. Just a note about breakfast. Guests are welcome to ask for extra items at breakfast, Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in January just got round to writing a review,the room was clean and tidy the breakfast was good the staff were pleasant .It was quite a walk into town not to bothered by that even though it was snowing , would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the weather did not put you off. We are of course open all year and have some excellent discounted rates out of season so you might like to check us out again. We have many positive comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms but it is always lovely to receive feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff were very good although a bit quick to ask for payment , breakfast was just passable , didnt eat in in the evening so cant comment on the dinner , but hope it was hotter than the breakfast , now to the room , booking form said we had booked a Superior Double Room with sea view , flat screen TV , free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom ,we may well have had the first three ( sea view , TV , Wi-Fi ,) but a shower and toilet in a tiled broom cupboard , admittedly in the room , and a handbasin in the opposite corner of the room , right next to the window , so that you had no privacy and had to draw the curtains to use the sink or you had an audience walking along Yarmouth front is definitely not a bathroom .
Cleanliness was mediocre , cobwebs , stains on the cushions and throw on the bed and the hoover didnt seem to work properly
In my opinion definitely not a 4star .

Room Tip: If they give you Room 3 see before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review your feedback is appreciated. I am extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your room as many guests find the views of the seafront extremely pleasing and unspoilt. Any issues which occur if reported to a member of staff are usually resolved quickly. We have a very high number of repeat guests who stand testimony to the care and attention we try to pay to comfort and high quality guest experience. We are, as stated on all booking sites, a four star guest accommodation which is of course different from a hotel. Our rooms are fully compliant with this grading. We have a wide range of rooms including larger rooms with full bathroom facilities depending on availability. Rooms in all hotels are designed differently and one well known chain has been specifically built and designed to include screened washbasin facilities in the bedroom itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here in may. Staff friendly quick to take money. Rooms old fashioned cobwebs and if you are unlucky enough to have ground floor room you will not sleep as you hear every footstep from upstairs. Booked for meal for 8pm still waiting at 9.40 and then informed oven as broken. Definitely not award winning breakfast was cold greasy. Needs serious money to be spent if they arevgoing to continue to charge rates of decent hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gennstone1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taunton House
Taunton House
#6 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 29 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the prettiest parts of the seafront overlooking the illuminated Venetian waterways and rock gardens, the Kensington with its stunning sea views is the ideal choice.Set in its own well kept grounds with ample parking, it is opposite the golden sandy beach. The Britannia Pier and the Golden Mile are only a short stroll away.Tastefully decorated in a traditional style, the Kensington has recently undergone a major refurbishment programme. All of the 26 bedrooms are individually designed and furnished to give maximum comfort and many have superb sea views. The premises has no step access to the restaurant, bar and function room. There is a ramp to the front of the property and an accessibility statement is available. Wheelchairs can be accommodated in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Kensington Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing