We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan. Gainsborough”
Review of The Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hamilton
Ranked #54 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alan. Gainsborough”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only good things we found at this hotel was the stair lifts too our room was good as my partner is an invalid and also an excellent breakfast. However our holiday was ruined due to the fact when I rang them I specially asked for a sea view room as a special treat for my partner after a serious illness and was allocated room no. 20 which looked a lovely room overlooking the sea front on the internet and just right for us but when we arrived we had been given another room no.18 which turned out to be a family room totally unsuitable for us with no sea view unless we twist our necks round and it overlooked a pensioners room in the rest home next door. I had to climb over the bed to get in an out. As I couldn't find the manager who was there to sign us in and only finding out who the management was the night before we left to complain I felt very let down.No explanation was given and I don't think the owners really cared. I do not recommend this hotel and we most certainly WILL not be stopping there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review. We are owner run and with few exceptions, we are always available - just push the bell on reception! We have a number of Superior rooms, some direct sea view, some side sea on the front corner of the building. We care passionately that all our guest have a good stay with us. In this case, regrettably our guests did not speak with us so we were unaware of any dissatisfaction with their room and therefore not able to offer alternative accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    43
    28
    17
See reviews for
37
128
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

room was abit small for a family ,no mirror in room and had problem opening the built in wordrobe .the breakfast was lovely when asked for extra bacon etc they were happy to provide ,we also had extra smocked haddock which was tasty,the young lady was very cheerful and friendly,over all room was clean but pillows and beding and rooms smelt like a residential home,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review. Its good to know you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. We take on board a couple of small points for the room which we will make sure are resolved. Good to know you all enjoyed breakfast at The Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in(room 1) was a lovely room.the only downside was it was on the ground floor and people passing by could see straight into the room. It could possibly do with blinds fitting to provide some privacy. Over all we can highly recommend this hotel if your after a nice comfortable quiet stay in Yarmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markh19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review and your kind words. You mention blinds for the rooms which some of our other guest have also mentioned - it will happen! Other that that, its good to know you had a good stay and do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful very good location and excellent breakfast I would not rank this as a 4* hotel but very good value for money and we would stay there again.Just one more downside was the rooms are a bit on the small size

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAndLoraine, Manager at The Hamilton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review and kind words. If we could just clarify that we are a four star guest accommodation and not a four star hotel. Four star guest accommodation is similar to three star hotel but not so formal. Once again, many thanks for your review and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went to great yarmouth for the nightlife with my friend. we stayed in a small double room with this hotel. The staff are extremly friendly, and helped with our enquires, and even went to the trouble of contacting people outside this hotel for the better clubs/bars with directions. Would totally recommed this hotel and also breakfast was brilliant. Wish we had a longer stay. The bed was extremly comfy and room was very clean. Its in a great location close to sea and piers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAndLoraine, Manager at The Hamilton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind words. It sounds like you had a really great time end enjoyed some of the Great Yarmouth night life - something for everyone! Nice to hear the accommodation was good and do hope to welcome you back to The Hamilton sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me and my partner had a short stay here at he beginning of July as we wanted a break from work before the busy summer holidays were upon us, we chose this hotel because of it's AA 4star rating and all the good reviews we were shown on the website we booked with (laterooms) When we arrived the lady who greeted us was very friendly and took us to our room which was a struggle up 4 flights of stairs that were overtaken by huge stair lifts getting our bags past them was a miracle, when we got to the room we were instantly disappointed, it was dirty and smelled of wet paint, we had several spiders keeping us company on the ceiling. My partner went to hang the towel on the towel rail and the thing fell off the wall. the cups and spoons were dirty and it was just overall unpleasant. we had no welcome pack or local information, nor did we have information as to fire exits. we spent as much time as possible away from the hotel that day and when we did return had an uncomfortable nights sleep. we got up for breakfast at 8 30 and the dining room was already full, the lady who greeted us when we arrived again greeted us for breakfast and it became clear she was working alone, she told us to help ourselves to the items on the table and she would be with us shortly to take our order, the table was bare! the drinks and milk and cereal had all gone and there was nobody to replenish it so we sat down empty handed. our order was taken around 30mins later by a miserable boy who appeared to be the chef, we could see everybody in the room was getting annoyed at the terrible service but you can't blame the staff as there was just the two of them doing absolutely everything. we ordered scrambled eggs and tea and coffee, we sat for around another half an hour before we were served our food, for some reason they had messed around with the "presentation" so much that in an attempt to cut off the crusts to make it look pretty they cut half the slice off! it was terrible, we left and did not return! we will never trust an AA Star rating again that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From outside, the hotel looked quite nice. It is situated in a quiet area overlooking the sea. Going into the hotel it goes down hill. Whilst walking to the hotel's reception, we had to dodge the docker ends as the smoking area is situated outside the ramp which you cannot avoid to gain entry into the hotel!! Then there is the none existent reception area. We weren't introduced by the owner (?) and they struggled to find the booking until someone came out of the back with a key to the room. We were informed where the dining room, bar and another sitting area could be found, but not shown. We did not have to fill in a booking-in form. We were told where the room could be found (not shown). This is supposed to be a family room but a small double would be a better use of this room, snug is a good word to describe it, between the double and single bed you could just get a bedside cabinet. The wardrobe or cupboard was a tight squeeze behind the door but you could only open one door the other was limited. There was no mirror in the room. The shower room had nowhere to put toiletries. There was no welcome pack or any information regarding fire escape routes. There were tea/coffee facilities, but just the minimum.
At breakfast you are fine if Miss Sunshine is working, she is bright cheerful and very friendly. The food is nice, but heaven help if you are big eater as the portions are small. Tea comes in a pot, but coffee is served by the cup and you have to keep asking for more!!
The car park at the back could do with a tidy up getting rid off the mattress and old cupboards. A half hearted attempt at a sitting area but it is next to the bins.
Not sure how the rating system works with this being 4 stars . This is the first time that we have come away from a break without knowing the names of the owners!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
514 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#13 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gorleston-on-Sea
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Property: The Hamilton
Address: 23-24 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing