We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome.”
Review of The Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hamilton
Ranked #55 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 11 August till 13th.was met by a lovely owner called Lorraine,very officiant on checking in and making us feel at home although we was a party of 9.had a few small issues with some rooms but was quickly rectified once we spoke to owners.all in all we had a lovely stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leemoz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for The Hamilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked four rooms through booking.com. I received a telephone call a few days late from the Proprietor Lorraine explaining the rooms we had selected via the website had already been allocated. Lorraine was friendly & helpful and offered us alternative rooms which we agreed at a lesser prices than what had been agreed.
It was easy to park at the hotel, check-in ok and allocated our rooms straight away. Unfortunately, having gone to the room, one of the party got bleach on her top from the sink leaving a white stain. We informed the staff & Lorraine who gladly offered compensation for the blouse. Another member of the party wasn't happy with the cleanliness of the room and again mentioned it to the proprietors who went to sort the issue out. Some of our rooms was facing the sea with lovely views, the other rooms faced recreational ground at the rear over the kitchen. Theses rooms seemed to get extremley hot even with the windows wide open but the weather was exceptional warm when we stayed. Unfortunately, one evening, a group of teenagers decided to set up camp behind the hotel singing rather loudly & drinking but luckily we were going out so wasn't too affected by it for too long!
The rooms are ok, TV, Wifi, hairdryer, hot shower etc.the only negative would be house-keeping for example, the curtain had come of the runner (I put it back up as 2 minute job) while fixing curtain, noticed the window & corners of the ceiling & light shade dusty with cobwebs. I also placed my case on top of the wardbrobe, unfortunately it came down full of dust, duvet cover had iron mark! Cleaned well the rooms would be good not just ok.
Bar & dining area nicely decorated, modern, breakfast good with very friendly staff. Hotel near to all attractions, beach, shopping etc. Overall enjoyed our visit to Grt Yarmouth

Room Tip: sea views are worth asking for
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Arrived early Thursday 9th August, Went in and asked if any rooms still available as had seen the night before that they had rooms on late rooms.com,I was greeted by the owner Loraine whom was very friendly and advised me that they only had a family room for the two nights which we wanted to stay and would do this room at a good price, i asked to see the room but the clients had not checked out so i could not, Loraine could not apologise enough that she was unable to show me a room. I felt a ease with Loraine as she is really friendly,myself having worked in customer services for the last 21 years. The hotel is clean and our room was clean and serviceable. The housekeeper is really friendly too, as we stopped to chat to Loraine and her one morning,The breakfast were good and plenty. Thank you for a lovely stay hope to see you again one day.Sandra

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longeatontigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Booked this very last minute so got the room at a very special rate through lateroom.com
When we arrived at the hotel the check in was very quick.We were given all the necessary information and given our room keys.We were on the top floor.the double bedroom was small but adequate for our needs.The room had complimentary wi-fi whch was quite nice to have.The bed was very comfortable
The breakfast was very good and the staff were very polite and service very good.Lots of choice for breakfast.
The location was right on the seafront with only a short walk to all amentities.Would definately stay again and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Room clean and tidy. En suite very small . No good to anyone over 13 stone. Two broken tiles on floor. Very poor evening meal. Very good breakfast. Poor service in the bar at night. How did it get AA 4*?.

Room Tip: Can you trust AA*
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzy760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmmy35, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Many thanks for your review. If you had spoken to us, we would have moved you room with a larger en suite. The broken tiles we will investigate. We pride ourselves on our food and are most disappointed you did not mention any problems with your evening meal during your stay. All ingredients are sourced locally and cooked freshly to order hence the numerous compliments received. We do not have dedicated bar staff, but are always on hand to welcome our guests and serve drinks as required.
Kind regards
David & Loraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as a couple for a family get-together in the local area. The B&B is in a good location on the seafront and about 15mins walk from the main seafront attraction areas. The room we had was probably a family room due to one double/one single bed (we were allocated a different room from the one we hade booked due to someone not leaving) with very basic funishings and an en-suite shower room which was a bit tired and a very small shower cubicle! However everything worked, the water was hot and an OK pressure, and the room was clean and the bed was not uncomfortable although it squeeked and creaked like mad! Despite it being a warm day the radiator was on-full-blast when we arrived so clearly not a particularly environmentally-minded place. The lock on the door was very stiff and awkward to open. The stairways are very narrow due to the installation of stair lifts and are difficult with bags. The room was above the kitchen, the extractor fan is very noisy and woke us up and the curtains did not block out any daylight at all - so take an eye mask if this would bother you. The breakfast was mediocre - my husband had the full english which has a decent size but salty, there was a small selection of creals, toast and the fresh fruit was limited to grapefruit and prunes. The milk was left out in a jug and not particuarly cold, and although there were two jugs it was not clear if they were different (eg semi/full cream or soya). There is carparking - out the back there are a lot of trees and a lot of seagulls so I recommend parking in front. The proprietor of the place was a rather nosy lady who could not take a hint that we did not want to go in to minute details about what we were doing in Great Yarmouth, how long we were in the area, and how we were going to fill our day. She was also really pushy that we should book ourselves in for Sunday Roast (this was at breakfast) at the B&B. This really put us off the place and due to her we probably wouldn't want to stay here again - not everybody wants to talk and mind your own business was on the tip of my tounge most of the time, even when we eventually told her part of the trip was to scatter a relatives ashes she did not stop asking questions or passing comment! The check-in and check out process seemed somewhat disorganised and whilst they have "gone computerised" there seemed to be a lack of ability to use it and we never did really get a proper receipt for the bill although she was happy to take our word for it that we had paid half in advance to reserve and had half to pay on departure. All in all I have rated this as poor as the website dresses this place up to be much better than it really is. It wasn't really bad and I have stayed in worse but how they got a AA 4* mystifies me - I would have been really disappointed if I had been here longer or I had chosen it for a holiday as such.

Room Tip: Avoid the one above the kitchen. Rooms at the front look out to sea.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmmy35, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear reviewer
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking to improve our service to our guests. We will investigate the squeaky bed and agree, the heating should not be on if not required. We installed stair lifts to assist our less able guests and most would view this in a very positive light. We do offer our guests assistance with their luggage if required. With regard to breakfast, almost all our guests are very satisfied and we receive may compliments. If anything is not to a guest’s satisfaction, please do mention this at the time as we can then speak with our suppliers. As a final comment, we are noted for our hospitality, friendly attention to our guests and, we do try to make our guests aware of our evening meal service. That is just the way we are, and in this case may be the guest would prefer the more formal approach of a 4* hotel as opposed to a 4* guest accommodation.
David & Loraine - proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Myself and my partner and young son had the recent misfortune to spend a night here. It was booked after looking on the internet site which was extremly misleading. The reason I booked was due to the fact it had undergone a recent refurb and had been awarded a AA 4*.

We stayed in a family room which I had booked so we had a spacious room. What a disapointment, our hearts sank when were where shown our room. The carpet was threadbare, a mismatch of poor quality furniture, bare stark walls, very pokey with no hanging space whatsoever. The ensuite bathroom and bedroom where in desperate need of updating and need of T.L.C. It was as comfortable as a room you would find in a hostel.

My 3yr old jumped up on his bed and promptly opened the window wide open and was leaning out to a 2 storey drop below, much to our horror!. The latch had no safety catch on it and this is an accident waiting to happen. The beds were very uncomfortable and very poor quality mattresses and cheap thin lumpy duvets.

The walls were paper thin and we were woken to constant noise all night long. To top it all we were woken again to the extractor fan noisly rumbling below us at 7.30am. I felt more like I had stayed in a hostel rather than a Guest house. We didn't stay for breakfast but left pronto!. Beware if you are thinking of booking here, think again. I wouldn't let my dog stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelly45160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmmy35, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear reviewer
Dear Reviewer
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking to improve our service to our guests. We will investigate window catch as we appreciate that children are by their nature inquisitive. From the review, we know that this room has new carpet, adequate wardrobe space and is quite recently decorated. We have owned our guest accommodation since 2010 so we know that none of our beds are poor quality. We can only apologise if other guests near to this room were noisy. If we know, we can take the appropriate action. We appreciate the reviewer in their words left “pronto” as (if we are correct) considerable additional housekeeping and expense was required to bring the room back to an acceptable standard.
David & Loraine - proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#9 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#39 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#63 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellesley Park Hotel
Wellesley Park Hotel
#47 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#12 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Guest House
Spindrift Guest House
#19 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Address: 23-24 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $69 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing