We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An hour in the nick!

We were a family adult group of 4 and we all enjoyed this visit. Very interesting, and good to be... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2018
Tom B
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Interesting

We visited today as it was raining, and wanted indoor things to do! The place is interesting, with... read more

Reviewed July 29, 2018
Lea H
via mobile
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
31
17
4
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
17
4
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beyond the call of duty well worth a visit staff were helpful children aged little gem prison dolls history eerie punishment reminder activity voucher
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We were a family adult group of 4 and we all enjoyed this visit. Very interesting, and good to be given examples from the past of crimes and their punishments. The historical references to Great Yarmouth were good. The prison cells really brought home the nightmare it must have been to have received a custodial sentence in those times. Only criticism is the absence of wheelchair access.

Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Admin Assistant at Tolhouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Hello,
Many thanks for your feedback and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and insight into the lives of prisoners in the past.
Wheelchair access is available but has to be booked in advance as it requires an extra member of staff to operate the lift to the different levels of the museum. Please telephone in advance if visiting again and we will be happy to arrange this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Typical English early September as it was dull, windy and showery so we were seeking inside interests. As this place had some good feedback we made the effort to visit it. It may be good if you go with children or you are local hence it may be more of interest to you but we were distinctly underwhelmed and have seen far more interesting sites. Only positive was it was during a free entry weekend as it definitely wasn't worth paying for.

Thank barbaravR8412NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Admin Assistant at Tolhouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Hello, many thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear of your disappointment on visiting the museum.
The Tolhouse Gaol is one of our smaller sites in Norfolk Museums Service and recommended visit length is up to 1 hour.
We do rely on admission income to keep the museum open but are able to offer free entry for Heritage Open Days each year and which coincided with your visit.
We are making small updates to the displays as funds allow and for next year will be installing some replica death heads which we hope will make an interesting addition to the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. As did the children - 2 aged 9 and 1 aged 3. Really interesting little place. The cells were everyone’s favourite. Really eerie and chilly. You can get a real sense of the time and place. All the information given is really interesting and there’s opportunities for children to dress up and a trail they can do as well. The man working there couldn’t have been more helpful. He gave us a brief history of the place and answered all the questions we had. Nice to see places like this kept going. Highly recommend if you’re in the area but would advise checking to see if it’s open first. People on here were complaining that they visited the place and it was closed but the website clearly tells you the days and times it’s open.

Thank Wafflebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

The lovely old museum is a little diamond of a place, located fairly close to the town itself, but surrounded by social decline. The lady who greeted us went above and beyond the call of duty, accommodating my children with activity sheets and plenty of smiles, really making this a visit to remember........and sweets were given out in return for completed question sheet. There were lots of informative placards retelling real people’s stories of prison experiences and punishments given in days gone by. Interactive activities for the younger visitor, who can gain access free of charge with a CU passport. All in all a positive experience young or old. Keep up the good work!

Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

A most informative picture of Great Yarmouth as it was

Basically there is a lot here that you did not know

1  Thank JethrotheMutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Went to visit while on holiday two weeks ago with my husband but was disapointed the building was all locked up .we are going back to great yarmouth in October so hoping it will be open as it looks really interesting keeping my fingers crossed .

Thank shirleyphillips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Admin Assistant at Tolhouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Many thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear of your disappointment at being unable to access the Tolhouse Museum during your recent holiday.

Due to funding cuts over the years, we have had to limit the opening dates of the Tolhouse to mainly school holidays and other special events.

In October we will be open from 18 to 28 October (closed Saturdays) - if your visit falls outside of these dates we may be able to arrange a mutually convenient time to open the museum for you if you get in touch in advance via email. We have successfully done this for other visitors from out of town in the past and this offer is always open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We visited today as it was raining, and wanted indoor things to do! The place is interesting, with plenty of facts to read on. The gaol cells were good, although I expected the place to be a little bigger.
Average entry price, would visit again

Thank Lea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

The children were really looking forward to visiting the gaol but it was closed dispite it being advertised as open.

1  Thank gems262018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Admin Assistant at Tolhouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Hello,
Many thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear that you were unable to access the museum during your visit.

Due to funding cuts over the years we have had to limit the opening dates for the museum to school holidays and other special events. This summer we will be open from 25 July to 9 September daily.

All opening dates are posted at the beginning of the year on Norfolk Museums Service and Museums Norfolk websites and our social media accounts. We have no control over external websites publishing details of opening, however if you have spotted a mistake somewhere please let us know and we will request a correction.

If you don't live locally and are visiting the area again when the museum is closed - please get in touch and we will see if we can sort out a mutually convenient time to open the site for you. We have done this for visitors in the past and the offer is always open.

We do hope you enjoyed your visit to Great Yarmouth and managed to see some of the other wonderful heritage sites in the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

While on holiday in Great Yarmouth my wife and I tried to visit this attraction but found it all locked up .Apparently it's only open during school holidays.It seems that no one except school children are allowed to see inside,not a good advertisement for the town.Not everybody visits during school holidays.

1  Thank milmicfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Admin Assistant at Tolhouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Hello,
Many thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear of your disappointment at being unable to visit the Tolhouse Museum during visit to Great Yarmouth.
Due to funding cuts we have had to change the opening dates and hours of the museum over the last few years and limit it to mainly school holidays and special event days.
If you are visiting Great Yarmouth again, during dates when the Tolhouse Museum is closed, and would like to visit - please contact us in advance to see if we can arrange a mutually convenient time to open the site for you. We have successfully done this a few times in the last couple of years for visitors from out of town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

We visited at the end of May and really enjoyed it! Well worth a visit! The cells are actually quite eerie but fascinating at the same time. We actually captured something interesting too on one of our photos we took! We will definitely visit again.

Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews