We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Furzedown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furzedown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have used this hotel on many occasions both business and pleasure and have always had a warm welcome from the staff. Rooms are comfy and well equipped and always clean and fresh. The bar is well stocked and reasonably priced and the restaurant serves good food. Breakfast starts at a good time for getting out for business or to go holiday'ing! and a good choice too. Staff always well presented and most polite and friendly. Would (and will) be staying here again.

Room Tip: Sea views are always nice but can be a bit noisy from the road in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chappers2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    88
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
103
132
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We always stay at this hotel every September. The room is always lovely and clean and the staff are great and so friendly. We have already booked for next year. The breakfast is especially nice always hot and plenty of choice. The hotel is quite central and easy walking distance to the main shops and bars. The Furzedown is a lovely hotel for either a short break or like ourselves a weeks stay.

From Pauline and Mick Ely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the furze down hotel last week for 2 nights as I was working in a Great Yarmouth. I found this hotel to be excellent with friendly, welcoming staff & lovely food. The hotel is in a perfect location & the rooms are comfortable & clean. I will definitely be returning to the Furzedown hotel with my family. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b'ham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we stayed for three nights atthe Furzedown, we had a very relaxing stay, the room was very nice, and we could see the the sea from our window, the room was clean with comfy beds, and free internet, the staff were exceptionally helpful, food was lovely, the Furzedown is one of the few hotels that has outside seating, which was an added bonus, we were able to sit outside in the evening ,with a bottle of wine, watching the sea and people who passed by, we were very fortunate with the weather, blazing sunshine and glorious sunsets. The hotel offered us a much needed break, from a past -stressful workload, I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing break, the staff spoil you, allowing guests to choose their own pace, I was so tired I missed breakfast, but when I did arise 11am!! I was given coffee and toast,F.O.A. while i sat outside in the sun , reading my book, I was so pleased with the staff's concern, that I was ok and rested, .If I have one quibble, it would be for comfier seating outside, also the traffic starts early, but you have the sea view, (traffic is not he hotels fault), thanks to all staff for a great stay, x sally x

Room Tip: Sea view, =traffic noise, but we had the window open all night, .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally123B_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What can I say about the Furzdown Hotel other than it being excellent in every way. The rooms were immaculate and inviting, the staff were extremely efficient, friendly and welcoming, the wedding reception we were attending was incredibly well organised with fabulous food. All in all we had a wonderful stay and can't thank Paul and Lisa enough. This place is definitely on the list to pay a return visit too. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fantastic food, fantastic hosts and fantastic hotel. We have just had our wedding reception here, and the hosts were very very helpful an d nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were spotless. This hotel is very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Rude arrogant staff and they were the owners!!! Bar shut food way below 3 star standard rude sweary offshore workers watching tv and being loud.overpriced and mix and match decor looks like it's done on the cheap.wont be coming back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furzedown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzedown Hotel

Property: Furzedown Hotel
Address: 19/20 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzedown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furzedown Hotel as been owned by the Garrod family for over 50 years. We have 20 newly refurbished bedrooms. All bedrooms have en-suite with bath & shower. All bedrooms have freeview flatscrren tv's, tea making facilites, direct dial telephone and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Furzedown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzedown Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing