We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“furzedown hotel”
Review of Furzedown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furzedown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is placed in a very nice are near to the sea, the breakfast could be improved by adding a buffet rather than a full English breakfast since you have to pay for all of it even if you don't want all of it. the staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious enough, the beds were comfortable and clean. very happy overall

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 412 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great family run hotel which is right on the seafront and not far from the town centre . The hotel has its own private car park at the rear of the hotel with access down the side of the hotel , my only criticism is the access and car parking is a bit tight.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nimrod100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We used the hotel 4 a long service lunch. From start 2 finish the whole team @ the hotel could not do enough 4 us. Everything was very well planned & ran without a hitch. Customer service was excellent. Buffet lunch was really good. What else can I say but well done 2 the whole team & we will hopefully see u all next year when we do it all again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just go there. Best hotel in the area. Wonderful food, friendly people, lovely rooms. They went out of their way to help with our wifi etc. will definitely be going back. They were wonderful. The hotel was in the quieter part of the main drag in Gt Yarmouth so no disturbance at night. You won't go hungry there that's for sure.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were quite sad to leave.

Maggie and Ian Ramsden

Room Tip: We had a twin bedded room and it had a sea view. Brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed an extre night, as this was such a lovely hotel. Clean, tidy, friendly, welcoming and also dog friendly!
Had the kippers for breakfast for another morning......so delicious, cooked to perfection!
Will hopefully be returning here again very soon.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great family run hotel, friendly with an excellent cooked and continental breakfast. However, I found the bed to be too hard for my liking and awoke with discomfort in my gluteus maximus which I put down to the hard bed as I know that's what happens if I sleep on too hard a mattress. Secondly, the parking behind the hotel is challenge if driving anything other than a very small car. With just 6 inches to spare on either side of the drive there is no room for error. What was even more frustrating (my wife guided me in by getting outside of the car and indicating if I was on the straight and narrow, literally) when we got to the back of the hotel there were NO spaces available and we had to repeat the process to get out - 30 meters of tight drive way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was not our type of hotel, but we needed to be in Yarmouth and it had good trip advisor reviews. Easy to find on the sea front north of the town, there is an adequate car park at the rear, though the access track may be too narrow for some of the larger chelsea tractor type vehicles.
There was a function on when we arrived at about 16:00, and our reception was brusque as the member of staff needed to get back to the do.
Our twin room on the first floor was small, but the beds were 4ft beds, and the room had everything we needed. the bathroom was a bit tired, as were the towels, but everything worked.
We had two good nights sleep and two good breakfasts. breakfast was freshly cooked, and service was excellent.
an all round good experience at a hotel that clearly knows what it is doing.
If I have to stay in Yarmouth again I would stay at the Furzedown.

Room Tip: I think rooms on the front may suffer from noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
607 reviews
3 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
617 reviews
0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furzedown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzedown Hotel

Address: 19/20 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzedown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furzedown Hotel as been owned by the Garrod family for over 50 years. We have 20 newly refurbished bedrooms. All bedrooms have en-suite with bath & shower. All bedrooms have freeview flatscrren tv's, tea making facilites, direct dial telephone and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Furzedown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzedown Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing