We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't praise it enough...but make sure you have enough room to enjoy so many courses”

Ambitions Training Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 334 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Price range: $16 - $51
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Can't praise it enough...but make sure you have enough room to enjoy so many courses”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We came across this restaurant simply as it is rated Number 1 restaurant in Great Yarmouth. We thought we would give it a try to end our holiday in the area. The ratings made us confident to book. We didn't realise that the booking is effectively for a five course meal with coffee or tea at an all inclusive price of £19 for dinner. The restaurant is easy to find and well signposted in the ground of Great Yarmouth College, with ample parking. It is modern and airy inside with a good atmosphere. Initially we were unsure what to expect, and we were greeted and told to sit in the waiting area near the bar before being offered drinks. After a little while we were shown to our table. We were given a basket of lovely breads, with olive oil and balsamic vinegar dips. This was followed by crudities, which were very good, but already we were beginning to feel full. My mushroom starter was excellent and my husband had a very fresh tasting pea soup with a deep fried boiled egg. For main I chose the lemon sole, which was large and very well cooked. My husband had the lamb shank. The vegetables were all tasty and well cooked. Then there was a pre-desert of apple meringue, followed by a choice of puddings. We chose the coconut panna cotta, followed by coffee. Phew!! The staff were all very friendly and attentive. We couldn't fault anything - a truly excellent meal and very good value for money. This place would suit people who appreciate good food and have a hearty appetite, to benefit from the quantity and quality of the food served.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank norfolkbeachside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Ambitions Training Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of Ambitions, we are all glad that you enjoyed your visit to us to us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambitions”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to ambitions. We were greeted at the door by a friendly young lady who let us in early out of the rain.
We sat in the lounge area and had a glass of wine. Reasonably priced for a lovely restaurant.
The students and staff members were all very friendly and made you feel welcome.
We were shown to our table which looked very professionally laid out.
We were given a basket with a variety of freshly baked bread and rolls. With balsamic vinegar and oil.
Then we were presented with canapes before our starters arrived. I had king prawns and my partner had chilly beef salad.
The mains came after the starters and were of excellent quality and quantity. Mediteranian chicken on a bed of roast veg. And beef and mushroom pudding. Then we also had green beans, cauliflour cheese, carrots, and potatoes. The food was well presented and very hot. All served by young friendly students. Who worked very hard to please everyone in the room. Their service was of a very high standard.
After our main courses we were given a pre-dessert of rum and raisin ice-cream with meringue.
Followed by our desserts of chocolate fondant and a trio of desserts. They were all delicious.
After the meal we had coffee and the chefs who had cooked our meals came out to meet every table individually. This was a really nice touch to the evening.
As a couple we would highly recommend a visit to Ambitions.
The restaurant was full. Book ahead because the standard of Ambitions has made it very popular. Before we left we went into the kitchens to have a look round.And had a chat with David. He should be very proud of such a success he has made of this excellent restaurant. We will definitely return. Well done to all involved. Thank you for a very relaxing evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank salarmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Ambitions Training Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Ambitions on your first visit to us. We are glade that you enjoyed your dining experience and all look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another amazing meal..”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just got home from another amazing meal at Ambitions. Chefs and tutors, your students are a real credit to you. Food was outstanding, front of house - could of been better but then we did have our daughter waiting on us!!!! Just kidding. Everyone works so hard, and look so happy, enjoying their roles. We would thoroughly recommend to everyone. X

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chookykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Ambitions Training Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your resent review of Ambitions, and your positive responses. I will pass on your comment to both the teaching team and students and look forward to you coming again when we open again at the end of September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

First time of visiting Ambitions & i was very surprised at the variety on offer on the menu, there was something for everyone...(plus a couple of small surprises thrown in). Great value for money & all the students try so hard to please. GREAT WORK GUYS!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorwichBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Ambitions Training Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glade that your first time visit was an enjoyable one and we will make sure your comments are passed on to both the students and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience !!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Ambitions well deserve there "Certificate of Excellence 2014."

My family and I have been many times (including my 40th birthday celebrations) and would recommend to anyone.

The food is of an excellent quality, the presentation is first class, the decor is relaxing, the students are all well guided by the tutors and the price is unbelievable. Canapes, starter,main course, pre-dessert, dessert and coffee all delivered to a very high standard.

Anyone choosing to visit this restaurant would be making an excellent choice !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Ambitions Training Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of Ambitions, we are glade that you and your family enjoy visiting Ambitions regularly and enjoy both the food and service. we hope you will visit us again after the summer break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambitions Training Restaurant also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Ambitions Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing