We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barking Smack

Barking Smack
Ranked #117 of 319 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The New Barking Smack Is Open For The 2014 Season Serving Real Ales, Lagers, Wine & Spirits. As Well As English & Chinese Cuisine. Families Welcome!!! (Please note from mid 2013 Bullitt Is no longer trading from the barking smack)
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came here for lunchtime bbq the service was excellent. My partners burger was delicious but i had the pork bagel and to be honest it wasn't that nice and certainly not worth the price.also a few more chips would be appreciated as it is quite an expensive lunch treat.will come again though to try the evening menu as it sounds lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisajane_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    45
    19
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Awesome food as always, great price, great quality great service, its all I expect from eating out. Don't just read about it, make sure you give it a shot! Good work guys

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stoneyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Successes has turned to arrogance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I came to this restaurant about four months ago. I wrote a review of my time and experience then. The difference between the two experiences couldn't be any more different. On this occasion my family didn't even get to eat any food, from stepping foot in the door the bar women was rude to my partner, the only reason this being as we changed tables. She would huff and puff and roll her eyes quite blatantly in my partners direction. This was unacceptable, there is nothing worse than being made to feel bad or uncomfortable when your spending your hard earned money while on holiday. The worst part was when I took my family into the back of the restaurant, now this was lunch time and I didn't know that the back room was closed to customers, there was no sign to say so. Any, a small grey haired man with glasses actually shouted full force at my girlfriend, it was unbelievable! The little man needs to learn some respect for not just customers but for women too. When it comes down to it I don't doubt that the food is still great, but their success has bred a rather nasty arrogance. Maybe these people were just having a bad day, still no excuse though. As a Chef and a business man, no one working for me would speak to my clients like that. Unacceptable and will not be coming back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome food, friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on here looking for a new place to try. The food was excellent and the service with a smile. I'd recommend the rum cider to anyone looking for something different and the Chorizo starter was nicely done. Will soon be returning try out the mammoth steaks!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aidy-underpressure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent value, tasty food, lovely service. Visit this place, makes Yarmouth great again. The burgers were so delicious and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkBoycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barking Smack also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Barking Smack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing