We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving”
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I booked my room via late rooms and paid a single rate but upon arrival at my room I found it to be a beautiful double bedroom with an additional single bed.... the room was a great size and had a huge flatscreen tv and lovely bathroom. The bed itself was very comfy and after I had adjusted the radiator the room was very comfortable but the cold shower in the morning with a trickle of water coming out from it was hugely disappointing as the room had obviously been decorated to a high standard.
The staff were very friendly and more than happy to assist they even opened the bar up for us again on the first night as it was quite early but no other guests were using it, the lady who worked in reception seemed to be there all the time and worked very hard she was an asset to the hotel but unfortunately some of the other members of staff didn't seem to know what they were doing which let the hotel down.
The breakfast room was nicely laid out but we found that the cups and saucers and some of the plates / cutlery were not clean and appeared to have been left out all night, the breakfast was nice with plenty of choice but unfortunately the water for the tea was luke warm and the coffee wasn't great either. We also found that the sausage was cooked the night before and re-heated and this gave us all stomach upsets once we worked out what had caused it!!
All in all this hotel is in a good location with parking for guests and has all the right facilities but quite a lot of things let it down so I think there needs to be a few changes made to bring it up to scratch but this could be easily done with some deep cleaning, freshly cooked breakfasts (perhaps pre ordered night before when hotel is quiet) and staff training.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor at the front appear to be the nicest but they will be noisy at weekends from p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanBoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    33
    26
    35
See reviews for
22
63
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

On arrival receptionist gave us our key, we went with our friend and went up in the quaint old fashion lift, we went to our room 201, it was in the back of the hotel, a small window which looked out onto a brick wall, with pigeon muck all over the window, we went to see our friend who had only booked his room earlier that day to find his room was lovely, 207, he had a double bed, single bed huge tv, and paid £20 quid less then us.
We went to reception and complained, they took us to 204 again the back with more brick walls and a roof with chairs on. Again we said no, after going to reception again and talking with Emma we were given room 210, it was a nice room, the following morning we had a shower first of all there was hardly any water then it was tepid.
Breakfast was full English but the sausage tasted like it had been cooked night before and reheated. It kept on repeating on us all
What looks like a lovely hotel from the front is a let down inside, the staff do try, but all seem very inexperienced

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My family and I have our Sunday carvery here every week. The food is fantastic, the portions are good and the veg, rosties and yorkies are always fresh and hot. The staff are always helpful and very friendly, my 7 year old son is always looked after well and loves his dinner and chocolate cake. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The staff were absolutely nice and helpful. The room was ok, but full of small little things that didn't work. Must avoid pub downstairs. The whole downstairs is smelly and not clean. But restaurant on first floor is nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PWTPWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went here for the carvery, the atmosphere in the room was dark and lit and dressed like a wedding reception... I couldn't even see my plate properly. The carvery food looked nice, but terribly presented, bringing mash potato out in a ice cream tub? No roast potatoes? The veg looked nice but were really hard, all tasted bland. The chef was rude as well and just didn't seem like he wanted to be there! The poor bar girl was on her first day with hardly any supervision so it took a long while to get drinks (no fault of her own). The dessert portion was tiny. Walking back out to the entrance it smelt of cigarette smoke really bad, it was unappealing, wouldn't return

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolacheese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

stayed at the star hotel on the 14/02/2014,when we got there every body was very friendly and helpful.nothing was to much trouble for the excellent staff,service was the best we have ever had and always with a smile,the meal we had there was excellent and and plenty on the plate,room was clean,warm and very smart,we will certainly be going back there and would recommend it to anyone.
thank you to all staff at the star hotel for making my wife and mine a perfect valentines night.

Room Tip: if you want one with a jacuzzi its room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 01chelsea2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here and found this beautiful well run hotel to be an absolute joy to stay in! The food is good, breakfast is delicious not one fault, staff are very friendly and extra helpful, will be back soon to sample more beautiful food and be in great company.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beautypie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Property: The Star Hotel
Address: 24 Hall Quay, Great Yarmouth NR30 1HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment. We hope to be shiny and new by Easter 17 and look forward to welcoming you back to Great Yarmouth's Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing