We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
503
152
42
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
503
152
42
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace restaurant cafe cru villa maria fish pie sea view stair lift trouser press sunday lunch this family run hotel lovely hotel tea tray third floor walk in shower kippers comfortable rooms family room sea front
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is nice but bringing it into the 21st Century would do it a lot of good! The staff make it - so pleasant and helpful. The lift has to be seen to be believed! Right out of the 1930s. Only takes 2 people at any one time and is of the type where you have to open/close inner and outer doors! Attached 'Cafe Cruz' Restaurant is OK but the staff in there need to understand their function - to serve the customer(s)! When we visited, it was difficult to get anyone's attention! Overall, the hotel isn't bad - but it is not brilliant either1

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback ,the lift certainly causes a lot of attention ,it is very much a marmite issue, people that like traditional things love it but as it works why change it?
We are fully modernised but in a style to match the age of the building,we have amazing internet access and amazing staff.
Sorry if you were expecting something more minimalistic or boutique,as we are traditional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the imperial for 6 nights, very pleasant staff, clean well equipped rooms, a good choice at breakfast which is freshly cooked and served by polite friendly staff, I look forward to staying there again soon

Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely 5 star comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a perfectly reasonable seaside hotel, and may indeed be one of the best which Great Yarmouth has to offer, but it falls far short of other four star hotels in which I have recently stayed. The room had no air-conditioning and no in-room safe. The shower room was small and cramped, and the shower cubicle the smallest which I have ever encountered - it was impossible to avoid the water stream whilst washing and I am a slim person. The window was directly overlooked by those of an adjacent hotel only about ten feet away yet was provided with no secondary nets or adjustable blinds. Thus for any degree of daytime privacy it was necessary to draw the curtains, thus completely obscuring daylight.
The hotel lift is an old one carrying a maximum load of two people with manually operated doors on each level; if one of these is not securely closed it is rendered inoperable. I have no problem if a hotel chooses to retain a manual room-key system, but, if it should do so, it needs to ensure that the reception desk is constantly staffed to receive and issue keys. Unfortunately there were several unacceptable waits whilst staff were called to other duties.
On the positive side, decor is entirely acceptable and well maintained, as are the furnishings. Everywhere is scrupulously clean, the staff are smartly attired and friendly, and the cooked-to-order breakfast is excellent.
Thus this is certainly not a dreadful hotel, but it doesn't live up to expectations derived from its website, with its emphasis on 'luxury' and 'four star'. It would surely be better to give a more realistic impression, and possibly to exceed those expectations than to disappoint when it doesn't even match them.
And perhaps the A.A. should concentrate on repairing cars instead of doling out hotel stars.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your very thorough review and I see you would have preferred one of the larger rooms with a sea view,which were unavailable when you booked.However all our rooms are very well equipped with Large smart Tv's trouser press,hairdryer,etc etc as you expect with a four star.I am delighted the décor was acceptable and to your liking as I know everyone has different taste and that you noted we were scrupulously clean with smart and friendly staff.Sorry that you had higher expectations and felt disappointed however glad that the majority of our customers are more than happy with what we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding at the hotel next door! This is an old hotel but very modern fern rooms! Staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble cannot fault them at all ! Bar is small but lots of seating so never felt overcrowded. Lift is very old and only 2 people at any one time! Rooms were do nice big bed very clean and nice toiletries!
Breakfast was fantastic plenty of choice and all freshly cooked! Very well done Imperial it was a great stay !!!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the excellent comments and glad you enjoyed your weekend,the lift is old but does have character and as you found out it only takes two people at a time !!
Hope to see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I only stayed 2 nights but would have loved to have stayed longer - we will definitely be back!

We had a terrible experience of booking a hotel down the road and after a 4 hour drive found it to be totally unacceptable and had to quickly find an alternative and lucky for us we came across the Imperial. The hotel Manager, Nick very kindly saw I was in a bit of a state and kindly upgraded us to a sea view room.

The room was so comfy and had everything in it you would expect, safe, tea and coffee making facilities etc but it also had the fluffiest white bathroom towels I have ever felt.

The receptionist Elga was amazing too looking after us whilst we were there.

I don't know about 4* rating this Hotel deserves 5* all the way! Loved it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing - definitely worth the extra
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PLGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

so pleased that we turned a bad start in to a great visit!! and very happy to get 5 stars thank you,Nick is feeling very chuffed at being mentioned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews