We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sunday roast”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good sunday roast”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Today i took my mother in law for sunday dinner at the Imperial hotel. We sat in the terrace area and had a lovely hot meal and sweet. The waiting staff were very professional and overall the experience was good value for money paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    127
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
129
198
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel is very clean, and the breakfast staff very friendly, and if I had booked like the previous reviewer through ravel zoo would have thought this was a good deal, but having paid £150 for one night for a night in a themed room, was very dissapointed that the room didnt have a balcony. Future potential occupants should be aware that only two out of the four rooms have a balcony and when booking on line direct with the hotel it doesnt let you know which room you have been allocated. Balcony or no balcony, all the rooms are the same price, as we were told by the very abrupt receptionist when we dared to enquire.
Breakfast was of a good standard, just a shame we didnt get what we thought we were boooking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riw9471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We used the hotel for 2 nights on a travel zoo offer.We had asked for a quiet room as it was our wedding anniversary. The room was top floor at the rear but did overlook the local town football pitch which proved an annoyance at times in the day (disturbed afternoon snooze). The room was clean and tidy all be it the beds were very soft, uncomfortably so.
The meals (2 breakfasts and 1 evening meal) were impressive in content and service. They deserve credit for that part as our deal made it very competitive.
Overall a nice place to stay only let down by no mention of " happy anniversary". A little touch that would have been nice especially as they said they would mark the computer booking when called.

Room Tip: Not sure but watch the football pitch at rear in football season?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoopla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed on a Travelzoo deal which cost £150 for two nights including dinner on the first night to the value of £35 each, in essence we received two nights B&B for £80, excellent value.
We ate in the Terrace restaurant, with linen knapkins thoughtfully provided by Janine and Beckie after we joked that we would eat in the downstairs restaurant because it had 'proper knapkins not usually provided upstairs; a nice touch.
The evening meal was superb from an impressive menu, if you like Liver have it here.
The whole stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123wjs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Excellent hotel , a hotel with many service and the food very good , its the best hotel in great yarmouth , nice rooms and clients to go with it , the staff are very helpful and has a good car park , i would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We very much enjoyed our short break last week at the Imperial. Checking in was smooth and easy, luckily the car park had plenty of room (I think it can be difficult at times), and the sea view room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The bed was possibly the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
Although dogs are accepted, we didn't expect to be able to take her into the bar or Terrace restaurant, so were delighted to be assured this was ok. Although we brought our own bed, one was provided, which was a nice touch.
All the staff were very nice and helpful, and the owner, Aileen, made a point of bringing in her dog Sammy so we could meet him (sadly our dog was in the car at the time and she missed out. Although we could have taken her into breakfast, we decided to put her in the car. It was nice to have the choice.)
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and found the starter menu particularly imaginative, the main courses slightly less so. I'm sure they would have been delicious going by the starters, but we chose the Twice baked cheese souffles followed by Cromer crab (a starter) as a main course. Absolutely superb, and the meal we had in the town itself the following night, while very good, paled by comparison.
As other reviewers have stated, it was nice to be waited on at breakfast, and again the enticing options made it very difficult to choose.
Great Yarmouth itself is disappointing: scruffy and so overdeveloped it's difficult to see the beach from the promenade.
But the end where the Imperial is situated is much better, the beach is huge, and we enjoyed our sea view from the room. It was nice to escape back to the hotel after exploring the resort.
We shall be back in the Norfolk area in a few weeks' time, and will definitely make a point of returning to Yarmouth just to visit the Terrace Restaurant again, certainly for dinner and possibly for another breakfast!

Room Tip: It is worth paying the sea view supplement .... just hope you don't get the foggiest day ever, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whybrowwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just returned from two nights at this wonderful hotel. We booked the same room 'Louis Jadot' as on our previous visit a year ago. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and this theme continued throughout our stay.
The room and bathroom couldn't be faulted, a nice touch to have fresh milk in the fridge!
The breakfasts were of high standard. We didn't eat in the restaurant but our friends who were also staying at the hotel highly recommend dining in the restaurant. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Must have a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brambles-dossier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is Great Yarmouth's only 4 Star hotel. We are an independent hotel managed by the 3rd generation of the family that have owned this hotel since the 1930s. We have stunning seaviews and provide an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller and can assure you of a warm professional welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing