We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Probably one of the better hotels to stay in the area. Friendly staff, clean & sizeable rooms, good bathroom facilities - everything you would expect from a hotel. Very good breakfast. The staff do make an effort and they are not homogenised people who are part of a faceless chain. I only stayed one night on business and, looking at the other hotels (from outside), I would suggest this is the best choice around. It's a pretty grim town on a drizzly weekday evening! The hotel could have been very mediocre but they obviously have made an effort not to be. I would put this hotel above "Average" but below "Very Good". Unfortunately the rating system in TripAdvisor doesn't allow for a "Good" rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we hope you will visit the Imperial again in the near future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    127
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
129
198
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Three of us stayed here recently, in 2 rooms, on a Saturday night. Reception was quick and efficient, our rooms were very good (for a seaside hotel) – they have been recently decorated, but the wallpaper is a bit 90’s. Good showers.

We had dinner in Café Cruz. It was pretty much without fault we enjoyed great food and great service (despite it being busy).

We had really excellent steaks, the only downside was the chips, which looked like the dregs from the local chippy. If they were home cut and double fried the meal would have been perfect.

Overall though I am loathed to criticise the place. If every restaurant in the UK was half as good as this place you wouldn't need to check TA for restaurant reviews, as a good meal every time would be guaranteed!

If I ever found myself in Great Yarmouth again I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review for us, we will take on board your comments as we always value our guests feedback thanks again and hope to welcome you to the imperial in the near future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights this week. Chose this as a result of the feedback on Trip Adviser. I got the room with the balcony and what a superb room! Check in was fantastic, staff were extremely pleasant, room was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. Above all, the breakfast is to die for, with absolutely superb service from all staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BD7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review, we hope you come back and visit us again soon, don't forget to check our website or Facebook page for special offers :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Since my first stay at the Imperial in December 1997 it is fair to say I have spent several hundred nights here whilst travelling on business. In that time I have seen staff come and go and many changes made to rooms and the hotel facilities, but the welcoming atmosphere and sense of bonhomie remains as good as it ever was.

The rooms have seen several upgrades over the last fifteen years and are modern, comfortable, spotlessly clean and airy, yet homely at the same time. The new(ish) Terrace allows some open air dining (North Sea weather permitting), and the Cafe Cru has to have one of the best restaurants and wine cellars around and certainly accounts for at least a couple of inches of my waistline....

And then there's the staff. From reception onwards you only meet smiling faces, with all staff members happy to help and field any enquiries that you might have.

Despite the number of nights spent here I always look forward to forthcoming visits which are, alas, fewer in frequency these days. The Imperial is the benchmark by which I judge the many other hotels I stay in around the world and with a couple of exceptions, not many have yet hit the same heights.

I'd recommend the Imperial to anyone wanting a seaside break, needing somewhere to stay during a business trip or just needing to unwind. There's a lot of choice of accommodation in Great Yarmouth and the surrounding area, but you'd be doing yourself a disservice by staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank NeilOakshott63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks Neil for your lovely review, it lets us know we are doing a good job, hope you are enjoying your stay this week
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived on a friday for overnight stay. Took the premier room with balcony.
The staff on our arrival were absolutely brilliant, customer service like this is a breath of fresh air!!
The room was quirky(being refurbed in oct) cute, had everything you needed including a well presented tea tray, and a bed u didnt want to get out of! Bliss.......
The lovely terrace was where we had our supper, which was really pleasent, the meal very nice.
However the breakfast took first place as not only was the service exceptional, so was the food,
if you like fish, go for the haddock, nice and chunky and cooked perfect.
Would visit this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: if u like to c the sunrise, take a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honestlady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for writing a lovely review, we hope you visit again and try some more of our lovely dishes and see our refurbished rooms which will be ready end of October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Apologies to the staff at The Imperial...should have written this months ago! If you look on the web-site you'll see that the chef matched one of Gordon Ramsey's protegees blow for blow in a recent competition in London and it shows. We had lunch here one Friday in May...local asparagus with a sauce to die for, local crab and local strawberries. The food was, just like it says in the title, fabulous and the service every bit as good. Our waitress was polite, helpful, friendly and efficient with just the right level of attentiveness. The all glass extension gives a splendid view over the sea whilst protecting diners from the breeze. (We were told it can be opened in warm weather!) Quality, as a fellow traveller writes, to match anything available in Europe, and attractively priced

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the very kind review, we love hearing about our visitors stories and we hope you come to visit us again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I have lived in Great Yarmouth over 10 yrs and are last minute trippers who just like to get up and go, because of this we have stayed in so many hotels in many different locations all over the UK some fantastic and others not so (to be polite), but this hotel will have definatly inbedded an impression in our memorys, that will never be forgotten. On 8th September 2012 we tied the knot (finally).lol. We had the ceremony, breakfast and party all at the Imperial hotel. To start with the staff was so friendly and welcoming, the hotel owners could not do enough to make the day go as smoothly as possibly, the food was quite frankly amaizing, really fresh produce and with over 100 guests to our wedding though out the day, they constantly commented how beautiful the food was, not one could find fault. Te rooms put aside for the venues were more than capable to cater for our requirments, without intruding on other guest staying at the hotel, the residents bar open for as long as we wanted so even after the party guest had long left we could still enjoy a quite drink well in to the early hours. There is also a lift so push chairs or guest under the influence.. dont have to stuggle.lol
Our room was large, with wifi and many ammeinities catered for and immaculatly clean, we also checked on some of our guests who stayed with us and there rooms were also immaculate, but varied in size depending on the occupants needs. I wake up every morning open my bedroom curtains and stare straight out to sea, but somehow doing the same in this hotel just made me feel a million miles away. We all has high expectations for breakfast, after the meals from the day before, and it didn't dissapoint. Three courses, each with multiple selections was more than we wished for, and all served to us, rather than a mad dash around and yes truly delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DgandLg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelGY, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for writing a lovely review for us, and thank you for choosing The Imperial Hotel for your wedding, we hope you come back again very soon, and we hope you had a lovely honeymoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is Great Yarmouth's only 4 Star hotel. We are an independent hotel managed by the 3rd generation of the family that have owned this hotel since the 1930s. We have stunning seaviews and provide an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller and can assure you of a warm professional welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing