We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b and b and great hostess!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandcastles Guest House
Ranked #30 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancé last weekend and we found the b and b lovely, cosy and warm and Jo was a great hostess. As we travelled from Norwich by bus it was really helpful to be let into the room early and also Jo let us leave our suitcase in the b and b when we checked out so we could make the most of our stay in Yarmouth - things like this really help to make a stay and alleviates stress etc. Breakfast was hot and tasty and we had a nice window seat so could look out on the rainy Yarmouth morning. The room was small (but this is explained explicitly on website) but it was really nicely decorated and comfy and we had a great nights sleep. The Emma Ball prints on the wall and other sea-sidey bits and bobs were a nice touch as well. The only problem I had was with the shower, which I couldn't get to work properly (although this could have been me!) All in all a great little b and b and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherinel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Sandcastles Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter and granddaughter we all loved it especially my grand daughter. Joanne was very helpful with ideas of things to do and see when the weather was bad.The breakfasts set us up for the day thanks Dean and they catered for small children too.We would definatelly stay here again.Thanks again for everthing.

Room Tip: cant comment on other rooms but we had room 7 which was good for a family of 3
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Small and friendly in a nice location close to the beach. Rooms aren't huge but we are realistic with it being b&b and not a hotel suite. Staff were friendly and room was clean and comfortable, breakfast tasty and plentiful. Nothing special but its just what a b&b should be - small and family run.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenback56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights.
Great breakfast fresh, plentiful, and nice and hot. Top up's available also coffee. Nice presentable breakfast room.
Room perfect for our break, with plenty of tea coffee and biscuits and a cofy bed. A bottle of water each day also provided - nice touch.
Service very friendly, wanting to ensure that your stay is pleasant.
Perfect location beach, bars and restaurants all in walkable distance a few minutes.
Parking provided with a permit - perfect.
Excellent value, and would use again if visiting. Deserve to be successful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmm_72_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned home to Cardiff from a week's trip to Great Yarmouth. Our 8day/7 night stay including breakfast was great value considering August is peak holiday season. Jo is fab, we didn't mean Dean but his breakfasts were fab. The family room we stayed in shared a shower but this was fine for us, we had our own loo and basin en suite so that was fine. Just a three minute walk from the beach we were close to all the amenities. There are also lots of money off vouchers that Jo and Dean keep in the hall for days out. Parking is a bit of a nightmare, but you get a parking pass and the B&B have no control over the spaces so it's a bit Pot Luck. The place is great for families, Jo and Dean have small children of their own and when I'd said that if my son got a bit noisy to just give us a knock I was told not to worry at all as their were plenty of families with little ones staying so everyone understands excited kids! At breakfast my son loved his Superman place setting and he was given toys to play with as well. There are also DVDs and games to borrow and books as well. Overall a brilliant stay and we will definitely try and go back if we find ourselves in that part of the Country again! Thanks guys!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tink2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A group of us 6 adults and one child stayed here for a couple of days from the 5th August 2013, could not fault the B and B one bit, excellent location if a little noisy at night time ( I did stay in the front double room facing the street so bound to have noise from revellers , cars etc) Sandcastles had an excellent choice for breakfast, great for kids a little cup and bowl is put out, and if lucky the hostess brings out a couple of toy animals to keep the little ones entertained. The full English breakfast is a must, definitely set us up for the day. The rooms we had were perfect for us, although no shower in the room, we just had to walk down the corridor to the shower room which did not bother us. The only main concern had was that the occupant in the Single room next door to me was very noisy slamming doors late
At night and at 6am and sometimes earlier every day of our stay but apart from that have not got a bad word to say at all and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sandcastles and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss-KMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Firstly I cannot praise this b & b enough! As soon as we arrived we were shown to our room and given toys for our 3 year old to play with. Being parents themselves they know exactly what families need and are very friendly and welcoming! They have a library where you can borrow games, dvd's ( both children's and adults ones ). Breakfast was lovely and my little boy was over the moon with his special fireman Sam place setting. Location is great too, right near the pier, shops etc and there's a great park for the kiddies just around the corner! Couldn't have asked for more! Great value for money!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlitterLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Twin Palms
Twin Palms
#31 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#15 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#67 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Marina Guest House
The Marina Guest House
#25 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#3 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Weatherdene
The Weatherdene
#11 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles Guest House

Address: 17 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $54 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastles Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastles Guest House is a friendly, family run bed and breakfast just 2 minutes walk for the beach and five minutes from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandcastles Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastles Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing