We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tea room and gluten free!”

Merrivale Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic tea room and gluten free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We live in Great Yarmouth and we have a daughter with Coeliac disease.This tea room is fantastic with a great selection of meals at excellent quality and they cater for gluten free with meals and also wonderful homemade cakes.a frienly atmosphere cant recommend more highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank owenchjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    81
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't return!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stopped here for a late lunch as it looked quite pleasant from the outside.

Unfortunately our experience wasn't great! My pie tasted like a supermarket microwave meal and the sausages my children had tasted cheap and nasty...certainly not the sort of quality I'd expect for the prices we'd paid.

In addition to our disappointments with the food, we didn't appreciate a member of staff smelling heavily of cigarette smoke when serving us...it really put us off our food!

Based on this experience, I wouldn't recommend or return here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJC15, Owner at Merrivale Tea Rooms, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal, but I have to reassure you all our pies are made with real steak, slow cooked in the oven over night & then made into pies, there is nothing cheap or shop bought in them. As to the sausages we only use butchers sausages (cumberland) & people come time & again because of it. Even when we do outside events do we use these & comments are made as to how good they are.
If the staff member smelt o f smoke I am very sorry, I can't understand how this could of happened as both myself & family members are non smokers & 99 percent of the time we are the ones serving. Again I'm sorry your vistit wasn't enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cake Uncuttable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Previous visits here a few years back have been nice enough and a return visit was in order after visiting the model village with my nephews.

Unfortunately my cake was uncuttable when using any of the supplied cutlery...this made it pretty inedible without breaking teeth. Disappointed, we left to get our sweet treats elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJC15, Owner at Merrivale Tea Rooms, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Sorry to hear you found things not to your liking when you visited us.
We always strive to do our best & shocked to hear that you didn't get a knife & cake fork to eat with as this is how we try to serve all our cakes. I notice that you are local & if you would like to come & visit me in April I will do my best to make things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value and very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very nice, friendly and good value, I wanted 2nds but the wife said no.we popped in on the off chance after visiting the railway, would recomend for tea and cakes and dinner,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Pleasant surroundings and reasonable price refreshments although the weather was awful it was a good place to dry off and get refreshed after walking round the model village and getting soaked. The Grandchildren still enjoyed their day and liked the cakes and drinks in the Tea Rooms

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatYarmouthTomTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrivale Tea Rooms also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Merrivale Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing