We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revives your memories”
Review of Yesterday's World - CLOSED

Yesterday's World
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whatever age you are, whether you’re young or not so young, you’ll just love a visit to our fantastic and award-winning Yesterday’s World in Great Yarmouth. Superbly located right on the Golden Mile you’ll be amazed as soon as you walk through the entrance – you can even walk straight from the seafront into our famous themed Victorian cafe. See stunning life-size Victorian street and shop displays. You’ll marvel at how many original exhibits we have here – over 150,000 all beautifully presented showing over 100 years of British history.Your unique and fascinating journey starts here – take in a visit to the ironmongers shop, discover what it was like in a 19th century apothecary. The younger ones will be amazed at what a toy shop looked like compared to today! Your journey continues with life-like historical figures such as Winston Churchill and Queen Victoria – you will even take an audience with her and also view the Royal exhibition. Meet also the life-size characters from famous Victorian novels. Your journey will be full of surprises including sound and light shows.Discover what the local car mechanic’s garage was like, visit the amazing wheelwrights or the fantastic display of cameras – there’s so much to see. Throughout your journey you will discover many fascinating facts and figures from various characters of over last 100 years giving you an insight into life during their times. Immerse yourself in a fabulous trip down memory lane – there really is something for everyone from our thousands upon thousands of treasures and unique memorabilia from days gone by and see for yourself how much Great Yarmouth has changed since the nineteenth century.
norfolk, uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Revives your memories”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a good visit for people born before 1970's. to remember loads of things that we hadn't thought of in years. I think younger visitors would not believe how we lived.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank watersNorfolk_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    113
    45
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The platter for 2 starts the adventure. It is absolutely delicious and the staff are just brilliant. Then into the yesterworld museum. It brings back so many memories and the free carousel ride at the end really does take you back to your childhood. A brilliant day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank feenus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were looking forward to an afternoon tea, all the tables were dirty, we had to ask the staff to wipe before we could sit down.

We ordered a platter for 2 at a cost of £11.99 our pot of tea arrived, and then the young waiter came back and was rather confused saying there would be a delay as all the 2 person platters were being used!!, by this time we had drank our Tea, I asked for a refill as we had had to wait, he did this but only put more water on top of the already used tea bags!!!!

when our platter eventually arrived it came with 3 tuna sandwiches, 3 cheese, 3 ham & 3 egg, 3 tiny portions of cake (would have been nice to be told what they were) I know many people love coffee cake but I hate it!! good job I asked my husband to try it 1st! and 1 scone between two of us!!!!

The sandwiches were very tasty as were the other cakes that we ate, but I would not be ordering another platter here, just go for the cream tea, at least you get a scone each and not have to share one!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank titch277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Yesterday is just as good today.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great nostalgic background music, well, not quite background as it was quite loud but toe tapping none-the-less. I ordered a large hot chocolate and my husband, a pot of coffee with hot milk. We also had a hot tea cake each. This was a large, delicious teacake with plenty of butter and delicious jam and served by 2 delightful young men who really seemed to enjoy their work. The only downside being it was very cold inside and could do with cushioned chairs. We did enjoy the experience generally. Thank you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb cream teas, family fun attraction”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well worth the visit. It was great fun for all of the family and lovely to see the carousel in working order with plenty to see and do. There are leaflets in the café to receive £1 off admission fees per adult so make sure you pick one up on your way in.

The cream tea was superb in the café, one of the best I have ever tried and reasonably priced too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yesterday's World also viewed

 
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing