We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cafe”
Review of Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe - CLOSED

Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: Now under the management of Lisa and Terry. A unique, friendly and nostalgic shabby chic cafe opposite Britannia pier, serving Coffee, Tea, Cakes, Elevenses, Lunches and fabulous Afternoon teas. Hooray Henrys serving simple unpretentious fresh cooked food not fast food!Enjoy the Hooray Henrys experience soon! Hope to see you soon at Hooray Henry's!Check out Hooray Henrys boutique B&B's in Great Yarmouth and Sheringham
Gorleston-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Cafe”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As advertised Shabby Chic, yes it is and that is what gives it it's charm, no airs and graces just good company and a warm atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Owner at Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon :-) Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    29
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 stars”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a cold and windy day in October. It made a very welcome refuge from the weather. From the outside it does not look very big and once inside it has to be said is very snug. It advertises itself as "shabby chic" so each table has non-matching china cups and saucers.
The loss of the extra star from me comes down to the prices which I felt were a little high (about 10 - 15% above what I would have expected) and the strawberry jam used on the cream tea which could have been significantly better. Nice touches were the free top-up of the tea pot and the little pack of love hearts when we left. The toilets were also clean and nicely maintained.

Helpful?
1 Thank m50lws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Owner at Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I have taken on board your comments regarding the Jam provided with our Cream Teas and I am now looking at offering a variety of preserves :-). Within the price of our Cream Teas you are offered Tea/Filtered Coffee which are refillable plus two scones which are homemade, Luxury Clotted Cream and preserves. I do feel that the pricing of our Cream Teas is in the competitive range of other Tea Rooms and Cafes in the area. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Lisa :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stopped here with friends for lunch and what a lovely surprise! We had afternoon tea and it was excellent quality for the price paid. The atmosphere was great and the staff were very friendly. The hot chocolate was the best i've ever had!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Owner at Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again very shortly, especially for another Hot Chocolate!! :-) Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great rarebit”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We happened on this place by chance, attracted in by the tempting chalkboard outside. We both had the Norfolk Rarebit, which was superb - lots of it, good trimmings, great thick bread and very tasty topping. The service was friendly and good, and the free tea refill was gratefully received. The atmosphere was relaxed and the bill was presented in a little box, which also contained two small rolls of lovehearts - a lovely touch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Owner at Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are constantly learning, taking on board comments and ideas, thus now serving our Norfolk Rarebit on thick crusty white or brown bread, therefore it is gratifying to know that changes we make are for the good. Our tea room is a family run business and we are glad that you found the atmosphere relaxing. Thank you once again for your custom and review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again :-) Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a gem this place is,mother and daughter are so lovely the food is well presented and tastes amazing.Free tea and coffee refills are very welcome.We had the salmon,chicken and ham sandwiches over 3 days and each selection was beautiful.Thank you for the cream scones on our last day they were lush.x

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Owner at Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed and looked forward to your daily visits :) We are glad you got home safely and hopefully see you again next year!!!! Lisa :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henrys - The Shabby Chic Cafe also viewed

 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Belton, Great Yarmouth
 
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing