We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't change a thing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quayside Plaza

Quayside Plaza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tucked between the Elizabethan & Nelson museums and not far from the Time & Tide museum, amongst many others Great Yarmouth’s historic buildings you will find (ONE OF YARMOUTH’S BEST KEPT SECRETS) in the remains of the old 12th century Greyfriarsunique restaurant with chillout atmosphere, delicious home-made meals, cakes and desserts are based on Mediterranean recipes...yummy..Tucked between the Elizabethan & Nelson museums and not far from the Time & Tide museum, amongst many others Great Yarmouth’s historic buildings you will find in the remains of the old 12th century Greyfriars Cloisters, now fully restored and housing QUAYSIDE PLAZA RESTAURANT & FERAILLES UNIQUE GIFTS, HANDMADE SILVER, FURNITURE & ART SHOP, where you can shop, browse or have a home cooked lunch or enjoy an evening meal or one of our popular themed nights.EditRESTAURANTYou will find a cosy place with a friendly welcoming atmosphere using as far as possible organic & local seasonal produce where everything is freshly cooked to order, home made cakes, salads, soups, lunches, sandwiches and baguettes. You can choose from wide range of best quality teas, coffees, freshly made juices & smoothies, beers or wine. Something for everybody!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't change a thing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have to agree with previous posters, this is a great place to eat.

We visited at lunchtime: the restaurant is in an old building, the main dining area in an airy space with high ceilings with a separate quieter area off to the side and a craft shop at the back of the building; the lime green walls and Balinese art lend it a boho feel.

Service was good - I sensed the staff were stretched that day, but they couldn't have been more helpful.

The menu, not huge, was varied enough: a number of dishes had a Portuguese or Mediterranean twist: pork tenderloin with clams, grilled king prawns with garlic and onion, the complimentary warm bread with olives in lemon and olive oil. I'm not sure if the owners are Portuguese but it reminded me of food from past Portuguese holidays - a tasty fish/seafood main with very simple sides, The complimentary bite-sized portions of coffee cake which came with the bill was a lovely touch.

So nice to come across somewhere a little bit different to the usual run of gastopubs and cafes, in the sub-£10-for a main range. Please don't change a thing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    32
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great lunch, thank you! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Quayside Plaza last week during the lunch time. Had lovely time there. The food was amazing (especially chicken ceasar salad and that lovely bread with garlic butter!). Desserts were absolutely delicious! Coconut creme carmel and the cheesecake - God, heaven! :) Owners - Angelo and Magda are very accomodating, staff very polite. Would definitely visit again while in Great Yarmouth!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner with the College”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent the evening here 16 of us. Very warm welcome, staff very accommodating and best of all was the food. An excellent evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went there on Tuesday with my daughter and baby grandson. Right from the start we had attentive service, a high chair was brought to us and we were seated where we could get the push chair in as well. Had lovely coffee with a complimentary little home made chocolate cake on the side. I had a Mediterranean salad which was huge (I asked for a doggy bag) and my daughter had a chicken baguette which was also really big and full of big chunks of chicken and salad. We were also given a dish of olives and some homemade warm bread with garlic butter which was absolutely delish. The service was excellent, the surroundings bright, colourful and warm and the food was the best and most reasonably priced I have experienced in the surrounding area. Make sure you take time to find this little gem in Gt Yarmouth, we will certainly be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gidea park
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“London you could learn a lot !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We saw this restaurant on Tripadvisor and decided to visit. From the outside it doesn't do what you will get inside justice. The inside is quirky and the ambience very good.
You are get olives and lovely warm bread for free which tastes lovely. The accompanying butter is also very good. Our soup starters were tasty and hot. My wife's chicken stroganoff, and my fishermans pie were not only full of flavour and piping hot but also extremely good portions. Together with one beer and a glass of wine the bill came to £31.00 which in London would have been double that unless we'd used Toptable or a Tastecard. If we lived in Great Yarmouth we would probably visit this place at least twice a month. The service was also not rushed,done in a professional manner and with enough time to rest between courses. Five star all round !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank majoreaguemental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quayside Plaza also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Quayside Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing