We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye opening”
Review of The Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nelson Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After booking this 2 days before ? I didn't do much research in to this much needed revamp of a hotel . Firstly parking was very hard ! We paid at the front desk before seeing the room BIG MISTAKE ! When we Finally got up the tight narrow stair case to our room I noticed the carpet wasn't clean stained / grubby the sheets to the bed had holes in ! Then I noticed a stain underneath the sheet on the mattress it made me feel quite ill ! I wouldn't let my dog sleep in there ! Complained to reception and got a full refund . Ended up stopping in the holiday inn in Norwich which was fantastic !

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

We are aware that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted, and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Waking up after our first night of 4 in this 'hotel'... I really wish I could afford to relocate our family!
We arrived to be handed the keys after a long journey with two young children to be greeted to an obviously uncleaned room (bar the beds they had been changed), there was sand on the floors, tea in the pot.... The list goes on!
We brought this to receptions attention who informed us it would be sorted.... We waited desperate for a shower, after waiting 20mins or more my husband went back to reception to be informed the housekeeper didn't start their shift for another hour, needless to say after voicing that really wasn't acceptable within another 10mins a nice lady came and we went and stayed with our parents whilst the room was cleaned (this was at 4.15pm). The room is a shabby family room, I think they must have put us here thinking our kids would trash it, it's horrible.
No chance of the kids getting excited of a sea view, we can see bins other backs of hotels and what looks like the staff smoking area!
Oh and one last warning, don't expect an extended sleep in the morning, if someone uses the loo above you, the noises?!?
Having wrote this at 630am after the whole family being woke up extremely early, I don't know how breakfast will fair.
Really dissapointed :-(

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emzg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

We are aware that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted, and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

I really am sorry that you did not receive the level of customer service that we strive to provide. Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Nelson for one night.The location was excellent, close to the pubs and pleasure beaches.
From first impressions, it looked tired and needed decorating, but to be honest all of the hotels we looked at in Yarmouth looked like they needed up-dating. We were on the top floor at the front of the hotel. At 2am we had people singing and talking loudly outside which we were not too pleased about. The shower had no pressure and was freezing cold!! We didn't stay for breakfast so cannot comment, when leaving, the corridors stunk of sweaty arm pits, I'm afraid to say.
It's such a shame as this hotel is in such a good spot with car parking opposite, would maybe stay again, but would ask not to be put on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speccychesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was very sorry to read you comments regarding your stay with us and that you were disturbed by revellers. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted, particularly those relating to the shower and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Really sorry but all ratings have been put to 1 because of 1 reason. The night porter let a random person in our room at 3.30 am. He didn't check anything. Luckily there was someone in out room who stopped it. Absolutely incredible. Just for that, will never return

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank isit95108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us.

It was very disappointing read your comments and to learn of someone being let into your room by the night porter. This of course is unacceptable, and please be assured that this matter has been discussed at length with John, and his team to ensure it cannot happen again.

We are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went to hotel on a voucher deal which was excellent value. Hotel bit dated and worn in places, mainly corridors so nothing major. Room size was great, bathroom very big, my one recommendation is that if they are all that size then maybe put in a separate shower cubicle as well as bath but other than that it was very adequate. No hairdryer but we had taken our own so that wasn't a problem. Windows were a bit stiff and didnt open very wide but I dont think for an hold hotel you can complain about that, we had plenty of fresh air coming in. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and freshly cooked. Right on the seafront and walkable to town centre. The overall experience was made great by the very friendly and helpful staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 228 was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to John and his team who I know will be pleased to read them.

We do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Great Yarmouth and were pleased to see that you found this to be the case. As you say the Nelson does have some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments which have been duly noted and we do hope that you will be able to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights this weekend on a KGB Deal. We only ever use anywhere we stay as a base to be fair as we are always out and about but the hotel is in a great location,we had a great room, the bar was cosy and the staff very friendly and welcoming. A lot of old hotels will always need a bit of updating but I think the prices reflect this. We will definitely be returning - one point that would be great for me.....stock some vegetarian sausages so I can have a full "English". Id come back just for the porridge mind, it was delicious!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxinesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to John and his team who will be pleased to read them.

As you say, the Nelson does have areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments which have been duly noted and we do hope that you will be able to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on a kgb deal. At the onset I must say the staff were excellent, cheerful, helpful and very busy. Unfortunately other matters made for an unsatisfactory stay. The beds were exceedingly uncomfortable, springs sticking up, nothing between the sheet and mattress, holes in the sheets. I had to resort to folding the bed cover & putting this under the bottom sheet to make it a bit more comfortable. The presence of coach parties meant that we could not be accommodated for breakfast before 9am (we are early risers)Also we were unable to dine at the hotel in the evening of the second night as the Mayor and his entourage were being entertained, and drinks were also unavailable at the bar as the staff were too busy with the mayoral party. We had to go down the street for fish & chips instead. We will not be recommending or returning to this hotel. BUT the staff were lovely, not their fault that we did not enjoy, or feel valued during our stay. Disappointing considering we had travelled over 230 miles for this break.

Room Tip: No idea! Other guests complaining about awful beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am very sorry to learn of the issues encountered during your stay. It was certainly an extraordinarily busy evening with 2 coach parties and the Mayors reception being hosted at the property and I do apologise for the inconvenience encountered.

These comments have been duly noted and we will be discussing the points raised with the General Manager and his team to endeavour to address and prevent any future problems arising.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#17 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Address: 1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $47 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson Hotel is a Grade II listed property that is situated on Marine Parade directly opposite the Sea Life Centre and Wellington Pier. The Nelson is an AA 3 Star Hotel that affords excellent views of the sea front and the promenade.Parking is available free of charge in front of the Hotel, although the car park does not belong to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing