We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such Memories”

Time and Tide Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in one of the UK's best preserved Victorian herring curing works, Time & Tide tells the story of Great Yarmouth from its Ice Age origins to the present day. Experience the heady atmosphere of a 1950s fish wharf and take the wheel of a steam drifter. Hear gripping tales of wreck and rescue and meet some of the colourful characters who made their living from the sea.Discover the town's rich maritime heritage and its development as a popular seaside resort. Wander down a tupical 1913 'Row' and see inside the homes of a local fisherman and his neighbours.Explore the smokehouses, where the lingering aroma of smoked herring is a reminder of times gone by.See website for details of of our events programme.Shop and cafe also available. For all other enquiries please see the website or telephone the museum.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such Memories”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a brilliant attraction , plenty to do for all ages ,it brings to life the way we were , and tells the story of Yarmouth in an easy to follow way , well done

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mil2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Staff at Time and Tide Museum, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review; we are so glad that you enjoyed the museum.

Time & Tide is celebrating its 10th birthday in July 2014 and there will be all sorts of events going on throughout the year to mark the occasion so please do come back and help us celebrate. You can follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep up to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    117
    19
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Out”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a brilliant museum. There are lots of hands on things for the children to do and learn. You can still smell where they used to smoke the fish. It's a really good day out and they have themed days in the summer months.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Staff at Time and Tide Museum, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive review; we are so glad that you enjoy the museum. It's our 10th birthday in July and we will have loads of exciting things planned throughout the summer of 2014 so please do come again and help us celebrate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Learned quite a lot about Gt Yarmouth and it's fishing history. Also housing and life in general during the war era.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good local history”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Time and Tide Museum gives an accurate insight into local history from the Romans, through the fishing industry to offshore oil and gas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJ264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Learning at Time and Tide Museum, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review; we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the museum. If you have time, please have a look at our Facebook and Twitter pages for all upcoming events and exhibitions at Time & Tide. We also have lots of interesting things going on at the Elizabethan House and the Tolhouse, which will re-open to the public at Easter. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

my original perception was " can this really be worth a visit " - but the answer is YES in spades. Great little museum - and the history of the herring fleet and the herring girls is a real eye opener.
Cafe is good too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fidgetbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timet123, Staff at Time and Tide Museum, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review; we are so glad you enjoyed the museum. If you have time, please have a look at our Facebook and Twitter pages for all upcoming events and exhibitions at Time & Tide. Our 'Super Models: Some Assembly Required' exhibition will be off and running by the end of March so do pop in and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Time and Tide Museum also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 

Been to Time and Tide Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing