We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sunnyside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy our stay at sunnysidehotel hotel and Debbie and Shaun were very lovely and welcoming in to here hotel they show us to our room we love the double room was clean and ad every thing in there but ad to shave a bathroom which we mind there is lots of things to do in gray yamouth thanks Sarah an kris

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahbrown30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Debbie and Shaun were very welcoming hosts. I have read the other reviews, and yes the rooms are small but you only need them to sleep in and to use as a base. It is ideally located 2 minutes walk from the seafront, plenty of local pubs nearby and a family park just 5-10 minutes walk. We went to the alleged noisy pub at the end of the road and everyone was very nice in there too, ok, it is not the worlds fanciest bar but was good none the less. If you want a warm and welcoming place to stay in easy walking distance of everything you need, then book here, if you want palacial and huge rooms, i am sure there is a Ritz within a few hours easy commute. As for nosiy seagulls, i get woken by noisy sparrows etc in the middle of the country, stop nit picking about that one and get a life!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On arrival was taken to the room to find that it was no bigger than my downstairs toilet at home. You couldn't shut the shower door if the bathroom door was open. Overall not great at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyside31, Owner at The Sunnyside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your review and most of all for pointing out about the shower door wasn't sure what you meant by it but have been in and found when the bathroom door is closed not open as you said it does catch on the door handle as nobody has mention this before and we would never had know about it as we don't shower in the room our self but if you had came and told us we would have fixed it in a matter of minutes as it has now been fixed.
the room is the smallest twin room we have which is the room you picked when you booked it online there is photos of the room so is easy to see roughly how big it is but as you did not mention this was a problem when you were here we had no chance to offer you another larger room sorry you were not happy just wished you had told us before leaving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is on a residential side street with a noisy pub a few doors down, however the noise ends at 11:30pm and if you don't have children this possibly isn't a problem to you. You are then awoken at 5ish by the worlds noisiest seagulls that don't let up!
if your skinny you will be fine with the hand towels provided for the shower.
We were also told it would not be an issue if we wanted a second nite but we could decide when we were there, however due to the noise issue we decided not to stay a second nite but was made to pay for it!!
The positives are the hotel has lovely spotless clean spacious rooms with all the facilities you could ask for, they offer a very tasty varied breakfast the next day (at the hotels slotted time).

Time for an early nite in the quiet relaxing home we are used to with out a rude hotel manager!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyside31, Owner at The Sunnyside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

We are very sorry to see you were disappointed when you left
just to make it clear about the booking of the room which was booked on the telephone for a 2 night stay in our family room for 2 lady's and a child which was booked and a deposit for the first night stay was taking as we don't take bookings for one night and say that you can stay another night if you like it as in July (peak season) rooms are being booked everyday so no rooms would be held in the event that you may want to stay another night and all room are charged in full on arrival for the total amount of nights booked you were not charged on arrival as it was almost 10 pm when you arrived so we would wait until the next morning as im sure you would not want to have the total invoice to settle with a small child at that time of night and as you were booked in for 2 nights it was not a problem to do it the next day
as you say you were charged for both nights when you decided to leave early which is the hotel terms and conditions which are in the hotel entrance and on the hotel website as follows
T’s & C’s
Terms & Conditions

Deposit payable on booking.

All major credit/debit cards accepted

Terms and Conditions

Booking terms and conditions:

The Sunnyside Hotel is a non-smoking Bed & Breakfast. Rooms are available for checkin from 12pm until 10pm on your day of arrival (earlier by arrangement) and must be vacated by 10am on your day of departure.

Your booking is a legally binding contract with The Sunnyside Hotel

Deposits are payable when booking and are non-refundable Full balance is payable on arrival.

In the event of your cancellation within 7 days of the booking the full cost of your holiday will be payable.

No refund will be offered should you leave before the end of your stay

We advise you to take out travel insurance to cover your costs should you need to cancel.



The hotel is on a residential street and does have a pub on the corner but have never had a complaint from any neighbors with children or any customer who has stayed with us before in the 5 years we have been here and we have never had any reason to have to complain to the pub our self as we do live and sleep on the property to.
We are sorry you were awoken by seagulls at 5 ish they do make a noise in the summer months when the sun rise early but most people just except it as we are by the sea and we were very sorry you felt you had to leave because of them, have not had anybody leave for that reason before but you did clearly tell us that was why, you did not mention about the pub noise when you were here an also you did not complain about the towels don,t understand what is meant by hand towels to shower as there was full size bath towels and hand towels in the room which are the same in all rooms we do not supply bath sheet which you may be use to.
why you think the manager is rude beats me as you seemed happy with the service when you left and did not complain once to either of us can understand you may not have been happy being charged for the 2nd night but you did not even complain about that you happily gave me the card an told me to take the payment and we did say that you are welcome to stay if you changed your minds and after a long discussion with your partner you both decided to leave as you said it was not fair on the small child if she did not sleep very well
we did give you a time for breakfast at your request as we normally do breakfast between 8.30 -9.30 but as you said you needed breakfast at 8am as the child needs to take medication with food so we agreed to serve breakfast for you at 8am .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A very good traditional B&B, Shaun & Debbie are very nice people and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was very good and a plentiful. We booked online at short notice with no problems. The room we had on the top floor was very clean. The double bed was comfortable and we both slept really well.
We have recommended this B&B to our family and friends and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very good value. Two rooms on top floor, spotless, with comfortable beds and tastefully decorated. Breakfast in the morning was great, even with the added complication of two vegetarians thrown in! Good location if you want to be within a very short walk to Great Yarmouth seafront and we were able to park directly outside the hotel. I agree with rachelle68's review of the area - not the greatest. But you cant blame the hotel for that! Congratulations Debbie and Shaun, you are running a great B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have to say I am not a fan of built up English seaside resorts and the amount of litter around even in peoples front gardens is disgusting. Surely the council can afford a clean up.

I only spent one night here on a flying visit, but I liked the look of the Sunnyside on the internet and the rates were very reasonable.

After feeling guilty for arriving late, I was given a very warm welcome by the cheerful smiling face of Debbie and excellent directions from Shaun. The firdt thing I noticed apart from the very friendly welcome was how SPOTLESS the house was. A lot of thought has been taken with health and safety. My room, number 8 which you can choose whilst booking, was on the top floor, very well placed with a lovely big window. This was a very relaxing room indeed with good quality furnishings, very comfortable bed, a very good sized spotless fridge, and (I wish so many more establishments has these)-anti-slam doors. There is also plenty of storage.

The bathroom was also very spotless with a great shower and a lovely wooden ceiling which you don't see enough of now.

Sunnyside is only a few minutes walk from seafront.

The breakfast is generous and served in a lovely room with wonderful high quality furniture-medieval style.

I only wish the Sunnyside was in the Lake District, Channel Islands or the Isle of Man!!!

Excellent value and brilliant hosts!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#61 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#3 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Henry's on the Prom
Henry's on the Prom
#5 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silverstone House
Silverstone House
#16 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
137 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunnyside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside Hotel

Address: 31 Victoria Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $38 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sunnyside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debbie and Shaun welcome you to the SUNNYSIDE HOTEL GREAT YARMOUTH!We are a friendly family run bed & breakfast facility.Having both been born and bred in Norfolk we are one of only a few B&B’s in Great Yarmouth that has vast local knowledge of the area If you have any questions about this wonderful county we live in, we would be happy to help(if not we can phone a friend to resolve your query).The Sunnyside Hotel in Great Yarmouth is open all Year Round and offer very competitive rates, with discounts available for longer stays. Contractors welcome.Parking is available on-street – free of charge with no permit required.Sunnyside Hotel in Great Yarmouth is only a minute walk from the glorious sandy central beach, and adjacent to the historic town centre with its many shops and restaurants. Browse the famous outdoor market & pedestrianised Regent Street. Enjoy the Hippodrome Circus (Britain’s most visited summer show), the Britannia pier and the Pleasure Beach with many rides and attractions spread over nine acres boasting a top ten place in the UK free entry amusement parks.With Health & safety a priority for all our guests, we are fire certificated with a Level 2 fire system. CCTV is in operation, with 24hr recording in the entrance area. We are fully insured and have current food & hygiene certification.All electrical appliances and microwaves have been PAT tested & certified to the IEE code of practice under the required Electricity at Work regulations.Our rooms are cleaned & serviced daily, and have tea and coffee making facilities, remote controlled colour TV with Freeview channels, and the convenience of a fridge. A full English breakfast is provided for a small charge, and we offer a packed lunch option on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sunnyside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunnyside Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing