We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
200
343
178
45
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
343
178
45
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearings hotels self drive sea view national holidays shearings holiday lisa marie course evening meal single room wellington pier coach driver sea front creaky floorboards public rooms first floor weekend break restaurant staff served hot
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 798 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018

My wife and I have just got back from staying here and, as with our previous Bay Hotel holidays, had a lovely time. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was just right for us. As usual, there was a good selection on offer for breakfast and dinner. As I've mentioned before, being a vegequarian, it was nice to have both a vegetarian dish and a fish/seafood dish on the menu each night; and a full vegetarian breakfast in the morning. I can't comment on the entertainment because we tended to either go for a walk around Great Yarmouth or stay in our room and watch TV. The wi-fi connection could have been better, limited as it was to the bar area: I believe that nowadays, the connection should perhaps cover the whole hotel. However, all in all, a nice week away. If I have one complaint (other than the wi-fi), it is the lack of dedicated parking: it was basically first come, first served and if you went on any day trips, you risked not being able to find a space on your return.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Thank you Sam S, for your glowing review, great to see you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the car park, the nearest public one is 300 metres away from hotel, which you have to pay daily for! kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

We have just been on 5 day break to the Carlton.It is well situated on the seafront.The room we had was cosy and very clean. The reception staff were very helpfull and polite.We had breakfast and evening meals every day,the restaurant staff were very efficient and friendly. Notably IKENNA our main evening waiter and also Lisa who looked after us at both mealtimes.A "BIG" Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: Always ask for sea view when booking
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you Bryan K for your glowing review, will pass on your praise to all the team, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

This was our second visit to the Carlton but first time as self drive. Located facing the beach a more central spot would be hard to find. Standards in the hotel are more than acceptable and a rolling program of upgrades is in place one room at a time, great way to do it so as to minimise and disruption for guests.
Rooms are spotlessly clean and the lady who looked after our room, 109 was Eva such a pleasant hard working lady, thank you so much Eva.
Meals are ample and excellent, the bacon at breakfast is to die for. Service was first class and the dining room was overseen by Lisa, what an excellent job she does even though at times one or two of the guests could be most rude and awkward.
Looking forward to our next visit to the Carlton.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you David J. for your wonderful review, Its highly refreshing to read an honest "as it is" review! I will certainly pass on your praise to all the team, especially Lisa who is acting restaurant manager and hard working Eva! we all look forward to your speedy return, kind regards, Paul Betts GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from this hotel. It is absolutely lovely. We can't fault it. Staff great & very friendly. Nothing is too much for them.
Food very nice all you can eat breakfast and 3 course meal at evenings, where you are waited on throughout. The choice was good & delicious.
The rooms we had was nice, clean & comfortable. The rooms was dated but still very nice.
The excursions included & others that you can pay extra for. I would not recommend you do. The time you are given to explore 2 hrs if yr lucky is not gud or long enough. Especially when you are on coach more than you are actually at a place. This is my only complaint about this holiday. The excursions are rushed & you better staying put & doing your own thing. I did look at local transport and did not seem to bad. We will definitely using public transport next time we visit.

The majority of shearings customers are elderly in what I have seen, I believe that they do not cater for them or consider their abilities when going excursions. 2hrs for someone is bad at walking or breathing will not & cannot get far from the coach, before returning again.

We had 2 hrs in Norwich which looked like a beautiful city to explore with lots to do but couldn't has it was far too hilly so walked down 2 small streets & sat in cafe waiting for coach to return. No information was given explaining that it was a very hilly place.

Shearings need to look & consider their tours and give customers more information on them all, for example: how far the destination is:
How long you get to stay.
More information on the tour you go on, is it hilly, is it flat

The excursions definitely let this holiday down but the hotel was great & can't fault. Would deffo recommend the hotel but not excursions.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Faithnluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you Faithnluv for your glowing review, highly delighted to see your stay with us at the Carlton was a great experience, I will pass on your comments in relation to the tours on to our head office team, as you have mention Norwich is a stunning city and you certainly need a few days to explore its cobble streets and beautiful cathedrals. I look forward to your return, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a great weekend with national holidays and couldnt really fault it the food was lovely self service breakfast and 3 course evening meal. There are 2 sittings and the restaurant is quite small so can be a bit busy .Some of the sofas and chairs could do with being re upholstered but it was clean. The rooms were adequate shower over bath but powerful enough plenty tea and coffee in the room. Entertainment downstairs was good bingo quiz music and live entertainment the bar downstairs is open till 12. Quiet day and night on sundays but suited us and good atmosphere in bar which closes at 11 but plenty bars with entertainment nearby. All the staff were friendly and polite. Location was near north pier and funpark but not far to walk to centre passing slot machines fast food bars etc. It does have lmited mobility and there are a few steps up to hotel there is only 1 lift and would be worth paying extra if you want a sea view and near lift. It cost just over £4.for taxi to main shopping centre and there is a taxi rank outside weatherspoons. I would definitely return to this hotel and a big thank you for accommodating husbands oxygen needs very greatful. Really enjoyed boat trip on broads and our driver simon was great if you want 5 star for 3 star prices this might not be the hotel for you but i thought great value for money

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank juneap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, great to see your stay with us at the Carlton was a great success! we all look forward to your return in the near future, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews