We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Four of us went in spring 2012, first time at california cliffs and we were very pleasantly surprised with the site, facilities and staff.
Caravan was a silver plus, very clean and well appointed, plenty of room for cars. The site felt safe for the children and there was plenty for them to do, the go karts were a big hit!
The pool was great, indoor and out, nice little slide and some terrific pool-based activities.
Even better than this was the attitude of the staff all over the site. Everyone was geninely friendly and helpful, they wanted us to have the best break we could. We had two jobs to be done in the caravan [a drip and a non-starting fire] and both were resolved within an hour. The reception staff, facilities staff, lifeguards, restaurant staff - everyone was brilliant. Particular thanks to Pedro for the water activities and his approach to our boys, outstanding.

Room Tip: the silver plus was extra wide, individully heated rooms and no pets allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braden_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Braden, Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our park. The park is ideal for kids and the facilities are in the centre so very difficult to get lost, like your children my son loves the go-karts.

Thank you for recognising the pool activities. We have some great kit which is very interactive. Your comments regarding the team are great although you should not have had any issues with your caravan as it should have been checked beforehand, yet I am pleased it was dealt with quickly.
Another one for the Pedro fan club he is truly an amazing individual thanks again Braden for the review and I hope you return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    287
    141
    67
    43
See reviews for
711
106
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went to California cliffs last year with sun hols usually go to seashore haven but had already been in sept so thought we would give it a go its not bad the staff are friendly and we were offered an upgrade but caravan was excellent so no need its a bit out of the way so you do need a car the bus service is a bit hit and miss had to wait two hours for a bus in Yarmouth in the end another family who was going back shared a cab with us that cost a fortune!!! It's very dark outside the camp,there's no street lighting when walking back from a little pub off camp( a bit cliquey ) so only went once.the beach is just a short walk away and is vast ,a really nice peaceful walk along beach .the camp had the usual entertainment ( cheesy) and a nice bar campers / staff were friendly there's a little arcade over the road from camp we cleaned it out for cuddly toys so easy to grab we told a few others and they came back with armfuls!! I won't go back again only because its just too out of the way but would recommend it to those with transport..the check in was excellent we were allowed to get into caravan well before time although some weren't I think it depends on how you talk to people as to how you get treated .

Room Tip: You definitely need a car to enjoy the site and surrounding area as transport a bit rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Carol. We are indeed a little off the beaten track, our guests tend not to want to be on the doorstep of Great Yarmouth although we are only a 10 minute drive away. The buses are usually very reliable and on time so I can only apologise they did not seem to running on schedule that day.

The park does sit in a very quiet area, classed as a country lane which is dark but I hope you found the lighting on park more than adequate. The beach is by far the best in the area and does not attract the hordes of people that Great Yarmouth does. It’s almost a private beach only attracting local residents and our guests, and me for that matter.

Thank you for clearing all the cuddly toys out of the arcade across the road hopefully he will not be able to re-stock in 2013!

We try and get every guest in early and we don’t get it right all of the time, it really does depend on the cleaning of the caravan from the previous guest. Thanks for the review and I hope you do come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012. The caravan had hardly been used, and the dishwasher had not been used at all. Not surprising really as it still had the packaging inside and the instructions told you to put x amount of salt in for the first use etc etc. Easier to wash the pots!
Our caravan was next to the road, not a problem apart from the arcade on the opposite side playing music and fast food venues making it noisy til about half 11. Not usually a problem but had my 77 year old mother with me.

The site was clean and well looked after. All the staff were helpfull apart from a miserable guy on security in reception to arcades, club etc who was more interested in his computer and talking to other staff.

Would def go again but not at the height of the season. We paid over £900 in August for the caravan and as nice as it was don't think any caravan is worth that much!

Room Tip: Unless you plan spending a lot of time in the caravan don't go for most expensive. The silver o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Kay, I am sorry you were faced with a dishwasher that had not been unpacked. We did put some new units on to cope with the demand in peak and it appears after cleaning and filling the unit with the necessary inventory we forgot the dishwasher, so we must apologise for that. We do have a good relationship with the arcade across the road and although this is the first complaint we have had about the noise I will make a point of highlighting this with the owner as it is in his interests to ensure you return. We pride ourselves on our team but not everyone buys into our values, the individual you are referring to was not with us for long and I apologise we did not act sooner. Sometimes we need this information from our guests to enable us to take action. We have some great deals to holiday with us during the main season so please keep checking. Thank you for writing the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here during August bank holidays for three nights, and this was our first experience of a Caravan holiday, and I have to say that I don't exactly have anything else to compare this with. We had a gold plus caravan, which although was OK, had a strange smell everywhere, and thanks to the weather was quite cold in the night.

Pool was OK and my son loved it - although he is easy to please when it comes to swimming. The bar/restaurant area was tired and had strong smell to it - hence we did not feel like eating in.

Location of the park is excellent and we enjoyed the beach (for the little while that sun was shinning) and explored nearby area & attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NirN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Park. I would class California Cliffs as a medium sized holiday park with medium sized facilities. I would urge any guest to report any issues to us that you may have and we will do our best to resolve these for you whilst you are on Park. We have many different grades of caravans from a Bronze unit to a Platinum unit, with Silver and above having multi-room heating for the colder nights. Hopefully we have a warmer summer this year. We receive great feedback from our guests about the swimming pool, I’m delighted to hear your son loved his time in the pool.

Our Bar & Restaurant was looking a little tired which is why over the winter period it has had a major re-fit which will be ready to open on the 15th March. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is our second visit to this site. We arrived on the last weekend of the season. The check in was easy and friendly, and we checked in early so no waiting around. The caravan was clean and well equipt, with beds well made, fresh and clean. We got a personal visit and a phone call to make sure everything was ok . The swimming pool was as good as ever and we felt welcome and safe. The bar and restaurant were a bit limited in stock which was quite disappointing also the shop was very low in stock and shut on sunday which was a bit of a pain as we needed some milk. Apart from this you would not think it was the end of the season everyone was as friendly and helpful as our first visit which is very good as a lot of sites cant be bothered at the end, sort your shop and restaurant and you will be A*. The entertainment was great and still working very hard, very enjoyable. All in all a fantastic stay and we will return.
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calypso80Luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Firstly thank you for returning it’s great to see guests come back it gives the team the ability to get to know people.

We make a point of ensuring your stay with us is the same whenever you come, and there is nothing more satisfying then getting your closing weeks right. We find that some of our guests may have a problem but consider the issue to be too small to come and see us hence why we courtesy call everyone that has checked in.

I am a little surprised with your comments on the restaurant we ensured we carried the correct stock to ensure a varied menu and apologise if this did not meet your expectations. I concur with your feedback on the shop which will not be repeated for the 2013 season.

Our success is built on the feedback we receive from our guests as this ensures we do not trip over the same rock twice. Thank you for your comments and we will hopefully see you again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

i have to let you know after i had my holiday with you this year i recommended your park to my mum and dad, who recently stayed on your park after renting a caravan privately from a owner on your site,first of all they said the caravan was spotless and very welcoming perfect for they short break when they arrirved they were running very late and were very surprised by the welcome they had from the security members one name luke and a large chap they both interacted very well with my parents giving loads of info etc they are a credit to your company for my mum and dad to mention it is a very big deal trust me
they found all the amenities very good especially the breakfast in the mornings,the swimming pool looked very inviting had they packed heir swimsuits they may of eventured in
the entertainment they found was very child friendly and went on a little to long needs a bit more of swing towards the adults but the staff from bar and entertainments team were all very friendly and welcoming and alwaysed happy and smiling
on the second night my parents had a promlem with the heating system and call reception and a member of your security answered and within 5 mins they said same two security members that had booked my mum and dad the previoius night turned up and had the boiler up and running in minutes and a hour later they were both back to light the gas fire my mum and dad
said they they were both very cheerful and chatty and made them both feel very at home and thats a credit to you park resorts for employing very customer service aware staff well done we will all be returning next year sometime as a whole family, thank-you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Sue, two direct owner bookings in a row that’s great. If your parents are anything like mine it does take a lot to notice the small things and comment on them. Luke and Alan are a credit to the team and ensure that your experience matches that of the daytime team despite your time of arrival. I have made a note of your comments on the length of time the children’s entertainment goes on for and if I start to spot a trend we will change it. I’m delighted that your mum and dad spoke kindly of the security guys. Thank you for your comments which I have passed on to Luke & Alan. Thank you for writing the review and please thank your parents for noticing. We look forward to seeing you all again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked the Caravan privately from the net as we were wary of booking a caravan through a newspaper promotion. The owners were fantastic - really welcoming and had an outstanding caravan. Everything was catered for, En suite toilet/ Central Heating - even a welcome pack. They took a real pride in their caravan, and it showed. We were on Kestrel Court, a 2 minute walk to the pool and Clubhouse. All paved for the car to park so no issues with mud. The Showbar was great for Children - and we did not encounter any issues with limited choice of drinks.The sound was not excessive, and certainly the children seemed to enjoy it as they all danced at the front of the stage.Pool was fine - Pedro the lifeguard was a credit to the Park, and should be praised for his customer service. Whether he was working at the pool or on Security, he was always pleasant and friendly.
Amusement area was smaller than the one opposite but at the end of the day, all machines are pretty much the same. It was in a good location - close to Yarmouth and its attractions/pleasure beach.We ate at Fatso's in Yarmouth 1 evening which was great value and good food. If you want loads more arcades and rides, there are more arcades up the road at Hemsby - about 5 minutes drive away. I find it hard to believe that we were at the same park as the other review, as we certainly did not encounter or see what she saw. With regards the pool viewing area, the pool is in front of the bar area, behind a window - with a seating area in front of the pool, so it would be very hard for anyone who is not swimming to get a good view of the pool. Please don't be put off by poor reviews - it is a lovely site - well located with truly lovely staff. OK - the shop was pretty poor, but you could buy tons of junk in Yarmouth if you wanted - and there are is a huge Tesco about a 3-4 minutes drive. If you want any more details on the Caravan and how to book, please drop me an E.Mail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. It’s great to read that you have had a great experience booking direct with the owner.

We try to ensure we hold all the ranges behind the bar and in the kitchen as we try to ensure you have the same experience at the end of the season as you would at the start. As I explained in a previous review we should not have any stocking issues in the shop for the October half term in 2013.

Our pool is at the highest level of cleanliness and safety whether you are swimming or not we have a place for you. I have passed on your comments to Pedro, which always draws a smile to his face as he has just returned and will be with us for the 2013 season!

The area is blessed with so much to do for all ages I have lived around the UK coastline for 25 years and this is where I chose to settle because it’s amazing. Thanks again for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you back this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yarmouth
5.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
24.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.4 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
17.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Rottenstone Lane | Scratby, Great Yarmouth NR29 3QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the seaside town of Great Yarmouth, and just a 5 minute walk from the gloriously sandy Scratby Beach, California Cliffs Holiday Park in East Anglia is a fun packed park the whole family will love. The kids will love our heated outdoor pool with flume (open 27 May - 5 Sept) and indoor pool, or exploring the adventure playground. There's also lots of fantastic family entertainment daytime and evening, Super-fast Wi-Fi available across the whole park making this the perfect park for your caravan Holiday. We firmly believe that our team make the difference, which is why each team member will be on hand to ensure you and your family have a great time and create some long lasting amazing memories with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Hotel Great Yarmouth
California Cliffs Holiday Park - Park Resorts Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing