We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very realistic model buildings ”

Merrivale Model VIllage
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
Attraction details
West Midlands, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very realistic model buildings ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Model Village in Great Yarmouth with my teenage daughters..
It had extremely 'realistic' model houses, train station & railways.. We particularly liked the model farms & animals..
We were lucky enough to visit the model village on a beautiful sunny day (so the pathways around the model village were dry, however I could imagine the paths becoming rather slippery when wet, so I would advise caution during wet weather to people with mobility difficulties).
At dusk /night time, we also noticed that the model village was illuminated (which gave the illusion that all there was small lamps/candles flickering inside the miniature houses & buildings, the tiny Street-lamps were shining down onto the model people walking dogs & you could even see the minature railway lights changing signals, etc..
The model village is well worth a visit & extremely interesting.. We have visited it a few times over the years & every time we go we notice something new has been added.. We're really looking forward to revisiting it again this year!!!

Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    245
    77
    16
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

it is a good place too visit only down side is its a bit expensive for a few hours and we all loved the new model of Buckingham palace

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dolphinbaby231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A fun, but a tad expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a fun hour or so walking about in the windy easter conditions.

The models have lots of detail in them, take the time to see some of the expressions on the models. Didn't play the crazy golf, but we think its included in admission charge.

If paying full price for admission, it is expensive at £7 each...we had vouchers to save on the admission charge. Look out for them in local guide books.

On a separate note, the Tea room at the end was disappointing, the cakes looked & tasted like cheap shop bought ones!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Its not the best miniature exhibit you will ever see, however for the price of admission you also get a free game of crazy golf which isn't too bad. I agree with other people, it does get boring but this place isn't neglected and is tended too. There is also a neat little arcade on the way out, where you can give old arcade machines a go, probably best suited for adults though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colonel_e55ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing icecream!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and my husband went round the model village, we stopped off for icecream by the mini gold and I must say the icecream is to die for and very reasonably priced! Good attraction!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrivale Model VIllage also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 

Been to Merrivale Model VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing