We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for me”
Review of Arona Hotel

Arona Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arona Hotel
Ranked #71 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2013

rooms were unclean. Food was sandwich meat no roast meat at all served all week. The only freshly made meal was the meat pie .all other meals were awful. Bacon was see through and cereal stale, I had to ask for my toast to be done properly as it was white when it reached my table. We felt that the hotel staff were doing their bit but not the management. Good location let down by service. Needs closing and refurbishment and menus looked at very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank denise48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fetch the hotel inspector dirty rooms sink in the bedroom so no privacy sheets brush nylon and holes food poor quality loo rolls so thin and small false economy entertainment very good Roma and payer were friendly just a shame about facilities

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ricemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just stayed at this hotel with Coach Travel 4 U and have had a lovely time. Great location & a cosy and comfortable clean hotel.
Staff lovely friendly and helpful and smartly dressed, entertainment great and bar prices amazing!
Breakfast superb, dinner was nice but a bit ordinary. Some of the rooms need updating they were all comfortable and clean some with lovely sea views but washbasins in bedrooms these days is not really acceptable. However we loved it and we would go back there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are fully en suite some have washbasins in rooms and just toilets & showers en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DudleyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

peter and rona, the owners are great people, they serve good food with a choise of menue
good clean rooms, 5/7 mins to centre of town, great for touring around
we made great friends, and if you deside to go to this hotel you will find a
welcome second to none. when you are out and about find the church the
food is great and its cheaper than the resturants in the centre off town

Room Tip: room no 7 was the room we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billanderson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rude manager, rude foreign workers, food is disgraceful, rooms are dirty (curtains had blood on them, cramped and unspacious, shower didn't work and had hairs all over en suite) AWFUL!!! Would not recommend to anybody!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chloeandelainehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

clean. friendly and in a nice spot...just far enough away from the noise but near enough for a nice walk at night......very nice couple..we've been going since our son was 13....he now 21 and goes thre too..with his mates....well stocked bar..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Just spent a week at the A'Rona hotel: myself (age 25), my mum and my elderly grandparents. We all had a wonderful stay.

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the attractions of Great Yarmouth but on a peaceful road and offers car parking if you drive down. The decor of the place is definitely summed up as chintzy but who really minds that? In all the rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable. Our room in particular was very roomy although my grandparents' was slightly smaller. For guests who struggle with stairs, there is a stairlift to all floors.

Meals were quite good. Nothing to get too excited about but they were perfectly adequate and there were always several choices for each dish. The waitressing staff are from Poland and although they struggle with their English, they try their best and are very friendly and obliging... even if it takes a couple of goes to communicate what you would like.

The best bit about this hotel is the wonderful staff. I have already mentioned the girls in the restaurant but special mention must go to the owner manager Peter. who really couldn't do enough for you. Not only is he always around for a friendly chat, he helped us with hiring a wheelchair for my grandad and when I was ill one night was on hand with peppermint drinks.

There is entertainment on in the bar three nights a week, singers who do quite a wide repertoire of songs. I particularly enjoyed getting up and doing a few numbers with them... thanks Paul and Clive for having me! (what a show off I am) Peter also organises a trip to see a show in Gorleston on Wednesday nights during the summer. It's a cabaret and worth a watch.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good old fashioned break at the English seaside for very good value and a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VocalKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#57 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#9 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#21 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#12 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#13 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arona Hotel

Address: 14-15 Sandown Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $72 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Arona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arona Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing