We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going to Yarmouth? Eat here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regent

The Regent
Ranked #12 of 319 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run restaurant in the heart of Great Yarmouth. We have an extensive and great value menu to suit most customers. We are always willing to adapt our dishes where possible to suit your needs so please do ask. We also offer many gluten free dishes. We can cater for most occasions and will go out of our way to make it special. Don't hesitate, call us now to discuss your needs and we will try our very best to make your experience with us memorable.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going to Yarmouth? Eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Whenever I visit a friend in the area, we always come here. The food is excellent, as are the portions. The staff are always friendly and helpful (a tip of the hat to Charlotte, Lisa & Chloe from the last time we went). I whole heartedly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim0nG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Wonderful, what a lovely review, thanks so much. So pleased that you always come and eat at The Regent and enjoy it enough to recommend us. Hopefully we'll see you again in the near future, kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    104
    26
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mouthwateringly Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

On a 6 day holiday to Great Yarmouth, we visited this restaurant for the first time (previously used to go elsewhere but it had changed hands). The staff were wonderful and helpful. Two of us had the home made steak and ale pie with chips, 1 had cottage pie with chips, and 1 had scampi and chips. Everyone was delighted with their meals, so much so, we visited again a couple of days later! Well worth a trip of you are out that way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Fabulous, great title and a great review, it is very much appreciated so thank you. It's so nice to see that you guys enjoyed all your meals and returned to dine with us again. What more can we ask for? Please come and see us again next time your in Great Yarmouth. Take care and kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

On a busy Saturday afternoon we found this restaurant gave excellent service and the food was cooked to perfection. The steak was one of the best I have had for a long time. The waitress Charlotte was friendly, pleasant and helpful. My wife and I will definately return. It would be very hard to beat this restaurant on price and quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, Pat on the back to our chef for your perfectly cooked steak and also once again for Charlotte, my little gem.
So pleased you enjoyed your experience, please do come again, kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family visited this restaurant on Saturday 19th of July whilst on holiday in Great Yarmouth.. We were very quickly seated. Our main waitress, Charlotte was very friendly and pleasant and was assisted by her colleagues Chloe and Marie who were equally as friendly and pleasant. Our orders were taken and our meals swiftly followed.The meals were cooked to perfection and were fab. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Wonderful, great to see the staff are doing a tremendous job, well done all.
Thanks for your review, we hope you will come and see us again, kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a street of also-rans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Regent Road is, as any visitor to Great Yarmouth knows, packed with restaurants, most of which offer the same fare at about the same prices. Most are average at best.

However the Regent stands out as being the best of the bunch - mainly because it offers good quality home made food at a great price. Another advantage is it stays open late while many of its competitors shut very early each evening.

The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you (thanks Charlotte). Try the pancakes with strawberries and ice cream (the ice cream is in the middle of the pancakes while the strawberries and chocolate sauce are on top).

We have now switched our allegiance from another nearby restaurant which has regrettably gone into decline.

If you are in the area go for this restaurant first.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_in_Legh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I must say a big thanks from us all for your fantastic review. It's a great boost to know your thoughts when they are so positive. I will show this to Charlotte, she's a great girl and very good at her job. Glad you enjoyed dining with us. Hope to see you again, kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regent also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to The Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing