We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved our stay,so friendly”
Review of The Chimes Hotel

The Chimes Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chimes Hotel
Ranked #74 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2011

we enjoyed our stay so much that we will come back,they were so friendly and made us welcomed,everything was clean and tidy and the shower was excellent,i cant fault anythink about the bed and breakfast.thankyou very much we had a lovely stay thank you louise & eddie

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

We recieved such a lovely warm welcome at the Chimes guest house and it was a welcome sight at the end of a long day, Veronica and Richard are Perfect hosts
and breakfast was first class.
A must if your staying in this area......We will deffinatly be staying here again in the future
Thank you for 2 lovely nights sleep!...
David and Roger from Fat Bloke on a moped.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lourogclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We have just stayed at The Chimes for 3 nights. We travelled with our tenage sons and also my Mum, two brothers and sister-in-law.

We had the entire top floor to ourselves with a very well sized family room, a twin room and a double room. The cleanliness was excellent and Veronica and Richard would go the extra mile to ensure your stay was a comfortable one. They gave us a very warm welcome which made us feel very much at home.

The breakfast was excellent. It is cooked fresh so you may wait slightly longer than you would in other B&B's but the wait is well worth it. That said you do not wait long and it was nice to have a leisurely breakfast instead of eating and getting pushed out of the door ready for other guests. Besides I prefer to have my food cooked fresh rather than sausages etc being kept warm!

The family room was exceptional - it is often difficult to find such rooms and this is a huge find!

Our hosts, Richard & Veronica would also remember small details of a conversation you had on arrival. For example, they had chatted to my son who is taking his GCSE's and when leaving wished him well and even remembered which exams he still had to take. This clearly shows a real interests in their guests and not simply doing the 'small talk routine' and lip service.

The Chimes is in a fantastic location, two minutes from the beach and Britannia Pier but enough of the beaten track to be in a lovely quiet area. The best of both worlds!

We will definitely be going back and whole heartedly recommend this fabulous B&B

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Veronica and Richard go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. The rooms are light and comfortable and have nicely finished en-suites. The accommodation is impeccably clean. There is a nice breakfast room and a large selection of freshly prepared breakfast options. The location is less than 5 minutes walk from the beach / sea front attractions and the town centre. I have not stayed anywhere that offers better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in many Guest Houses in Great Yarmouth. Non have made us more welcome than The Chimes. In a nice quiet corner opposite the Football Ground you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. Exceptionally clean. Exellent breakfast. Fantastic hosts. It's one of those places you just know you will stay again. Karl & Lynn

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We Visited Great Yarmouth on a last minute decision, got this hotel, and it was fantasic. Travelled with an infant 4 months old, The host made us feel like home, quite location yet jus few minutes walk to the beach, pier and town centre. Parking was a bonus. Rooms were clean and felt like home.

Definetly will go back.. and yes to the Chimes. A well worth recommended B&B Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJR1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

very friendly owner & staff lovely a large room well furnished with bay window very well decorated &very clean. en-suite with excellent shower. large radiator so room was very warm if you wanted it to be with constant hot water . excellent comfortable bed very clean bedding &towels free-view tv very nice view over the wider than normal yarmouth road
over sports field to left of hotel towards the sea .private car park is a bonus .very nice full english breakfast with fresh orange juice & cerials tea/coffee & toast well worth 4* status 2 mins walk to beach 5min to town we had a excellent 2night stay over easter for less than £100 total price paid .will go back again .

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#1 of 1 in Hemsby
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#17 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chimes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chimes Hotel

Address: 48 Wellesley Road | nr30 1ex, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Chimes Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing