We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilbrannan Guest House
Ranked #2 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Well we have today left Kilbrannan after staying for the whole of the festive period for the third consecutive year and again we have come away feeling totally relaxed, well fed and very happy. There is no other guest house that could make you feel so warm and welcome in our opinion and we never leave with any complaints. I don't know really how they can improve on what we consider pure perfection. We have stayed here on eight separate occasions and while ever the Smith family run this guest house we shall continue to stay. We first met the Smith's in 2009 on our first visit and we are now proud to call them our friends for life. A stay at Kilbrannan is a stay you'll want to do over and over again. Thank you so much Gary, Julie & Charlie, you are all simply the best.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the highest standard but for a touch of extra luxury we recommend room 1 for the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsjbanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you very much for the review.
Christmas is a special time of year for all of us and to share it with guests such as yourselves make it even better.
You join in with all the games and your company just makes up for all the work we put into making your stay a memorable and loving experience.
You have visited us on several occasions and each time you leave we look forward to your next stay, you really are like family to us.
Thank you for being you
ps: A trophy for the 'Nemesis' will be in the post to you shortly, well done again for winning the Wii challenge
Gary, Julie & Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 435 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Kilbrannan Guest House where I was on business in the Great Yarmouth area and I also stayed in Room 3. I travel around the UK often and stay at many Hotels/B&B's and I'm extremely fussy at where I stop. It was because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to try this B&B for the first time and I have to say I was not disappointed.After only 5 minutes of talking to Julie on arrival I felt as though I'd known her years.I met Gary at breakfast the following morning and he was just as friendly and approachable. I have to warn you that if you decide to have one of Gary's Daily Specials (and he'll be upset if you don't try one) then if you also agree to the Full English to follow you'll find it difficult to get up from your seat. I didn't eat another thing all that day ! Everything the previous review states regarding the cleanliness and also the Tea, Coffee, Fruit, Water and sweets every day are correct.
Both Julie & Gary came to say goodbye to me and I felt that I should have been giving them a hug rather than shaking hands with them as they both felt like good friends.
Hopefully I will be making another stop at the Kilbrannan in the very near future.
Mike

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike01772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

We put a lot of emphasis on our breakfasts in terms of quality and we also make some of it which makes the quality even better. The special (which is very popular) is something that we love to make for our guests and is an extemely healthy way to start the day.
We also aim to accommodate all kinds of guests whether they be people on holiday or people on business such as yourself. Everyone is welcome.
Our rooms are equipped to a high standard to suit all manner of needs and the extra items in the rooms are something you probably wouldn't get in other places.

We thank you for your review and hope you will return very soon

Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed for 3 nights at The Kilbrannan and had a lovely time. We were really made to feel welcome by Gary, Julie and Charlie who work so hard. We stayed in room 3 and it was wonderful. It was so clean and we were impressed by how shiny the chrome in the en suite was!! You get a great welcome pack which consisted of toiletries, towels & flannels, (which were changed daily) chocolates, cookies, fruit, water & a variety of teas etc. We also had a fridge, a hairdryer and a freeview tv with DVD player. We watched 1 DVD from the large selection on offer in reception but never did get round to watching Avatar! We both love Great Yarmouth and it's so close to the shops, restaurants and amusements but just far enough away so you still get a good nights sleep! We visited The Sealife Centre which Julie kindly gave us a voucher for and went to the Indian restaurant that was recommended. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and kept us going most of the day! We originally only booked to stay 2 nights but ended up staying another night as we were so impressed. We will definitely be returning and we highly recommend that you stay at The Kilbrannan. Thankyou so much for making our mini break even more special. Amy & Dan

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmylovesDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you both for your review.
You were a pleasure to have stay with us and booking an extra night was a bonus.
The reason we have chrome in most of our showers is because they look outstanding when they are cleaned properly. With white plastic it would be easy to mask the water marks and we wouldn't want that.
Any vouchers we obtain are always passed on to our guests as a sign of thanks and respect.

We look forward to your next visit

Gary, Julie & Charlie
ps: love the picture

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

From Gary taking our bags at the train station, we were made to feel extremely welcome. The whole family's friendly and helpful but not overbearing approach left us feeling immediately at home. The breakfast menu was full of variety with good portion sizes and quality food served in a light and spacious room. The whole place was spotless and smelt fresh. Our room had modern decor, a well stocked variety of drink making facilities and even a bowl of fruit. The bathroom was again modern, clean and en-suite. We enjoyed being able to choose a DVD to watch in our room from the good choice of movies provided but the convenient 2 minute walk to the beach, town and amenities also meant we could pop in and out as we pleased. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxed stay having been well looked after but left to our own devises, a perfect 5th wedding anniversary break.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahdiyyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Thank you for your lovely review.
A priority to us is to make our guests feel at home and part of our family so we are very pleased you felt relaxed in our home.
Cleanliness is one of the keys to our success and carrying it out to such a high standard is rarely seen in other accommodations unfortunately so thank you for raising that point.
Also, one of the reasons we bought Kilbrannan was the location and its closeness to the seafront and town centre alike but without most of the noise that comes with them, so it is in the perfect place for anyone to enjoy.
We are glad you enjoyed your 5th anniversary

Thanks again and see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had an excellent 3 night stay, nothing to fault, the lovely b and b and friendly service made our time away very special

Laura and Stewart

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you for the review.

Although the weather wasn't at it's best during your stay you still filled your days with all sorts of different things to do. Well done. This shows others that Great Yarmouth has loads to offer visitors whatever the conditions.
You were great guests and we look forward to meeting you again in the near future

Gary, Julie & Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is now our fourth visit to Kilbrannan Guest House and it is presented to very high standard. The rooms are very clean and the food is excellent. We have spent many evenings in the lounge with Gary, Julie and Charlie amongst other guests relaxing and chatting. You are always made welcome and nothing is to much trouble. Message for Charlie "COME ON YOU FOXES"!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VINNY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

It gives us great pleasure to see our guests return and we look forward to seeing you again every time.
Our lounge is designed for our guests to use alongside us as it gives us all a chance to relax and get to know each other.
You are a lovely couple who are very welcome.

Hope you are both well and looking forward to your next trip to Great Yarmouth

Best wishes and watch out for the snakes (ha ha)

Gary, Julie & Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Upon arrival we were welcomed by Gary and Julie, they took our bags to our room and we were seated in the lounge for our 'induction'. 'Good start', I thought and as we talked Gary proclaimed that over 50% of their business are from returning guests,'quite impressive', I thought, but it becomes abundantly clear as to why this is the case. The rooms are pristine clean, beautifully furnished and a hospitality tray that would compare with most 4-5 star hotels. A welcome pack is awaiting for you with useful local information and that was before we unpacked!!!! Location is central and a stones throw from town and sea. Parking is free, which is important as you may not need the car for your visit. Sounds good so far?........

Gary, Julie and their son Charlie make your stay. As in life, it's the little things that make all the difference, they are interested in you! You will be sat at breakfast (which is simply sublime, I recommend Gary's compot !!!) and they will ask you if everything's okay, what are you doing today kind of thing, and will provide you with nuggets of information that will make a difference, my wife had an infection and Julie referred her to the GP, all was well in a couple of days once seen!!! They were great with the kids too!!

The food is fresh and delicious and offer superb alternatives at breakfast. They will provide an evening meal if needed but always ask. There are enough restaurants within easy walking distance to accommodate any pallet!

If I was to be as truthful as I can the only (very) slight negative is the weekend revelers as they tend to pass the Kilbrannan in the early hours which can disturb your sleep. This doesn't, however take away the fabulous experience we enjoyed.

We will be back!!! Thank you Gary, Julie and Charlie!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonB1969HullUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Thank you very much for your lengthy review.

We put our lives into providing a service that we would want to receive ourselves so we are happy you appreciated it.
It's obvious to us that it's not enough to provide just a fantastic room or an excellent breakfast or both, we have to provide a service that makes your whole experience one that you will remember fondly for many years.
Referring a Doctor for you wasn't something we had to think about as it comes natural to us to make your holiday as pleasant as possible so we would naturally respond to your needs.

We spend a lot of money on providing our outstanding breakfasts and they are very very popular with our guests because of the choice and quality.
Your breakfast is very important to us.
Over 50% of our business is from return guests so we guess we must be doing something right.

We love well behaved children and yours were no exception, this shows off your excellent parenting skills so well done.
We look forward to meeting you all again soon

Gary, Julie & Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
1 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#3 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#57 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#12 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbrannan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbrannan Guest House

Address: 14 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $81 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilbrannan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Host recognised Kilbrannan Guest House is a Visit England 4 star graded accommodation with additional Silver Award and Breakfast Award in acknowledgement of our exceptional levels of Customer Service, quality accommodation and outstanding breakfasts.Located on Trafalgar Road, we are ideally positioned to explore everything Great Yarmouth has to offer within a few minutes walk. Parking is free to all guests.Having 5 fully en-suite rooms with many extras included and a cosy licensed lounge your stay is assured to be relaxing.Rooms are cleaned and serviced every day with towels and extras replenished free of charge.If you want a break to remember fondly, come and give us a try.We are also holders of Great Yarmouth Tourist Authority's 'Guest Accommodation of the Year' 2010 & 2012 and Enterprise GY's 'Great Business to Customer Service Award' 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Kilbrannan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbrannan Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing